Customer Reviews for

A Drink Before the War (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Drink Before the War

    I just finished this book a couple of minutes ago and I couldn't wait to write a review. This book was fantastic!!! If you love books by Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett, you will greatly enjoy this book, in that this is a modern day version of those excellent novels. Also if you are a fan of The Wire, the greatest show ever (which Lehane is one of it's writers), this novel weaves important themes such as racism into this book filled with humor, thrills, sexual tension between two Private Investigators, and all things Boston. Along with Pelecanos, Connelly, and Price, Lehane is one of the best crime writers ever. Not because they have the most best-sellers (this does not make someone the greatest crime writer), but because they write the most serious and most realistic crime novels.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    I loved this thriller! The characters were so entertaining and well drawn. I will definitely check out the rest of the series.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    P.I. fiction at it's best

    If you like interesting characters and snappy patter along the lines of Raymond Chandler and Dashial Hammett you will fall in love with Dennis Lehanne. The two main characters in this book are Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro, a pair of Private Eyes hired to find a missing cleaning lady. Their client is a prominent Boston politician, who wishes to find some documents the cleaning lady stole. What starts out as a rather routine job turns into a wild ride of intrigue, betrayal, and death. As all this plays out we are also treated to the underlying romantic/sexual tension between the two main characters. Best of all this is just the first book in a series Kenzie and Gennaro.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Great read!

    I knew Mr. Lehane's books, Shutter Island and Mystic River, as movies, I so enjoyed the movies I checked out the author and discovered treasure! This book was excellent! Raw, gritty, humerous and quick moving, I read it overnight! The main characters, Mike and Angie are fun, alive and wonderfully written! Not for kids this book is graphic, enjoy it, I did!
    Now onto Mr. Lehane's other books, including Mystic River,and Gone Baby Gone, I've only seen the movies!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Interesting

    I like Mr. Lehane's work. He is a creative guy and his books have been consistently entertaining. This being an early effort shows the contrast and growth he has achieved through his career. I plan to read the further versions of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great characters, atmosphere and plot

    My husband loved A drink before the war, by Dennis LeHane. He likes mysteries, gritty inner-city tales, crime fiction with clever misdirection and intriguing characters, and this book has it all. It also has fast-paced writing, a fascinating first-person narrator, incisive point of view, and a realism that pulls the reader straight in from first page to the last. I'd delayed reading because I feared the novel might just be another long police procedural, but now I've read one I'll certainly hope to read all of LeHane's Kenzie and Gennaro books.
    Kenzie grew up in Boston. He has a backstory with a violent father that's quietly hinted at but only very slowly revealed, reflecting his own desire not to dwell on it. Another backstory involves Kenzie's feelings for Gennaro who works with him. But Gennaro is married, with problems all her own that Kenzie's not allowed to solve for her. Their relationship is fun. Their dialog is superb. Their concern for each other is naturally down-played and powerfully real. The two of them would carry the reader even if the story weren't so very intriguing. With a clever plot as well, politics, people, race, and larger than life figures that somehow fit the scenery perfectly, this book is definitely a winner. I can't read the next one yet because my to-read list is simply too long. But I'm looking forward to it and I know I'll enjoy it. LeHane now joins that select list of authors that my husband and I both love, and his characters join that group of imaginary people that we talk about while riding in the car.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED....DENNIS LEHANE KNOWS HOW TO DEVELOP CHARACTERS

    ONCE YOU START READING VERY HARD TO PUT DOWN LEHANE GETS INSIDE THE MINDS OF EACH OF HIS CNARACTERS
    A GREAT WHO DONE IT.... YOU GET TOTALLY IMMERSED IN THE STORY
    KEEP WRITING DENNIS...THERES NONE BETTER

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Im obsessed with this series

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!! Im in love with patrick kenzie and his do whatever it takes attitude and i freaking love bubba!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    great read

    started a little slow but i quickly was entertained then wanted more.....so great read.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly receommended

    The first in the Kenzie, Gennaro series by Dennis Lehane. Once you read this one you won't be able to NOT read the rest of the series. This is my thrid time reading them :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I enjoyed this book a lot. The characters were great, the setting was good. I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hard core Boston street level action!!

    Dennis Lehane, who's now had many books turned into movies, started here with "A Drink Before The War" starring Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro. These two Boston bred best friends own and operate a detective agency. Lehane's use of these characters, their own demons, and overall grittiness of every aspect of early nineties Boston is phenomenal. Lehane is able to make the lead characters likeable but seriously flawed and not by any stretch of the imagination, straight laced "good guys". The racial overtones ring true and the antagonists are deplorable but sadly believable. I now look forward to reading each of Lehane's novels. A Fantastic writer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good crime adventure

    thought"a drink before the war" was great! Lehane uses his characters that gets you hooked. very well written and like always, Lehane has the twist at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A toast to Mr. Lehane!!!

    Dennis Lehane's "A Drink Before the War" is nothing short of fantastic. Not only is Mr. Lehane an excellent writer, but also an excellent storyteller. His descriptions of both Boston and the struggles of those who live within are so accurate that the reader feels that he or she is actually a witness in the story.

    This is the first Dennis Lehane book that I have had the pleasure of reading, and I look forward to reading many more.

    J.R. Reardon
    author, "Confidential Communications"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Great Book all around

    This book is a great read for many reasons all the characters are very interesting from Bubba the psychopathic friend of the detectives Angie and Patrick to Phil Angie¿s abusive husband. The whole introduction of the characters and of their past is done wonderfully by the author and many flashbacks bring humorous insights into the characters and give the reader insight to the characters complexity as people. The main plot of the book consists of Patrick and Angie trying to find a stolen item for politicians and gets them into the middle of a gang war. However while the book is very focused on the case there are many important sub conflicts like the interesting relationship between Patrick and Angie. These very insightful looks into the past help readers make their own assumptions to what will happen later in the book. The book also addresses important real life issues like racism which is a very important part of the whole setting of the book which is Boston known to many as a city whose racial war has become infamous. This book is also very explicit and doesn¿t use politically correct terms if you catch my drift and talks about a lot of other issues that may not be suitable for younger readers but serve to forward and elaborate the realism of the book. As the book progresses as in all great detective novels the case takes many turns that leaves the reader wanting to get to the next one and keeps the reader guessing till the end. I would recommend this book to any people who enjoy detective novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2006

    Outstanding

    Like the previous reviewer, I too read Mystic River and thought it was excellent, so I decided to try his other books. A Drink Before The War was outstanding. I figured it would be good and it was even better than that. A brilliant novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Poignant To The Very Last Line!!!!!!

    I have read Mystic River and decided to read Lehane's first book, A Drink Before The War. At first I thought I wouldn't like it as much as Mystic River due to it being a series and I usually don read first person, but it was almost better than Mystic River. Lehane can really make you feel for his characters and his prose it so entirely captivating. He brings up many controversial subjects through his writing. He has plots that bring out racial controversies and govermental deficiencies. He really is the best writer to ever set the pen down on paper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    outstanding!!!! Why did I wait so long?

    My husband has been telling me for weeks to read this book. Finally, I picked it up one night and could not put it down! Kenzie and Angie are dynamite! All his characters jump right out of the pages and stay with you even after you close the book. I grew up in Boston but haven't lived there for almost 15 years now. But even if I hadn't this author would become one of my favorites. I am reccommending him to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    The Rivoting Uneasiness Requires 'A Drink Before the War'

    If you are looking for an exquisit mystery book that will keep you guessing then A Drink Before the War is right up your alley. This book will slice and dice your sanity. There isn't anything that A Drink Before the War doesn't throw at you. Suspense, comedy, and racial issues. After you have ravaged through this book you will feel like you need a perverbial drink before the war of your emotions arises and will leave you feeling like the book ravaged you. This is definitely the best book that I have ever read and I hope that it will captivate you just as much as it has me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2000

    WOW!

    Like Juli (above), I just discovered Lehane and I'm so glad I did. His characters are three-dimensional, the descriptions of Boston and its public and private lives are fascinating, the humor is appropriate (I love a wise a_s!) and I could go on and on, but won't. I've read all--working on Gone, Baby, Gone and Prayers for Rain is up next--and they just get better and better. I hope he has quite a few more books in him; some of my other favorite authors have stumbled a bit recently and I'm glad I have a good Kenzie/Gennaro to look forward to. Don't miss this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11