Customer Reviews for

Driftless

Average Rating 3.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - I'm ordering his earlier books today - all 3 of them

Wonderful use of language - reminds me of Wallace Stegner who with Steinbeck are my favorite authors. Great highly differentiated and believable characters and a twisty plot. I'm reading it for a second time to enjoy the language now that I know the plot and character...
Wonderful use of language - reminds me of Wallace Stegner who with Steinbeck are my favorite authors. Great highly differentiated and believable characters and a twisty plot. I'm reading it for a second time to enjoy the language now that I know the plot and characters. It's that good. Just ordered it for my sister. Hope the earlier books (written 30 years ago) are even almost as good. (He was in a motorcycle accident that left him paralyzed after his first three acclaimed novels.) This book has NOTHING to do with his paralysis or struggle back - pure fiction. Very pure.

posted by smthereader on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 201 people found this review helpful.

DOWNLOAD FOR ONE REASON

I GOT THIS BOOK IN HOPES THAT IF ENOUGH OF US GET IT ON FREE FRIDAY B.N. WILL START TO SEE THAT WE ALL DONT WANT ROMANCE BOOKS ON FRIDAYS FOR FREE IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY ADD IT FOR THAT REASON IF FOR NO OTHER PLEASE!!!... HELL WHO KNOWS IT MIGHT TURN OUT TO BE AN ALRI...
I GOT THIS BOOK IN HOPES THAT IF ENOUGH OF US GET IT ON FREE FRIDAY B.N. WILL START TO SEE THAT WE ALL DONT WANT ROMANCE BOOKS ON FRIDAYS FOR FREE IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY ADD IT FOR THAT REASON IF FOR NO OTHER PLEASE!!!... HELL WHO KNOWS IT MIGHT TURN OUT TO BE AN ALRIGHT BOOK ONCE I GET AROUND TO READING IT LOL !!!

posted by CHRIS-DAVIS on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Highly Recommended - I'm ordering his earlier books today - all 3 of them

    Wonderful use of language - reminds me of Wallace Stegner who with Steinbeck are my favorite authors. Great highly differentiated and believable characters and a twisty plot. I'm reading it for a second time to enjoy the language now that I know the plot and characters. It's that good. Just ordered it for my sister. Hope the earlier books (written 30 years ago) are even almost as good. (He was in a motorcycle accident that left him paralyzed after his first three acclaimed novels.) This book has NOTHING to do with his paralysis or struggle back - pure fiction. Very pure.

    62 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    A Keeper

    You'll drift into Words, Wisconsin and want to linger. Rhodes's writing feels like a soft blanket. You'll recognize yourself and/or your friends and family in his characters. Reminiscent of Steinbeck in his setting descriptions. It'll be a read and reread keeper. Enjoy.

    53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm rating this book 5 stars to offset the dunce that rated it a

    I'm rating this book 5 stars to offset the dunce that rated it a 1 star because of the reviewer that wrote in all caps! Really folks....review the book....not the reviewer. Writing is their life and the way they make a living. Your 1 star and 3 star review kicked this author's rating down. Use your brains and think before you review.....BOTH of you! You are not reviewing Barnes and Noble...you are reviewing the book.

    49 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    accurate settings

    Being a retired Wisconsin farm wife, I found the settings and the stories most accurate and true to life. We were members of the NFO and my husband escaped alive from an accident similar to the one at the end. Excellent writing that holds one interest and attention to detail makes you feel as if you have know the characters all your life. I really enjoyed the book.

    43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Just Because

    I haven't read this book yet, but I'm sure I'll enjoy it. I'm writing this to say to all the complainers, STOP! They give us a free book every Friday and there are almost 2 million free if you just search free. Other companies do not do this. I get the book every Friday and usually like it and have found some new authors and new genres. If you don't like it after you read it, delete it and write an honest review. But don't fuss before you even read the book. Thanks B&N and all the authors who spend their time to give enjoyment to those of us who LOVE to read.

    34 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Thank you for making this available

    The author's story alone makes this well worth the read. Not being schooled on his first three books, I'm assuming the guy was a literary genius in the 70s, which pulled me in immediately. I prefer books with substance over flash and trendiness, which much of BNs fiction selections have to a fault. It's niice to finally find real literature on a Friday as opposed to the usual mindless drivel I get. Perhaps BN is listening for a change. Have hope my friends, if your genre isn't here, it may soon be.

    31 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Excellent literary fiction

    Great characters, beautiful writing, this is a book I couldn't stop thinking about after it was over. Highly recommended!

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    great book!

    I loved this book and would reccomend it to anyone. I read it in
    short spurts and savored it like a good wine. Reads like poetry and
    I have saved it to read again. Ordered his other older books. Love
    the way he writes!!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book!!!

    Loved this book and would recomend it to anyone. Reads like poetry.
    Will keep it to read again. Have ordered his older books.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Thank you for a free friday book  that is not a harlequin romanc

    Thank you for a free friday book  that is not a harlequin romance or for teens.

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Beautiful story

    The writing is lyrical, poetic, deep and moving. The characters are very well developed and each of their individual stories is interwoven and connected. I couldn't put it down and will read more of this author. Thankyou B&N for a fabulous free fridays book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Beautiful

    Love stories like this.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Quit complaining

    I swear every friday we have to deal with all you people complaining about a book becouse its always a romance i do recall there was a book called a place called armageddon that was free not to long ago and it was awsome i will read this book as well there are always good free books out there just take the time to look or if your to dumb to know how to find them go search then type in free fiction or sci fi but stop leavin crappy reviews it takes up space and isnt flattering

    6 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    To just because

    I haven't read thrs one yet but it i think it will be a good story,
    I appreciate the free books because I canot afford to buy a the books, I have read some that turned out to be great,

    Would you tell me how to delete. I would like ro remove some books that I have read,
    Thanks,

    Loves to read

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Beautifully written, exceptional

    As I got to the last pages of this novel I had to brace myself for the disappointment that was to follow my being finished with it. It is so beautifully written that I found myself thinking back to my college lit class days and imagining turning the beautiful phrasing into classroom discussions.
    Th story is frank and captivating, with characters that are easy to identify with. I only wish that I could read it again for the first time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Drawn Into Driftless

    I read this book in two short days. When it was over, I was was sad, not because it was a bad book, but rather I just wanted to bask in Driftless, Wisconsin a little bit longer. How I wish I had neighbors like those in Driftless! There are a lot of characters, but each was rich with detail. I did not have to flip back in the book to find out who they were, as the author brought them back over and again, so that they all melded as part of the story, as each was integral with the plot. There was a slight air of mysticism to the story, which did not detract from the Midwest flavor. The author’s descriptive style is such that I didn’t even know I was reading; I felt I was part of the story itself. I highly recommend this extremely well written book. I’ll purchase more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Excellent

    I grew up in the rural south and have lived in the midwest with in-law relatives from the Driftless region for many years now. The characters are familiar and true to me, full and rich, and sometimes wise, sometimes painfully foolish. This book made me examine myself again and again. Packed with a wide variety of issues, it was worth the read. I'll be recommending this to my best friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    This book was amazing...I was not expecting something so intense

    This book was amazing...I was not expecting something so intense from the description in the overview. The lives of the many characters overlap in ways that occur everyday, yet never realize the impact of such minor interactions. Rhodes has wonderfully intertwined these people in ways that happen everyday, but so often are taken for granted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Belongs on everyone's must read list.

    Absolutely fantastic! The characters actually sat at my kitchen table and shared a cup of coffee with me. The imagery is so unique painting pictures I'll remember forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Movie Quality

    Wonderful suspense & the stories of each in this community intertwined perfectly together. Would love to see this in film!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6