Customer Reviews for

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious

If you're reading this in public be prepared for people to stare at you as you spontaneously burst into laughter. This book was so good. I would say that this ties with "Me Talk Pretty One Day" as his best work.

posted by 1582156 on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Audrey's Review: It is CONTROVERSIAL!

Before reading Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, it is important to know a little about the author, David Sedaris, since the novel is a collection of essays from various points in his life. Though some of his book is laugh-out-loud funny, some parts are sad, emba...
Before reading Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, it is important to know a little about the author, David Sedaris, since the novel is a collection of essays from various points in his life. Though some of his book is laugh-out-loud funny, some parts are sad, embarrassing, inappropriate, and even offensive. First of all, anyone who reads his book needs to know he is openly gay, has been since he was a small boy, and VERY openly writes about his homosexuality. You must also know he has been a drug addict, has a dysfunctional family that somehow seems normal when he writes about them, and uses quite a bit of colorful language. His inappropriate and disturbing tale about his seventh grade strip poker night at the neighbor¿s house makes this book absolutely unsuitable for ALL children, and I do not suggest it to any close-minded conservative believer in family values. In his novel, he introduces characters from different points of his life. From his mother, father, and siblings to Brandi the next door neighbor and Dan, the ex-friend/hippie, you will meet all the people who have effected his life- positively or negatively. I myself am quite a conservative person, and I am more opinionated than most. In begging to read his book, I was completely unaware of his homosexuality, or what the book was about. All I knew was I had seen the novel on the New York Times bestseller list, and that was enough for me to read it. I was wrong. The sleeve of the book does not even suggest you will be reading of obscene acts Sedaris has participated in and witnessed during his lifetime. It does not tell you that he enjoyed having a naked twelve year old sit on his lap during his ¿adolescent¿ game of strip poker it does not tell you of his explicit drug use, or of his vile encounter with a man and his television set. I was thoroughly horrified to let my eyes see some of his words, and for that I am angry- this deceitful novel seems innocent and very funny until page 39. David Sedaris certainly has a gift the man can write. I just do not like the topics he chooses to cover so¿thoroughly. If you are someone who enjoys funny, daring novels that have foul language, and can enjoy/bear/deal with some of his ¿racy¿ tales, than this book is for you. I think Sedaris is a gifted writer, I took a chance, read his book, and was disappointed. Read it with an open mind- I did not like it, but I did like his writing style, and some of his life story really is hilariously funny. He writes in an enjoyable chapter about his family life: ¿Out in the hallway I could hear my mother straining for something to talk about. 'A boat!' she said. 'That sounds marvelous. Can you just drive it right into the water?' '¿Actually, we have a trailer,¿' Mr. Tomkey said. '¿So what we do is back it into the lake.¿' '¿Oh, a trailer. What kind is it?¿' '¿Well, it's a boat trailer,¿' Mr. Tomkey said.¿ Sedaris certainly has the gift of writing, and though I may feel violated from reading certain excerpts from the novel, it really and truly was a funny, heart warming story for the most part.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Couldn't stop laughing!

    The first couple essays weren't as funny, but then he was on a roll. I found myself chuckling after I finished the book, whenever I would think of a story. He does a great job writing about the smallest things and making them hilarious. I'm going to get his other books and hopefully keep on laughing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great stories

    This is the first book I read from David Sedaris, and I like his style. Wants to make me read more of him!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good laughs in a quick read

    David Sedaris is a truely funny, snarky guy who I would love to have several glasses of wine with.

    He tells his stories from a viewpoint that is both funny and touching. Each short tale serves as morality plays with so much humour that you fall in love with both David and his family and crazy cast of friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    Sedaris is an interesting orater

    I actually listened to this on audio tape. I was hardly ready for the style and kept trying to figure out if I should feel sorry, be angry or what to think. Once I realized he was telling me his story from what was more of a sarcastic humor, I really laughed and enjoyed myself as he spoke to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    I have just finished Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by

    I have just finished Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris. This was a very entertaining novel. Each story changes the genre previous, for example one story may be humorous while the next sad/upsetting. Sedaris did a great job leaving me wanting to find out what happens next in the story or if I didn't finish the story yet, what will happen. The strange part of the book is when you think if this has actually happend to him. It seems like some stories are a little outrageous to be true but at the same time Sedaris wrote it in such a way that makes it seem believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great light read- ? Great lih Great light read. Seda Great lught Great light read.

    Sedaris is whitty and humorous in his portrayal of short family stories he shared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    quirky

    I enjoyed this disfunctional little family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Enjoyable

    Much like "Me Talk Pretty One Day", Sedaris' "Dress Your Family in Courderoy and Denim" is a collection of humorous essays. I frequently found myself laughing under my breath at the absurdity of Sedaris' life... The man has lived a bizarre life, indeed. This was an enjoyable and quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sedaris strikes again

    In this latest collection of essays Sedaris shows off his talent for observation, pithy commentary and personal wackiness. Sedaris regals us with tales from his dysfunctional upbringing to his dysfunctional adulthood. Always a hoot; always fun.

    If you've read Sedaris before, you'll love this addition to his body of work. If you've never read Sedaris, then run right out and buy this book and the rest of his works. You're in for a treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Didn't know what to expect

    I always heard David Sedaris was funny, but I hadn't read any of his books. I got his Dress Your Family... on audiobook, and I was pleasantly surprised. Sedaris reads the material himself, and as soon as I heard his voice, I thought, 'Oh, no. That voice is so annoying, I'll never be able to listen to this!' But after awhile I didn't even notice how much his voice irritated me. I thought it was very funny. Some parts are definitely better than others, but in my opinion, the story of '6 to 8 Black Men' is worth the price of the book. And you really have to hear Sedaris recite it to appreciate it. If you can get this on audio, do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Read it

    I just started reading David Sedaris and have become somwehat of a junky. He is a wonderful story teller and has a keen gift for acknowledging the humor in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    good read but not his best

    a good book but if you want a GREAT david sedaris book read Naked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2004

    Humor from the gut

    This is the first book by Sedaris that I've read and now I'm committed to reading his earlier works. As he recounts good and bad times, he impresses me with his candor. He doesn't sugar coat his past and that honesty is what makes these autobiographical essays work. The humor is for real, not forced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Great Guy...you got to get to know him.

    Laughing seems to be where it is with me these days.David with his compulsive tendencies, unusual family members and his delightful way of telling stories about all of them including himself,make me want more. His humor is honest, compassionate and he lets us know love isn't always perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    You will laugh out loud at parts...

    I enjoyed this book, it was funny and weird. This was my first Sedaris book. I agree with the other reviewer, I wish he would have written more about his mother!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    A PLOT??? Who Needs a Plot?

    Anyone who picks up a David Sedaris book expecting something with a plot, has been badly misinformed about this author. No matter which of his books I'm reading, Sedaris just cracks me up on nearly every page. Every story is complete in itself. If the Chemical Engineer needs a plot, he or she should try a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Classic Sedaris

    His writing just gets better and better...you lose yourself in the rich storytelling that is uniquely his own...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    More of mom, please

    I guess I was spoiled by 'Naked' but I wish there were more essays focused on Sedaris' mother. Let's face it, she was as nasty a person as it gets -- and I'm a huge fan. 'Dress Your Family in Courduroy and Demin' is a deeper look into the results of Sadaris' unorthodox family life. It was entertaining and worth the read. But please David, less of Hugh (his 'life partner') and more Mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4