Customer Reviews for

The Dressmaker

Average Rating 3.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Put It Down

I read the novel in just two sittings, eager to find out what happened to Tess and her beaus and Lucile. I have to admit that I didn't know much about what happened after the Titanic disaster and this book filled in all those gaps in my historical knoweldge but also kep...
I read the novel in just two sittings, eager to find out what happened to Tess and her beaus and Lucile. I have to admit that I didn't know much about what happened after the Titanic disaster and this book filled in all those gaps in my historical knoweldge but also kept me immensely entertained. The writing is solid but not showy, the characters are wonderful and real and the drama is heartfelt and often surprising.

posted by 11166496 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A snoozer....

This book had promise, but fell very short. The characters were underdeveloped. The reader feels no connection at all. The writing was choppy and confusing at times. I struggled through this one. I did appreciate the historical aspects of the book.

posted by NKSTMo on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Great book to get lost in!

    Wonderful way to visit our past, as well as faraway places. This story puts you near the sea, so vivid are the descriptions, you can smell the salt and feel the chill of the air.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Underwhelmed

    Overall, I was not impressed. I love historical fiction and while the more scandalous claims made during the trial part of the story were interestig, everything else was flat. The plot was slow and a bit redundant and the only mildly likeable character was Jim. Whenever the author tried to infuse Lucille with humanity, I rolled my eyes. I couldn't even finish reading it. I had to borrow the audiobook from my library. It's disappointing, really. I truly wanted to love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    wonderful new york history and good story!

    loved this walk in the past with this writer, can't wait to read more books from her. rich describitions and characters through out the book! loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent read. Just enough historical information to satisfy with a very intersting fictional storyline with likable characters. I couldn't put it down.

    With the 100th anniversary of the Titanic's tragic maiden voyage just around the corner, this is the perfect time to read this wonderful book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Borrow it from a library, or friend, first

    I bought this book, in part because of its historical setting, about the Titanic and also because it would give some kind of picture as World War 1 was lurking on the horizon.

    However, the fiction part of the story was not as strong as the historical background, and too often was predictable, and in that sense I was disspointed because, as historical fiction, it fell short of my expectations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Highly recomended

    Kate Alcott's book, "The Dressmaker", touched a part of me that brought back many memories of my childhood friend's Grandmother. She was a survivor of the Titanic. I grew up hearing the stories of how the women and children and the men, too had survived that terrible tragedy, that happened one hundred years ago. I liked the way Ms Alcott used fact, as well as fiction, to tell her story. This was a love story and the charactors in the book were believable. At the finish of the novel, it turned out to be a nice ending to all the events that happened to that part of history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    unrealistic

    I found the plot points to be unrealistic (weird since its based on a historical event) and the characters were undeveloped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    a light read,people don't seem quite real

    The people in this book,are either to good or to bad..the plot drags.Not what I hoped to read.Not enough meat for a book club discussion

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    The Dressmaker was very enjoyable reading. Kept your attention s

    The Dressmaker was very enjoyable reading. Kept your attention so that you didn"t want to put it down. What made it even more
    enjoyable was the factthat it was based on actual facts that the average person wouldn't know. This would make a very good movie.
    RATING: 5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Remarkable read. I would love a sequel

    Remarkable read. I would love a sequel

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I love this book. It's an eye-opening look into the titanic's af

    I love this book. It's an eye-opening look into the titanic's aftermath but also just such a fun story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have been fascinated by the sinking of the Titanic since I was

    I have been fascinated by the sinking of the Titanic since I was in elementary school and they discovered its official final resting place. I recall my parents letting me stay up to watch the 10 PM news (my bedtime was 8:30) and seeing the grainy images of the chandeliers hanging from the ceilings. It was magical and mysterious, scintillating and sad. I haven't read as many stories about the Titanic, as say ancient Egypt, but The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott caught my eye because it focused on a few of the survivors and how they dealt with the aftermath in the weeks after the disaster.

    Ultimately the Titanic survival stories focused on class and the main character, Tess, is situated right at the crossroads. Throughout the novel, the reader sees her struggle with the having the connections to accomplish her dream and the desire to stay true to herself. I was rooting for Tess from the very start of the novel. Although I could have done without the love triangle that also centered around class.

    I loved the secondary plot revolving around Sarah "Pinky" Wade. Pinky was a reporter for The New York Times and it was interesting to see the Titanic disaster and hearings through the eyes of a reporter. Pinky had a lot of spunk and wasn't afraid to say what she was thinking. She was a nice contrast to Tess, who at times had to back off due the favors she was trying to repay.

    I did enjoy listening to The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott. By incorporating real survivors of the Titanic, witness testimony and a real desire to achieve the American Dream, Alcott recreated a bleak, but hopeful chapter in world history.

    This review was originally posted on Second Run Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    Great read!

    This story is well-told. The facts that are interwoven into this romantic tale of heroism, cowardice, privelege, and the position of women during this tumultuous time period add so much to this story. Anyone who holds any fascination for the Titanic will love this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Good book.

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Good Book

    This was a good read, except I wish there had been a better ending. After going so far into the trials, Tess' career, and really emphasizing Tess' love interests, I had hoped the ending would have elaborated more on her chosen relationship and new life in America. Unfortunately, it almost felt like Alcott was getting tired of writing the story toward the end and just wanted to end it as best she could; either that, or she was going for a "deep" loose ends kind of ending. In my opinion, since it ended the way it did, I think Alcott should write a part two to tie up loose ends with the great characters Alcott created that you become attached to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Enjoyed This Book and it was Free!

    Well written book, not sure if it's actually historically accurate, and would not have been disappointed if I had actually paid for the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    recommended 3.5 stars

    Without tipping the story line, The Dressmaker is a nice, enjoyable novel. Set just before and after the Titanic disaster. It, at times, pits the rich vs the poor, in an attempt to teach us about the "uncaring" ways of the rich. Once you get past this, the book is a nice time period read. enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    I kept waiting for the characters to develop some depth and for

    I kept waiting for the characters to develop some depth and for the story to be fleshed out…no such luck.  Overall, a thin pallid story with potential that was ignored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    A very good read

    A good story about the Titanic from a unique perspective. A quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Wonderful story and characters.

    Thought you knew everything about the Titanic after seeing the movie? You don't. This is a wonderful story that tells not only of the sinking but what happened to survivors in the months that followed. Wonderful storys of survival and guilt, of rich and poor, of brave and cowardly acts. I absolutely loved this book and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10