Customer Reviews for

Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

An interesting read

I'm not a fan of political nonfiction and rarely read it. Despite that I found this book interesting, entertaining, and insightful. It's as much a ride through certain aspects of American history as it is a political argument. The author manages to cover rather vast gro...
I'm not a fan of political nonfiction and rarely read it. Despite that I found this book interesting, entertaining, and insightful. It's as much a ride through certain aspects of American history as it is a political argument. The author manages to cover rather vast ground, and raises some provocative points while doing so. I'd recommend this to anyone that has an interest in military history, politics, or just smart reads.

posted by VA_Reader on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 188 people found this review helpful.

Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and

Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and a massive distorter of the truth. In this book she continues her spouting her far left views of America. Bought this for my Nook Color, big mistake on my part and will try to help my friends from making th...
Rachel Maddow has been shown more than once to be untruthful and a massive distorter of the truth. In this book she continues her spouting her far left views of America. Bought this for my Nook Color, big mistake on my part and will try to help my friends from making the same mistake I did.

posted by Gandpabear on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Weak supporting philosophy

    Jefferson's policies were shown to be flawed by the War of 1812. Today, the sophistication, speed and range of weapons systems require a robust and highly-trained military force. Forward deployment and long training cycles requires more manpower than might be readily apparent to Rachel and some other authors. A weak military whose only presence is on US soil has only encouraged aggression.

    8 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    great read and very thought provoking

    Great read and thought provoking. Specially when you put into a larger context the complexities of government and modern conflicts.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    An extremely interesting and thought provoking book.

    WRITTEN IN THE MADDOW STYLE- SMART, WITTY AND EXTRAORDINARILY INCITEFUL. ALL OF US SHOULD PAY CLOSE ATTENTION, THE WAGING OF WAR CAN BE SEDUCTIVE IN A WAY THAT MAKES US PUT REASON ASIDE AND LEADS US DOWN A PATH OF DIRE CONSEQENCES. THIS BOOK IS WELL WORTH READING.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Wow! I am not a huge Maddow fan but the book was so thought provoking that it gave me a chance to really think about what this country is doing and how other countries perceive us. This woman is highly educated and has the degrees and the salary to prove it. For all those rating this a 1 I can honestly tell you in a partisan way how foolish they are to not have an open mind. I also do not have an open mind when it comes to what our Congress is doing to this country right now. There is a class war and a gender war going on right here inside our own borders. I had to laugh when I saw the spelling errors on many of this "1" reviews. Apparently they are just plain old liberal and progressive haters. As many have stated before, if Ronald Reagan was running he would not have won the POTUS title as he was too far left. This country is appalling to me in so many ways of how we mistreat people. And for those religious Christians, this is not what Jesus would have done. So open up your minds and read the book and see how interesting it is.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Awful

    Awful

    6 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a very important read for anyone!! It tells how we

    This book is a very important read for anyone!! It tells how we got into the mess we are in now. Too much money spent on wars, prep for them, and the private sector that now provides support for our military. If you want to find out how your tax dollars are spent and find out how we got into this black hole of funding read this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    WOW. For a country that has been at war for 11 years this should

    WOW. For a country that has been at war for 11 years this should be required reading for all. It isn't a book about lefty/righty politics (don't let Maddow's day job fool you); it is an impeccably researched thesis on how/why we go to war and the expansion of Executive power. I highly recommend it to you as a summer read that will make you smarter (and maybe a bit sleepless about how our nukes are taken care of...)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Smart, as you would expect.

    This book puts forth a very solid argument regarding our military and govermental drift away from the constution. Very sound reasoning and really hits home if you are old enough to haved lived through the Vietnam war. Smart writing, easy to read and sprinkled with Maddow's wit and humor.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Well written and witty, it is both educational and entertaining.

    Well written and witty, it is both educational and entertaining. I was impressed that the liberal author had a note on the back cover from the CEO of Fox News saying that she makes valid arguments. Is the book the absolute truth on all the topics? Likely not, but it does present a point of view very well. I purchased this thinking I should read it, then found myself saying, wow, this is interesting. I finished it in one day.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Amazing book

    I have yet to put this bool down except to sleep and go to school (sometimes not even at school). Well worth the read

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    This Book is a propaganda tool, nothing more. I for one have ser

    This Book is a propaganda tool, nothing more. I for one have served in the military and I am fed up with civilians who lack think they know enough about our military  to make broad stroke assertions concerning my job.
    I believe she has no real military experience, and I know first hand that there are things which happen everyday which threaten our national security; furthermore, I know it is her intention to undermine support for the military is an abomination to all who enjoy the free exchange of Ideas.

    For all you bleeding heart liberals,  you should consider that even our current democratic president uses this Military Industrial Complex to insure our interests are looked after. If you hate the United States, then go hang out with people more like yourself somewhere in the middle east. Then you can tell me about how wrong the United States is while you are stripped of your civil rights, stoned, spit on, and paraded through their streets. 
    Consider, the possibility that you have been sheltered from the rest of the world, and your mark on humanity should be worthy of the sacrifices of  our brave men on your behalf.  Undermining, our military with your words for personal gain inspires no one, and I destroys the foundations of all that is right with america.

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Right and Left reading

    It ls sad that people in this country cannot even read a book a give a educated and informing opion on the content of what he or she has just read without vewing it through the lens of the political Right or Left. But we are now in the era of The New Right! The book is very informative. A good read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Rachel is AWESOME

    Rachel likes always is smart and detirmined to get the point logically and sensiblely. Rachel writes from the standpoint of an American not a liberal not a Bush hater. I truly appricate Rachel's fantastic writing. Buy this book it is a fantastic read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    5 star scary read

    Scary for all it's factual nailing of our government's nonsense throughout the years. Entrenched bureaucrats, like Cheney, perservere from administration to administration bumbling along, with Congress, stretching the truth or not even bothering with it. Rachael is spot on with her compelling read. Write some more !

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Junk

    Junk

    3 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Read This Book if you care about the US.

    Drift is an outstanding work by Ms. Maddow. It informs, infuriates and even occasionally made me smile. You Really need to READ this book! Well done Rachel, she knocked this one out of the park.

    Be prepared to be infuriated as she illustrates in clear concise terms the steady way the US has become a War Machine instead of a Country of Citizen Soldiers. Lost our way from the constraints of a constitutional Democratic Republic to a New Empire of War.

    And afterwards think how YOU can contribute to turning our country back onto the path of sanity and away from steady state war madness.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    MessNBC

    The times this nation has been attacked or forced into war all have a common theme, our enemies have percieved us as ill prepared or weak. It would be wonderful to rid the world of nukes, weapons of all kind and dismantle all armies, but that right most of us live on the planet Earth.

    3 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Bravo!

    Excellent book. I want more!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Great book

    Great book. Love the show.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    What a waste of time !

    She doesn't know fact from fiction

    3 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8