Customer Reviews for

Drinking: A Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Caroline Knapp started drinking when she was 14, and spent almos

    Caroline Knapp started drinking when she was 14, and spent almost 20 years as an alcoholic. She was a high functioning alcoholic, able to make it through school and become a successful column writer for a well known paper in Boston. She was so well at hiding her alcoholism; almost no one knew she was an alcoholic. Eventually she decided to get clean and produced an excellent book.
    There was only one thing I did not like about the book and that was the writing style, but I loved what Knapp was saying. It was an easy read and very interesting. Even though it wasn’t my favorite writing style, I still wanted to keep reading because it was so interesting. The everyday struggles that Knapp faced and the stories she told were enlightening. It was a very informative book about life as an alcoholic, including her mind set before during and after she was drinking. It was inspiring how honestly Knapp wrote this memoir. There was nothing off limits and as the reader we were told every detail and secret about her struggle with being an alcoholic. Not knowing much about alcoholism I thought all alcoholics were “messy drunks” who broke things and called in sick to work. Knapp showed me that I was completely wrong and it was shocking a great to learn about a high functioning alcoholic. I would recommend this book to anyone even if you are not an alcoholic it is just a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Thank You

    Honest, Informative..............

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    VERY Good!

    This book helped me understand my mother a functional alcoholic. ITS A EASY READ. Well written. I would read it a second time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Love this book

    I just love this book. I first got it at a public library and then bought my own copy a few years later when the topic became applicable again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Bridget Jones Drinks Hardcore

    this book is just amazing. I was drawn by the title when it first came out, and I was in my own love affair with alcohol. Even as an active alcoholic, I loved the drama and story in this book- and must have filed it away for 8 years until I realized my lover was killing me and really didnt love me after all. I have heard many women in and out of recovery rave about this book. Thank you to the author for being another step on my path of sobriety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Inspiring

    As a teen to late 20's dealing with alcoholism, I found this book to be written for all women who have faced an addiction. Situations were different but the feelings and challenges she faced were the same. The book is very well written, on a personal level. I felt like I knew her and we were going through it together. I found her to have a powerful spirit. I enjoyed the book very much!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Real and Bold

    This book was wonderful! I truly commend Ms. Knapp for sharing her story and for doing it so honestly. I could relate to so much of this book as alcoholism runs in my family. It was eye-opening and inspiring and I thank her for sharing her story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Thank You - Caroline Knapp!!! We all love you...

    Caroline Knapp was a truly remarkable individual with so much love to give and share. In her short time after recovering from alcohol and other issues she was working through, she gave us her love, wisdom, strength, and hope in her written word. I have never read an author that has touched my soul like Caroline has. Everyday I think about her, her life, and her legacy. Caroline, even though you are not here in the physical form, you will always be with me in the spiritual form. When I re-read sections of her books, they tend to always be fresh, alive, and as if I have never read them before. God speaks and teaches us through people. Caroline, you have given me the two most important lessons for my own alcohol and emotional recovery ¿ hope and love. I hope Caroline¿s twin sister, Dr. Rebecca Knapp, continues her sister¿s legacy by being a voice for Caroline¿s struggles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Beautiful book

    Amazing book. I am a young woman in early recovery & reading this book has been very therapeutic. So relatable, honest & smart. Knapp is now a hero of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Caroline Knapp's "Drinking: A Love Story" is an absorb

    Caroline Knapp's "Drinking: A Love Story" is an absorbing account of her own years-long experience with alcoholism. The book is engaging, whether someone has never tasted alcohol or whether someone, too, struggles with substance-dependence. I remember feeling sad when I learned Ms. Knapp passed away many years ago. So much to offer ... .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Hits Home

    A very good read, informative, honest, true.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book - 1st point of view on alcoholism

    I found Caroline's memoir about her alcoholism excellent reading. I feel like I understood alcoholism a lot more after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Reminds me of coin collecting

    This book is an amazing example of how much competition matters. Regards, psychic ntwrk and "new york"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Insightful~

    Caroline Knapp is a brilliant writer. I would recommend this book to anyone battling anything in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent

    Finishing this book is like losing a freind. Caroline was so open and honest about her experiences, I looked forward to eharing form her every day as I read the story. Having alcoholics in my family thatr I never understood drove me to buy this. I cannot say I understand them now but theremany patterns and behaviors I recognize. Great read and I thank her for sharing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Intimate and Honest

    Caroline Knapp tells the unvarnished truth about herself and her alcoholism. Let's the reader draw his own conclusions about the shortcomings of the life she led. For five years after attaining sobriety, she shared a meaningful friendship with Gail Caldwell, fellow writer,memoirist, and recovering alcoholic. Caldwell writes extensively about Knapp in her book, Let's Take the Long Way Home.

    Knapp's articulate insight and unsparing soul searching make the book one of my favorite memoirs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Great book!

    Carolien Knapp tells a story that keeps the reader glued to the pages. She takes the reader from her earlier days of moderate drinking to a gradual increase in dependency. The death of her parents sends her from a problem drinker to a highly functioning full blown alcoholic. In the process her personal life goes downhill right along with her increasing dependency on alcohol. I fell in love with Caroline. Her honesty, her insecurities, and her struggles were so well written that the reader almost feels like we are right there with her all the way through the book.

    It is tragic that she died so young from lung cancer only six short years after she wrote this fabulous, heartfelt, and honest account of her addiction and recovery from alcoholism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    D Garbage

    Nuff said!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    A great read for anyone attempting sobriety?

    I really enjoyed this book. It helped me reach 30 full days of sobriety, and any time I was feeling weak and wanting to take a drink, I picked up the book instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    If you have a love affair with liquor......

    As a recovering alcoholic this book hit home in more ways than one. I was much the same as the author...a high functioning alcoholic. It was amazing hear your story told through someone elses life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4