Customer Reviews for

Driftless

Average Rating 3.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - I'm ordering his earlier books today - all 3 of them

Wonderful use of language - reminds me of Wallace Stegner who with Steinbeck are my favorite authors. Great highly differentiated and believable characters and a twisty plot. I'm reading it for a second time to enjoy the language now that I know the plot and character...
Wonderful use of language - reminds me of Wallace Stegner who with Steinbeck are my favorite authors. Great highly differentiated and believable characters and a twisty plot. I'm reading it for a second time to enjoy the language now that I know the plot and characters. It's that good. Just ordered it for my sister. Hope the earlier books (written 30 years ago) are even almost as good. (He was in a motorcycle accident that left him paralyzed after his first three acclaimed novels.) This book has NOTHING to do with his paralysis or struggle back - pure fiction. Very pure.

posted by smthereader on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 201 people found this review helpful.

DOWNLOAD FOR ONE REASON

I GOT THIS BOOK IN HOPES THAT IF ENOUGH OF US GET IT ON FREE FRIDAY B.N. WILL START TO SEE THAT WE ALL DONT WANT ROMANCE BOOKS ON FRIDAYS FOR FREE IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY ADD IT FOR THAT REASON IF FOR NO OTHER PLEASE!!!... HELL WHO KNOWS IT MIGHT TURN OUT TO BE AN ALRI...
I GOT THIS BOOK IN HOPES THAT IF ENOUGH OF US GET IT ON FREE FRIDAY B.N. WILL START TO SEE THAT WE ALL DONT WANT ROMANCE BOOKS ON FRIDAYS FOR FREE IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY ADD IT FOR THAT REASON IF FOR NO OTHER PLEASE!!!... HELL WHO KNOWS IT MIGHT TURN OUT TO BE AN ALRIGHT BOOK ONCE I GET AROUND TO READING IT LOL !!!

posted by CHRIS-DAVIS on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Started it...

    After reading quite a few chapters and not being at all interested in the characters' lives or where the "story" was going (was there even plot?), I stopped reading. Very slow, overly descriptive and just plain boring.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Why so many stars?

    I had a hard time getting through the 449 pages, which was mostly time spent describing the road to a house, what the trees looked, what the mountains looked like.

    Having finished the book I still can't tell you what the plot was or the point the author was trying to make.

    I'm still wondering why it got so many high star ratings. Friends maybe? Family? I can't see it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    I am so disappointed...the author just stopped writing the story!

    It seems like the author just stopped writing in the middle of the book. He leaves you hanging & does not finish the storyline. You never find out about what happened with all the people in the story. What a waste of my time!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Bad

    It reads like a travelog--i did not get past the prolouge! No coflict--nothing to hold interest

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    I was unable to finish this book

    I read 67 pages of this 426 page book and gave up. I hate animals getting killed in a gory manner. This book was tedious and jumped around from scene to scene so much it was hard to keep up with the changes. It also time jumped. I did not care for this book at all. It is for adult readers.

    AD

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Bad

    Terrible. Dozens of short stories that make no sense. Over 400 pgs of this. Total waste of time and nook space on this junk. Come on bn. Give us something interesting! I tried this. It stunk. It deserves minus 25 stars.

    3 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Yuck

    Worst book ever...still not what it was really about or what the main story I was suppose to be following. Was hoping by the end it would all come together.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    anonymous

    This was a long, difficult read for me. There were so many characters, with chapters jumping back and forth between them, it was hard to keep them all straight. The second half of the book did get a bit more interesting. I wanted to like it because of the Wisconsin setting, but really didn't enjoy it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Driftless is the right title for this slow, slogging book

    Not only did i keep wondering what the plot was, but i really never found any of the characters warm,funny,endearing,or anything other than pathetic. This is not small town America as I know it to be,but rather a sad charicature and shadow of it. Just as there was no plot, the ending was uneventful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pointless

    Story of the inhabitants of Words, Wisconsin. Starts in the middle of the story, ends abruptly, no closure to story lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    I got to approximately page 175. It was tedious, boring, drawn o

    I got to approximately page 175. It was tedious, boring, drawn out, pointless. The characters seemed to intertwine but without a notebook alongside of me to keep track, you lose the point of who goes where with what. I didn't delete from my library because I do want to finish it... I hate leaving a page unturned. But this one is a struggle at best. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I'm just glad I got it on Free Book Friday. Had I paid for it, I would have been sorely disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Thanks for Free Friday book

    I just could not get into this one. Plodding.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Terrible

    The story line jumped around too much. The "plot" was dull, I found myself skimming through needless banter and endless soliloquies. The ending was just an abrupt stop. There is no reconciliation to any of the situations the characters are experiencing. 0/10, absolutely would not read again. Deleting this one from my library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    A better title for this book would be "Pointless." I

    A better title for this book would be "Pointless." I struggled to finish this book and did so just to find out what happened to the characters. The author never wrapped up the stories. I could not relate to the characters and did not care about them. I am glad it was a free book and would not recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Don't waste your time

    this was an awful book. I couldn't get any farther than page 29. Couldn't make sense of any of it. Jumped from one place to another. Don't waste your time with this one!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    I made myself finish this book because I thought it had to get b

    I made myself finish this book because I thought it had to get better. It didn't.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Very slow and rambling.

    Very slow and rambling.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Pointless

    Most pointless thing I've read in a long time. Didn't even have a real ending. Wasted several days reading this.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Didñ't Download

    The book did not dowonload to my tablet, so I am unable to ratei it or write a review.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Waste of time

    Could not read it would not load

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2