Customer Reviews for

Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

83 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

An interesting read

I'm not a fan of political nonfiction and rarely read it. Despite that I found this book interesting, entertaining, and insightful. It's as much a ride through certain aspects of American history as it is a political argument. The author manages to cover rather vast gro...
I'm not a fan of political nonfiction and rarely read it. Despite that I found this book interesting, entertaining, and insightful. It's as much a ride through certain aspects of American history as it is a political argument. The author manages to cover rather vast ground, and raises some provocative points while doing so. I'd recommend this to anyone that has an interest in military history, politics, or just smart reads.

posted by VA_Reader on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 186 people found this review helpful.

Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and

Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and a massive distorter of the truth. In this book she continues her spouting her far left views of America. Bought this for my Nook Color, big mistake on my part and will try to help my friends from making th...
Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and a massive distorter of the truth. In this book she continues her spouting her far left views of America. Bought this for my Nook Color, big mistake on my part and will try to help my friends from making the same mistake I did.

posted by Gandpabear on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    An interesting read

    I'm not a fan of political nonfiction and rarely read it. Despite that I found this book interesting, entertaining, and insightful. It's as much a ride through certain aspects of American history as it is a political argument. The author manages to cover rather vast ground, and raises some provocative points while doing so. I'd recommend this to anyone that has an interest in military history, politics, or just smart reads.

    83 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Extremely good, non-fiction that is a page turner. I had a hard

    Extremely good, non-fiction that is a page turner. I had a hard time not reading this non-stop, but I had to sleep sometime. Ms Maddow relates how we became the world's most militant, military obsessed nation on earth, with a military answerable only to the President. As funny as sections of the book are, the grim reality does prevent any real laughing.

    44 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Revealing and thought provoking.

    Well written, revealing and thought provoking.

    42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Military Industrial Complex

    Very fitting that I read this book as I was waiting to greet President Obama as he visited Atlanta, Georgia on a fundraising trip.
    As I transition inside “the bubble” and waited for POTUS (President of the United States) I was struck of all the layers of security that encompass this institution that revolved around one individual, the President.
    In Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power by Rachel Maddow, the author takes the reader through a history of the evolution of the current military industrial complex. More importantly how this military has somehow disconnected from the American psyche. There was a time not so long ago that most Americans worried about the dough boys across the pond as they fought for freedom. Today, when the war against Iraq came to an end, it was only blip on the national screen. No parades, spontaneous celebrations, or large commemorations.
    The book also delves into how many of the duties once held by the military have been transferred to private firms. The United States is no doubt the leader of the free world, but what is our duty to use that power? Should we or are we required to be the world’s police?
    This though provoking book, Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power, is a amazing analysis of the current state of American military power.

    41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Politifact is unreliable. That is why they don't like Maddow, sh

    Politifact is unreliable. That is why they don't like Maddow, she points out their lies.

    37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    This book explains the black hole on earth.

    So you think you are being told by the powers in Washington what is being carried out in the name of justice paid for by the taxpayers of the USA.
    Read on, this is your chance to absorb facts penned in an easy sometimes humorous way. I must admit to being fed a lot of these facts in news reports but chosing to swallow without so much as, "I better check this out". Thanks to Ms. Maddow I am no longer ignorant.

    31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This should be required reading for every voter. I wish I could share Rachel’s view that it is possible for this country to climb back up the slippery slope we are on.

    29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    An excellent review of how the American military has evolved

    An excellent review of how the American military has evolved from a defensive force to a mostly secret private offensive force. She explains how a large war was not easily possible for the executive branch to initiate without having Congress declare war. How a large number of soldiers were needed for ground operations and calling up Reserves affected the economy by taking workers away from jobs.
    But today top secret America can send armed drones anywhere and control them from an air-conditioned hideaway in the USA. With all this secrecy and privitiazation the costs can be hidden as well. She also mentions the waste, fraud and unaccountable expenditiures by these private companies. Finally someone has said what I have been thinking, this 10 year war in the Middle East and the expansion of top secret American since 9/11 has as much to do with our America's deficit spending as anything.
    Vietnam placed a heavy burden on us, so much so Nixon had to remove the gold backing of our dollar in 1971. Because of the size our military and its related arms, and the extensive training, and costs, it must constantly be used, like now against the never ending elusive terrorist. From the drummed up Bay of Tonkin to move big into Vietnam, to the weapons of mass destruction to move us on to Iraq,
    seems there always is an excuse to make sure our country is safe. But I wonder why Japan, Germany, Brazil, don't have those same worries. As a Vietnam Veteran, I still wonder how that war made us safer. What did we get from the cost of a ten year war in Vietnam?
    What we we get from this present War? Rachel Maddow gives us a starting point to move forward so this country cannot start a war so easily and maybe we can bring to light the true cost of what our country spends on military power.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Unique and informative

    Rachel tackles a topic that has not been appropriately addressed at this level in her own intelligent, sensible, and humorous way. This book is not hyperpartisan, and is a valuable review of how we got to a place where war is easy and something that only happens to other people.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    well written & interesting

    well written & interesting

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Awesome

    Way to go Rachel!

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    First, I must state that I am a Rachel Maddow fan. I find her to

    First, I must state that I am a Rachel Maddow fan. I find her to be a progressive, yes, but a person who treats those with opposing views fairly, an interviewer who does due diligence with her research. She is not an inciter, nor is she mean spirited. That said, DRIFT treats both political parties the same-- essentially that presidents of both parties misused presidential powers to skirt the Abrams doctrine to send our troops to battle without getting Congressional approval. That the wars that we have recently been involved in have been fought with little sacrifice from any but the troops and their families. That tax cuts while spending more and more money on war is obscene. That war should involve all of our citizens, and that we should all feel it-- and we don't.

    Maddow also writes in a style that makes the book an easy read. She is engaging, her use of irony is spot on.

    A good read-- for both the Left and the Right.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Politifact has not evaluated the book

    An earlier review claims that Politifact evaluated this book. Not true.

    Excellent book-skewers both left and right on how the military has been used and abused.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and

    Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and a massive distorter of the truth. In this book she continues her spouting her far left views of America. Bought this for my Nook Color, big mistake on my part and will try to help my friends from making the same mistake I did.

    15 out of 186 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    This one is great

    I was blowen away by this book so much info and alittle scary

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Extremely informative and thought-provoking...

    Bought a copy for my Nook Simple Touch, and so far have read the first prologue and first chapter. Extremely informative and thought-provoking--citing tons of historical events and social changes!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    This book was the worst piece of drivel that I have read in some

    This book was the worst piece of drivel that I have read in some time. I read on average 3 to 4 books a week from both sides of the political aisle but this book lacked any form of intellectual value what so ever. This young woman possesses a doctorate from Oxford no-less. Obviously, there is a big difference between education and intelligence!

    11 out of 138 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Great facts and research on state of military but written a little uppity

    Drift, written by MSNBC commentator Rachel Maddow takes a candid look at the drift from the founding father's scope of the United States military and where it is today. Maddow argues that the military is too big, spends money wastefully, corrupted by private contractors who are not under any jurisdiction, and far from the original concept of the founding fathers.

    A few things that I enjoyed about the book are - the in depth account of Ronald Regan's involvement in the Iran Contra scandal which I never knew, who she dedicates the book to - Dick Cheney, Maddow's instance that we need to limit the President to Constitutional powers, and the chapter on our nuclear arsenal. One more note on Dick Cheney, I have always had disdain for him but after this book , that feeling is even more rooted. This is due to his involvement with Halliburton and its subsidiaries and how he constantly beats the drums of war.

    A few things that was not my preference was that her extra verbiage in many sentences. The added words feels like she is uppity and an intellectual and has to prove it; I guess I prefer a much more direct writing style. Also, she starts off the book speaking generally and then zero's right in to blaming Regan; I almost felt like the entire blame is put on Regan. Now to be honest, she does continue right down to Obama but I felt that blame was too much of a jump.

    The last chapter will stick with me regarding the storage and upkeep of America's nuclear arsenal. Maddow touches on a few incidents in the previous 50 years and that a few times we have come close to detonation of nuclear warheads. Also, I never knew about the one in Spain in which the soil had to be taken away and it is still radioactive today.

    Overall, the book is a 4 / 5 stars.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Educational, Entertaining and Thought Provoking

    Rachel for President!

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    great read and very thought provoking

    Great read and thought provoking. Specially when you put into a larger context the complexities of government and modern conflicts.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7