Customer Reviews for

The Dressmaker of Khair Khana: Five Sisters, One Remarkable Family, and the Woman Who Risked Everything to Keep Them Safe

Average Rating 3.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

The Dressmaker of Khair Khana is a compelling, excellent read that will transport you to a time, a place, and a culture that will keep you riveted to its conclusion.

posted by IMNSHO on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

I found this book simplistic. I thought it was a true account of women suffefring under the Taliban, but not so sure. I hate books where everything a character does is perfect and on the first try. Subject character in this book learns how to be an excellent tailor i...
I found this book simplistic. I thought it was a true account of women suffefring under the Taliban, but not so sure. I hate books where everything a character does is perfect and on the first try. Subject character in this book learns how to be an excellent tailor in one afternoon of lessons! And then proceeds to just as quickly teach her sisters who become expert also. Amazing. I have done my share of sewing and it isn't that easy.

posted by 3174889 on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Very interesting. I enjoyed it.

    Well written and interesting. There was never an explanation of how there were customers. It sounded like everyone was struggling to survive so how could they buy so many dresses?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    An okay read if you have some extra time.

    While this is informative regarding a woman's place in Taliban occupied Afghanistan, I feel this book couldn't decide whether to be a documentary or a fact based novel. The characters were not developed enough to have us care, and the information stopped short of being fully explained/revealed. However, it did contain some information I was not aware of, and I did have admiration for the determination of the main character. If you have some extra time, this book is an okay read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    recommended

    this is a story of very strong women and how they find a way to survive

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2015

    The Dressmaker of Khair Khana is an exceptional novel of a true

    The Dressmaker of Khair Khana is an exceptional novel of a true story that is both courageous an inspiring. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it shared an amazing story of bravery through the debilitating time of the Taliban takeover of Afghanistan. Kamila went against all odds to try and help out her family, during a time where she as a women was not allowed to work or go into the outside world without a male chaperon. I found myself continuously surprised at her courageousness and strive to create her own business from scratch and refusal to be let down, as many women relied on her with their livelihoods. I truly admire this novel and the author Gayle Tzemach Lemmon, for sharing this story to the world.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Great journalistic work

    I rated this book a 4 for the story of the courageous women it's about, not the writing per se. For the story-telling, I'd probably give it 3 stars. For the record, writing wasnt bad, but there is a difference between the writing style of a journalist and that of a more creative storyteller. Ms. Lemmon tells the story well but doesnt make you feel/connect with the story in a way that an author such as Khaled Hosseini did in The Kite Runner. Reading this book felt more like reading to the news than lyrically weaving the history and facts into a story so the reader can feel what the characters are feeling. Many times, as I was reading - and became quite bored with the dryness of it, I had to remind myself that this was written by a journalist to keep things in perspective. It is a worthwhile story to read and for that I kept with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2