Customer Reviews for

Driftwood Lane (Nantucket Love Story Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Driftwood Lane A Nantucket Love Story By Denise Hunter

    Meridith has to leave her comfortable life in St. Louis to go to Nantucket because she just found out that her father (whom abandoned her & her mentally ill mother when she was a child) and her step - mother has passed away leaving in their will sole guardianship of her three step - sibilings which she has never met and a Bed and Breakfast thats falling apart around them. Meridith plans to stay only long enough to relinquish guardianship to the children's uncle as soon as he returns from his trip but soon she finds herself thinking only of the children and their well being. She also has a fiance back in St. Louis and has to make a decision between her siblings or him. Meanwhile the handyman she has hired to do some work around the inn is driving her nuts and she is feeling things for him that has her questioning everything she is feeling...
    Things will take a twist and turn everything upside down, can she trust God with the details and find out that everything she has ever needed has been right with her all along ???
    I just loved this book and could not put it down. It is full of love, hope & inspiration.
    Denise Hunter is an amazing writer and knows how to pull her readers in.
    **I recieved this book for free from Book Sneeze for being a book blogger.**

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    Great Summer Read!

    This book was one of those books that makes you smile while you're reading it, cheer for the hero and talk out loud to the heroine so your family thinks you're nuts! It's the perfect book for a quick summer read and I really enjoyed how well written it was as well as the fact that although you have an idea of where the story is going (or where you hope it goes....) that it isn't predictable and keeps you wanting to read more when you really should be doing other things. The antagonist of the story could have been a little more written, and I think the cover art might need some rethinking since at first glance, to me, the title bubble makes the lead character appear to be "blessed" in the anatomy department and caused me to take a second look. Overall this book is a great Christian book for the romance reader who likes to believe in fairytale endings, and who doesn't wish for a happy ending?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    strong drama

    In St. Louis, as Meredith Ward inspects a restaurant, attorney Edward Thomas calls her to inform her that her dad T.J. and his second wife Eva died in a boating accident off Nantucket a couple of weeks ago. Estranged from her dad for years, Meredith is stunned to learn the couple named her guardian of their three children. She never even knew she had step-siblings and the only other person capable of caring for them, Eva's brother Uncle J remains out of contact.

    Meredith immediately drops everything to go to the Summer Place Bed and Breakfast on Nantucket to care for her siblings. Her angry thirteen year old sister Noelle wants her to leave. Her brother ten year old Max supports Noelle while seven years old Ben is a bit more welcoming of a big sister whom none of them ever met before, but the trio prefers Uncle J.

    Jake Walker finally finds a computer in the Georgia wilderness. He reads his niece's frantic emails informing him of the deaths and claiming Meredith is control freak crazy; he fears she may have inherited her mom's illness. He heads to Nantucket where he conceals who he is from Meredith as he plans to prove she is incompetent while posing as a handyman she hires as the B&B needs repair. As they fall in love, his masquerade and her desire for whoever is best for the kids appear to be family breakers.

    The fourth Nantucket Love Story (see The Convenient Groom, Surrender Bay and The Seaside Letters) is a strong drama as the quintet struggle to forge a new family dynamic. Each of the five principle players are fully drawn as the adults and kids have different issues and fears. Although the ending feels sweetly abrupt, fans of the series will enjoy this fine family drama as Denise Hunter provides a warm tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    wonderful

    Good clean christian romance! Page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Driftwood Lane

    I wasn't three chapters into this book before I found myself browsing for vacation rentals in Nantucket. There is just something about The Nantucket Love Story Series series by Denise Hunter that really makes me want to visit the island. Driftwood Lane is the final title in the series, but only the second I've read. And though I love this author, I refuse to read the last two books (or in this case, the first two) until my feet are buried ankle deep in Nantucket sand.

    Driftwood Lane is a contemporary romance and a perfect example of why I love this genre. Take one romantic location (a bed and breakfast on an island off Cape Cod), one handsome leading man who's good with his hands (Jake- the plumber slash carpenter) then mix in a little romantic tension (there's the small matter of the heroine's fiance waiting back home) and you have the recipe for a love story that will leave your toes tingly.

    Denise Hunter is definitely my favorite discovery this year and even though I'm saving her last two books for my summer vacation, I notice she has a cowboy series coming out this spring. I do love my cowboys...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another beautiful story by this fabulous author!

    Driftwood Lane by Denise Hunter is absolutely fabulous! It is book three in her Nantucket Love Story series. The stories are not connected but they all take place in Nantucket. (And they are all wonderful!) The other books in the series are Surrender Bay and The Convenient Groom. They are contemporary fiction stories and when I think of Denise Hunter, I automatically think of stories that grab me by the heart. That's how I would describe her books, including this one.

    In this story we meet Meridith Ward. She has worked really hard for a career and a home and a stable life. And all of that is about to get turned upside down. She has to face memories from her difficult childhood that she has worked so hard to bury. And her steady, dependable life is not going to be steady and dependable any more. I really love Meridith. She captured my heart from the very beginning and I was rooting for her all the way. She is a character who will stay in my heart long after finishing the book! All of the characters in this book will stay with me for a long time!

    I very highly recommend this book to anyone! It's a beautiful, heart-warming story and it's got something for everyone. There's drama, suspense, romance and a beautiful message. Once I started the book I could not put it down and when it was over I wanted more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another wonderful love story/romance by Denise Hunter!

    Driftwood Lane is another fabulous romance by Denise Hunter. I loved how she made a compelling case for her heroine's fear and used the family pet to illustrate that in a Pavlovian way that made sense to the reader and to the hero. Not that she compared her to a dog, but the fear was the same. Different causes, but same overwhelming need to protect and preserve. Growing up with a mentally ill mother and a father who essentially abandoned her was a key part of the need she had to control everything about her life.

    The cool thing about true love is the out of control feeling it gives. You love it and it scares you at the same time. This was so well illustrated. You crave what you need and want to run screaming at the same time. Ms. Hunter really laid a solid foundation for these characters and continually put the heroine in situations where she had to let the hero get one step closer. This novel was well thought out and had a forward moving plot despite the slower pacing. I really enjoyed how the tension kept building and how it helped her to see that what she thought was love before was simply settling for security. I am sure that some women who are dating men who are merely "safe" will read this book and rethink what they are doing in their love lives. This story really makes you think about that.

    True love requires trust and if there is no trust things never go deeper. Unfortunately things started out based on a lie. The author made a compelling case for why he kept his identity from her. Better than most. The foundation was solid as was the many reasons why it never seemed to be the right time to tell the truth. The necessary blowout for any good romance novel was well done.

    Though the heroine was a new Christian, she handled it like anyone would. Second guessing things, doubting herself, worrying about how this might apply in other ways to trust, etc. But ultimately the problem is worked through. I found this aspect of the novel very believable, too. A lot of times the "dark moment" feels forced or a bit fake. This felt real to me. I know whenever I read one of this author's books that I'll get a solid romance. I have read all of her books in this series to date with the exception of the second book. I need to pull it out and read it soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart-warming...Denise Hunter delivers another amazing book!

    In the final book of her Nantucket series, Denise Hunter certainly does not disappoint. Once again set in the picturesque Nantucket, this is the story of family, love, and devotion. Meredith is happily engaged and living in St. Louis when she receives a call that will change her life forever.whether she wants it to or not. Her estranged father died and has left her custody of her three half siblings that she has never met. She packs a suitcase and heads to her father's somewhat run-down Bed and Breakfast in Nantucket. She is unaware that the ever present handyman is actually the children's uncle.

    As always, Denise Hunter gives us a complicated relationship that through love and determination will work out for the best in the end. I loved this book as much as I loved the ones that came before it. It is a must read for anyone.especially those who believe in love and happy endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Warm-hearted love story missing a spark or two

    Driftwood Lane was an okay story. I couldn't tell if I didn't really like it, or if it was just that I am tired of reading romance novels.

    The cover looks breezy and inviting, and the backdrop of Nantucket initially drew me in. A woman named Meredith must move from her hometown of St. Louis to Nantucket to care for her three stepsiblings and a ramshackle old bed and breakfast, all left to her in the will of her deceased father and stepmother. The plot set off right, but then the story began to made me yawn (literally). It just lacked that "spark" that makes me really indulge in a book. Even the more interesting plot elements and "twists" seemed predictable at times. Despite this, I did get a summery feeling from the novel, and I smiled at the family dynamic as Meredith and a certain secretive helper tried to rebuild. I also enjoyed Meredith's character. There was just something about the novel overall that was a bit too dry for me.

    Disclosure: This was a book that was sent to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers for free in exchange for my honest review. I am never required to write positive reviews of the books that I am sent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Great Beach Read!

    I'm a huge Denise Hunter fan! I love how her characters are so real. They have real problems and find the solution in Jesus. Driftwood Lane was a fabulous story, and I loved the chemistry between Meridith and Jake. I could smell the sea and taste the salt on my lips. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2