Customer Reviews for

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious

If you're reading this in public be prepared for people to stare at you as you spontaneously burst into laughter. This book was so good. I would say that this ties with "Me Talk Pretty One Day" as his best work.

posted by 1582156 on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Audrey's Review: It is CONTROVERSIAL!

Before reading Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, it is important to know a little about the author, David Sedaris, since the novel is a collection of essays from various points in his life. Though some of his book is laugh-out-loud funny, some parts are sad, emba...
Before reading Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, it is important to know a little about the author, David Sedaris, since the novel is a collection of essays from various points in his life. Though some of his book is laugh-out-loud funny, some parts are sad, embarrassing, inappropriate, and even offensive. First of all, anyone who reads his book needs to know he is openly gay, has been since he was a small boy, and VERY openly writes about his homosexuality. You must also know he has been a drug addict, has a dysfunctional family that somehow seems normal when he writes about them, and uses quite a bit of colorful language. His inappropriate and disturbing tale about his seventh grade strip poker night at the neighbor¿s house makes this book absolutely unsuitable for ALL children, and I do not suggest it to any close-minded conservative believer in family values. In his novel, he introduces characters from different points of his life. From his mother, father, and siblings to Brandi the next door neighbor and Dan, the ex-friend/hippie, you will meet all the people who have effected his life- positively or negatively. I myself am quite a conservative person, and I am more opinionated than most. In begging to read his book, I was completely unaware of his homosexuality, or what the book was about. All I knew was I had seen the novel on the New York Times bestseller list, and that was enough for me to read it. I was wrong. The sleeve of the book does not even suggest you will be reading of obscene acts Sedaris has participated in and witnessed during his lifetime. It does not tell you that he enjoyed having a naked twelve year old sit on his lap during his ¿adolescent¿ game of strip poker it does not tell you of his explicit drug use, or of his vile encounter with a man and his television set. I was thoroughly horrified to let my eyes see some of his words, and for that I am angry- this deceitful novel seems innocent and very funny until page 39. David Sedaris certainly has a gift the man can write. I just do not like the topics he chooses to cover so¿thoroughly. If you are someone who enjoys funny, daring novels that have foul language, and can enjoy/bear/deal with some of his ¿racy¿ tales, than this book is for you. I think Sedaris is a gifted writer, I took a chance, read his book, and was disappointed. Read it with an open mind- I did not like it, but I did like his writing style, and some of his life story really is hilariously funny. He writes in an enjoyable chapter about his family life: ¿Out in the hallway I could hear my mother straining for something to talk about. 'A boat!' she said. 'That sounds marvelous. Can you just drive it right into the water?' '¿Actually, we have a trailer,¿' Mr. Tomkey said. '¿So what we do is back it into the lake.¿' '¿Oh, a trailer. What kind is it?¿' '¿Well, it's a boat trailer,¿' Mr. Tomkey said.¿ Sedaris certainly has the gift of writing, and though I may feel violated from reading certain excerpts from the novel, it really and truly was a funny, heart warming story for the most part.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious

    If you're reading this in public be prepared for people to stare at you as you spontaneously burst into laughter. This book was so good. I would say that this ties with "Me Talk Pretty One Day" as his best work.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    funny book

    i loved the last essay. i couldn't stop laughing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Henry Higgins would exclaim Sedaris as being "deliciously low!"

    Just newly moved to NC myself, I stumbled across "When You Are Engulfed In Flames" about three months ago and have since been reading Sedaris almost religiously. Dress Your Family in Corduroy & Denim is one of my personal favorites. Sure, I could sit here and go blow by blow why I found the book entertaining. But that would be the equivalent of someone messing up the best punch line to a really good joke. And I mean that in the BEST sense. Sedaris writes the way I have always suspected MOST PEOPLE think but are too PC to admit to it. I can't fathom anyone not coming away feeling as if they too have found a kindred spirit with the author. His writing reaffirms the every day observations we all seem to make mental notes of, but never voice out loud for fear of being ostracized. It makes one feel almost gleefully comforted to read his stories. Quite honestly, a lot of the literature I've tackled over the past 7-8 months have been either too pretentious, predictable, and/downright depressing. Suffice it to say I needed a BREAK away from all of the above and instead needed a good laugh! Sedaris shamelessly hits those notes without fail. It's refreshing I tell you! And though I've lived out of the country for the past 6+ years, I know (now) that Sedaris has been around far longer than my absence. And I cannot help but wonder and lament what the heck happened that I'm just now "discovering" him?!! I can't help but conclude I must have been living under a rock. Indeed I was!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Loved it!

    Love this book . Adore the author!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Hilarious

    This is possibly one of the best Sedaris' books! Keeps you laughing the whole way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    I literally fell out of my chair laughing reading this book. Se

    I literally fell out of my chair laughing reading this book. Sedaris perfectly portays the endearing dysfunctions of 1970s/1980s American families. This book is not for the easily offended but it is SO FUNNY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Enjoyable.

    This was my introduction to David Sedaris and I'm glad I chose this one because the majority of this novel was about his early life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun book to read!

    David Sedaris can be hilarious in this book, but sometimes kind of dark too. Still, I read this over a couple of flights and found it really enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Sedaris at his Best

    He is an orginial and David does a great job here keeping the book flowing and the laughter on board. Another Sedaris 'that a boy book"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    Are you on a speakerphone at a methadone clinic?

    Classic Sedaris humor, but with some truly intimate and uncomfortable moments thrown in for good measure. These moments serve to make the humor of stories like '6 to 8 Black Men' all the more hilarious! This makes this the most diverse of his books so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Hands Down, Sedaris's Best Work

    This was truly my favorite of Sedaris's books. The clever satire of these essays is simply unmatched by his others. Hilarious - a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    what a book!

    I've read them all by now, and Me Talk Pretty is my fav. But Dress Your family is no slouch either. As usual, Sedaris uses his family as his 'jumping off' point and the result is hilarious. With his keen powers of observation, and a touch of embellishment, Sedaris brings us 'Six to Eight Black Men' and the very funny 'Baby Einstein.' Not to be missed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Laugh Till You Cry

    'THIS GUY IS HILARIOUS!' (That's how I always start out my recommendations to people.) His witty commentary turns the dull, everyday happenings of life into extremely funny situations. (I can't remember if what I'm about to tell you came from this particular book or not, but here goes...) He's talking about how people who read a lot are called 'Book Worms,' and how his friend gave him some books-on-tape to listen to. He then observes that he has become a 'Tape Worm.' HAHA! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Absurdity and Normality

    I listened to this book on tape, and I was afraid all the while that I would veer off the road as I was laughing so hard. Sedaris is a genius as he depicts our average life through his eyes. A must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    So funny!

    I loved this book even better than Me Talk Pretty One Day. David never fails to make me laugh outloud and wish that I could have been there to see these events happen in real life. I highly suggest reading this and any other of his novels if you enjoy sarcastic wit, dry humor and laughing outloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    His best

    I've read all of Sedaris's books now, and, while I LOVED 'Me talk Pretty One Day,' and thought that was his best, most recently I found that 'Dress' was even better--his best to date. The cover threw me for a loop at first, but now I get it. As usual, Mr. Sedaris is up to his old tricks--thank goodness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Awesome, Funny, Great Book!!!

    this was a great book very funny and intelligent and well written, it had me laughing out loud and i could relate to many of the things David Sedaris wrote about in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Light Hearted

    A light hearted look at a life filled with inner turmoil, David Sedaras can draw you into each page of his literary mind and do so with eloquence. I rate this novel highly with RUNNING WITH SCISSORS and NIGHMARES ECHO. I find that David Sedaris is probably the best of the best when it comes to telling a story that involves true life details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    More, More, More!

    We need more! He has done it again...one of the best writers to come out of the pack in many years! I look forward to the next fine work by this talented man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6