Customer Reviews for

Driftless

Average Rating 3.5
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - I'm ordering his earlier books today - all 3 of them

Wonderful use of language - reminds me of Wallace Stegner who with Steinbeck are my favorite authors. Great highly differentiated and believable characters and a twisty plot. I'm reading it for a second time to enjoy the language now that I know the plot and character...
Wonderful use of language - reminds me of Wallace Stegner who with Steinbeck are my favorite authors. Great highly differentiated and believable characters and a twisty plot. I'm reading it for a second time to enjoy the language now that I know the plot and characters. It's that good. Just ordered it for my sister. Hope the earlier books (written 30 years ago) are even almost as good. (He was in a motorcycle accident that left him paralyzed after his first three acclaimed novels.) This book has NOTHING to do with his paralysis or struggle back - pure fiction. Very pure.

posted by smthereader on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 201 people found this review helpful.

DOWNLOAD FOR ONE REASON

I GOT THIS BOOK IN HOPES THAT IF ENOUGH OF US GET IT ON FREE FRIDAY B.N. WILL START TO SEE THAT WE ALL DONT WANT ROMANCE BOOKS ON FRIDAYS FOR FREE IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY ADD IT FOR THAT REASON IF FOR NO OTHER PLEASE!!!... HELL WHO KNOWS IT MIGHT TURN OUT TO BE AN ALRI...
I GOT THIS BOOK IN HOPES THAT IF ENOUGH OF US GET IT ON FREE FRIDAY B.N. WILL START TO SEE THAT WE ALL DONT WANT ROMANCE BOOKS ON FRIDAYS FOR FREE IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY ADD IT FOR THAT REASON IF FOR NO OTHER PLEASE!!!... HELL WHO KNOWS IT MIGHT TURN OUT TO BE AN ALRIGHT BOOK ONCE I GET AROUND TO READING IT LOL !!!

posted by CHRIS-DAVIS on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Thought it was a good story line but it had so many characters y

    Thought it was a good story line but it had so many characters you had to really think who was who. I would liked it better had it not been so wordy. Describing scenery paragraph after paragraph got rather boring and I found myself skipping a lot of the book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    What Ending?

    I liked this book, but not as much as i wanted to. I kept waiting for things to happen, when all of a sudden BOOM! A major character (and one of the two I actually cared about) gets killed and the story is over. What happens to the others? Olivia, Wade, the Shotwells, Winnie, Jacob, Rusty and Trixie? You never really get to say goodbye to them because the story is done without tying up any loose ends. And what happens with American Milk? Good book, just needs a real ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    This was a pretty good book, especially if you like adjectives.

    This was a pretty good book, especially if you like adjectives. I too am glad the free book was something with a little substance. What drives me crazy is; why do the books have SOOO many errors. Come on, why do ebooks have to be such poor quality?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Choppy

    Good writing in each chapter but pooorly tied together

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    GOOD STORY LINE

    The ending lost me. Thats ok, because its mostly a story of every day life and I am lost most every day.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Driftless

    I am currently reading this. I'd enjoy it much more if not for all of the spelling errors and editing failures at the beginning of each chapter at the beginning of each each chapter ing ofeach chap !!! Shape up B&N

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Many interesting characters, lots of things going on, but the en

    Many interesting characters, lots of things going on, but the ending left me wanting to know more about what happened
    with several characters. Several typos that need correcting, with whole or partial sentences repeated. The editor missed the boat on that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Very detailed, well-written

    The writer was very descriptive and I got lost in some of the more in-depth details. The characters were like lifetime friends. It took a while to put all of the separate stories together, but in the end it all made sense. I like the feel good ending, but so many things were left unfinished. Overall a good read. It just took a long time to get into it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    It's OK

    I purchased the book because the setting is linked to my childhood. However I found it too long, too many characters to track, descriptions went on and on although the descriptions were vivid. Pastor Smith is someone I would not want to meet - talk about mixed up. Maybe I just don't like the hard display of God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    about life on the farm jmm44

    This book had a good story but was hard to stick with it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Intriquing

    At times the writing is beautiful yet often its tedious....trying too hard to evoke something never clearly stated. I did find the story engaging however slowly it progressed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Drift

    Had its moments

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Hard to read

    I enjoyed the story line but found the book too wordy in places. Feel the story could have been told with about a third of the words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    On The Fence

    The book was well-written, and the characters and story lines were well-developed. I really enjoyed most of the book. But it left too many plot holes. I would have liked to know if everything worked out for the characters. Also (spoiler alert!), I did not like that the main character died. Overall it was a good book, but I don't think I'll read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Mixed feelings

    I don't know what exactly to say about this book. The writing was wonderful and the use of language was masterful. The characters were lacking some depth in some cases, but overall it was pretty good. The plot was decent enough to follow, but there were some sub plots that were not resolved.so the book just left me wondering in the end. I grew up in Wisconsin, so the descriptions of the landscapes and the basis of the characters definitely resonated with me. Not my favorite book, but definitely not my least favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Ok read

    It dragged on in many parts the plot was slow to develop. The author is very descriptive which took me out of the story. There were quite a few editorial errors which for me where not enough to stop me from reading. All in all give it a try you may have a differing view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    too many words.

    I liked the story line, but the author used words that no one in the English language speaks. Very wordy and philosophical.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Take a Journey . . .

    It feels as though I visited a small town, got to know the inhabitants and their backgrounds and got drawn into the drama of their lives. Some tragedy. Some absurdities. Some thought provoking situations. Would make a good book for discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good read

    Interesting Characters - a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    recommend for an easy read

    Interesting, many unusual stories that come together in the end. Easy to follow, good book to read in between other events or books. Author puts his views into long analysis statements.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4