Customer Reviews for

Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

An interesting read

I'm not a fan of political nonfiction and rarely read it. Despite that I found this book interesting, entertaining, and insightful. It's as much a ride through certain aspects of American history as it is a political argument. The author manages to cover rather vast gro...
I'm not a fan of political nonfiction and rarely read it. Despite that I found this book interesting, entertaining, and insightful. It's as much a ride through certain aspects of American history as it is a political argument. The author manages to cover rather vast ground, and raises some provocative points while doing so. I'd recommend this to anyone that has an interest in military history, politics, or just smart reads.

posted by VA_Reader on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 188 people found this review helpful.

Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and

Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and a massive distorter of the truth. In this book she continues her spouting her far left views of America. Bought this for my Nook Color, big mistake on my part and will try to help my friends from making th...
Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and a massive distorter of the truth. In this book she continues her spouting her far left views of America. Bought this for my Nook Color, big mistake on my part and will try to help my friends from making the same mistake I did.

posted by Gandpabear on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Typical lib

    Not worth the time or money

    3 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Please!!

    A review of the military from a liberal biased reporter? That should be fair.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Not worth your time

    This book was given to me as a gift. While the topic interested me, Mrs Maddows cannot be objective and constantly distorts facts and pushes a far left agenda. I did learn some new things and some parts were funny. If your a peace loving communist then this book is for you. For those that understand the military is one of the main reasons the USA remains a superpower, pass on this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Next up on my election year barrage of political books is Rachel

    Next up on my election year barrage of political books is Rachel
    Maddow’s Drift. First off, I am a huge fan of her TV show, so any
    criticism isn’t political or personal in nature. Nor did I find any
    incorrect or misstated facts throughout the book. My core issue is the
    same criticism I have with all punditry books—they begin with an
    ideological premise and then pick out facts to demonstrate its validity.
    Drift was no exception. Though, my largest critique was the book’s heavy
    focus on the past, rather than current affairs. Of course, a thorough
    understanding of history is necessary to comprehend current politics,
    but Maddow overindulges in minor affairs such as the war in Grenada that
    have little to do with the exploding militarization of today. I found
    the rehashing of twenty-year old scandals to be a major detriment to the
    book’s overall theme. But again, I was already well acquainted with
    them, so these revelations might be illuminating to younger or less
    informed readers. Still, this came at the expense of more modern and
    relevant news, which Maddow normally excels at on her show. I could’ve
    skipped the Reagan bashing for more reporting on Blackwater/Xe…or
    whatever the hell the company is named now. And this is only one of
    thousands of companies operating in the private military industry. But
    don’t get me wrong, I have no issues setting the record straight on
    Reagan; I just didn’t feel it worked well for the overall premise of the
    book. All in all, Drift was a good book, but I expected more than
    reiteration of old news from Maddow. She is a terrific reporter and I
    wish she’d concentrate on gathering stories rather than being a pundit.
    But again, I usually loathe punditry books, even those from the left, so
    the fact I didn’t with this one speaks volumes. And Drift did contain
    some insightful sections and solidly researched stories, so I recommend
    it for the casual political reader. Still, for junkies like me, I’d
    suggest getting your political fix elsewhere.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    must read

    With across the board spending cuts looming (thanks teabaggers), maddow shows why such cuts may be the only way to begin to reduce defense spending

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    TYPICAL LIBERAL FICTION

    Rachael discusses, literally bashes how the military equips and trains for war. This book is just another mouth piece for the Progressive movement towards Socialism and praising of a man (Obama) instead of a nation. Waste of money.

    2 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    I didn't wanr I didn't want to end!

    Absolutely amazing and horrifying. Now I'm an even bigger fan!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Even free, wouldnot be worth the price

    Poorly written, loose with facts. The time lost rezding this can never be recovered.

    2 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Extremely boring

    Extremely boring

    2 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    A

    Although there is a lot of wasted money in the military, it doesn't begin to compare with the tremendous waste of our tax money to get progressives on the left and even the right elected to and holding onto their power. People are.basically buying their political seats and lying to get elected with the help of a complicit media, including Ms. Maddow.
    The brave.men and women who serve in our military are more valuable than the corrupt politicians and highly paid media personalities by a long shot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Idiot

    What a load of crap !

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    poorly written with multiple spelling errors ,,typical Lefty gar

    poorly written with multiple spelling errors ,,typical Lefty garbage

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Typical Rachel Maddow

    Good "story" using facts threaded together by her liberal viewpoint. sometimes her points are valid, many of them seem naive or uninformed. Alot of them also don't have much depth of thought. If you like her, you'll like the book, if you don't, you probably won't. I'm indifferent to her, but her book is fairly shoddy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Don't know

    People say it is awful but some say it is awsome!!! Wat should i do? For $11.99 it seems pricy an i don't want to waste my money. What age group is it in (some age to some age)? I read about 1 book every 2 days. Should i read it? HELP

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Drift is prvocatve, atomic.

    Drift is a keenly written, thoughtful, sprinkled with humor. It is a wake up call regarding atom bombs
    , presidents, generals annd failure of congress' declarations of war. The book asks do we want to be known as a nation of war or a nation of peace building. It falters a bit in final solutions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Awful.

    Awful.

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Well written history lessons

    Ms. Maddow has written with humor and well-sourced information, and has done it in a style that feels as though she's sitting across the kitchen table, speaking directly to the reader in a friendly fact chat. I highly recommend reading this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Her writing style is so Rachelmadaddowich, I LOVE IT

    I love the energy that Rachel has put into this book, the researsh, the years of study and preparation, the passion, the true american spirit, everything is so consistent with a higher concience that inspires me to emulate this life long evolutionary impulse that Rachel has. This book inspires a true moral awakening for the nation in a worlcentric context.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Simply brilliant!

    Thank you Rachel for saying what needed to be told to us. Funny how everything I witnessed in the military now make a heck of a lot of sense to me.

    And reviewers giving a grade less than 2, don't make your view of the world get in the way of a learning opportunity like the one presented with Drift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Maddow does an excellent job of detailing precisely how, over th

    Maddow does an excellent job of detailing precisely how, over the last fifty years or so, “war culture” (my term, not hers) has transformed our nation. Her analysis of America at war from Vietnam to the present demonstrates that we have veered very far afield from our founding fathers’ profound belief that going to war should be difficult—it should be unattractive, it should be something we as an entire nation do very unwillingly, it should be the option of last resort—and it should be something that affects every American. Instead, the military has become a highly specialized industry, much of it outsourced to private corporations (most of which line the pockets of Dick Cheney).
    Maddow spends almost the entire first half of the book explaining how the Reagan administration was largely responsible for this transformation. Before reading this book, I had very little respect for Reagan as a president, and I now believe that he was a criminal megalomaniac who probably should have been impeached for his role in the Iran-contra affair.

    The information here can be somewhat overwhelming at times, and though she does her best to demystify military lingo, it sometimes becomes challenging to comprehend every point she’s making. Overall, however, her argument is powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8