Customer Reviews for

Drinking: A Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Thank You

    Honest, Informative..............

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Love this book

    I just love this book. I first got it at a public library and then bought my own copy a few years later when the topic became applicable again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Bridget Jones Drinks Hardcore

    this book is just amazing. I was drawn by the title when it first came out, and I was in my own love affair with alcohol. Even as an active alcoholic, I loved the drama and story in this book- and must have filed it away for 8 years until I realized my lover was killing me and really didnt love me after all. I have heard many women in and out of recovery rave about this book. Thank you to the author for being another step on my path of sobriety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Inspiring

    As a teen to late 20's dealing with alcoholism, I found this book to be written for all women who have faced an addiction. Situations were different but the feelings and challenges she faced were the same. The book is very well written, on a personal level. I felt like I knew her and we were going through it together. I found her to have a powerful spirit. I enjoyed the book very much!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Real and Bold

    This book was wonderful! I truly commend Ms. Knapp for sharing her story and for doing it so honestly. I could relate to so much of this book as alcoholism runs in my family. It was eye-opening and inspiring and I thank her for sharing her story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Thank You - Caroline Knapp!!! We all love you...

    Caroline Knapp was a truly remarkable individual with so much love to give and share. In her short time after recovering from alcohol and other issues she was working through, she gave us her love, wisdom, strength, and hope in her written word. I have never read an author that has touched my soul like Caroline has. Everyday I think about her, her life, and her legacy. Caroline, even though you are not here in the physical form, you will always be with me in the spiritual form. When I re-read sections of her books, they tend to always be fresh, alive, and as if I have never read them before. God speaks and teaches us through people. Caroline, you have given me the two most important lessons for my own alcohol and emotional recovery ¿ hope and love. I hope Caroline¿s twin sister, Dr. Rebecca Knapp, continues her sister¿s legacy by being a voice for Caroline¿s struggles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Beautiful book

    Amazing book. I am a young woman in early recovery & reading this book has been very therapeutic. So relatable, honest & smart. Knapp is now a hero of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Caroline Knapp's "Drinking: A Love Story" is an absorb

    Caroline Knapp's "Drinking: A Love Story" is an absorbing account of her own years-long experience with alcoholism. The book is engaging, whether someone has never tasted alcohol or whether someone, too, struggles with substance-dependence. I remember feeling sad when I learned Ms. Knapp passed away many years ago. So much to offer ... .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book - 1st point of view on alcoholism

    I found Caroline's memoir about her alcoholism excellent reading. I feel like I understood alcoholism a lot more after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Reminds me of coin collecting

    This book is an amazing example of how much competition matters. Regards, psychic ntwrk and "new york"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Insightful~

    Caroline Knapp is a brilliant writer. I would recommend this book to anyone battling anything in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent

    Finishing this book is like losing a freind. Caroline was so open and honest about her experiences, I looked forward to eharing form her every day as I read the story. Having alcoholics in my family thatr I never understood drove me to buy this. I cannot say I understand them now but theremany patterns and behaviors I recognize. Great read and I thank her for sharing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Intimate and Honest

    Caroline Knapp tells the unvarnished truth about herself and her alcoholism. Let's the reader draw his own conclusions about the shortcomings of the life she led. For five years after attaining sobriety, she shared a meaningful friendship with Gail Caldwell, fellow writer,memoirist, and recovering alcoholic. Caldwell writes extensively about Knapp in her book, Let's Take the Long Way Home.

    Knapp's articulate insight and unsparing soul searching make the book one of my favorite memoirs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Great book!

    Carolien Knapp tells a story that keeps the reader glued to the pages. She takes the reader from her earlier days of moderate drinking to a gradual increase in dependency. The death of her parents sends her from a problem drinker to a highly functioning full blown alcoholic. In the process her personal life goes downhill right along with her increasing dependency on alcohol. I fell in love with Caroline. Her honesty, her insecurities, and her struggles were so well written that the reader almost feels like we are right there with her all the way through the book.

    It is tragic that she died so young from lung cancer only six short years after she wrote this fabulous, heartfelt, and honest account of her addiction and recovery from alcoholism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    If you have a love affair with liquor......

    As a recovering alcoholic this book hit home in more ways than one. I was much the same as the author...a high functioning alcoholic. It was amazing hear your story told through someone elses life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    For anyone who thinks they or someone they know has a drinking problem should read this book. It captures the true meaning of a functioning alcoholic. She tells her story in such a honest way. Easy, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Re-reading an Old Favorite

    When you are ready to take a look inside alcoholism (and really, any addiction) with compassion, to look face to face with a fellow human being whose struggles include being an addict, there is no finer description of a woman's alcoholism. Without cheap sentimentality or self-pity, there is no blame delivered or excuses made, "Drinking, A Love Story" is what it was like minute by minute, day by day both in the final months of her drinking followed by Ms. Knapp's rehab and recovery process.

    Both linear and eternally circular, the story flows like life, with flashbacks, re-interpreted conversations and events, although Ms. Knapp's courageous honesty provides a constancy while her life twists and turns in the way that addicts' lives convulse upon themselves. Peppered with wit and observations that many of us might rush by and dismiss, this book shows us the greater human in every addict and the greater hope that accompanies that stance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    Recommend this for COAs

    I am a COA(child of an alcoholic). This book helped me understand my parents' addcition a LOT better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    Chemical dependency brought to life without resuscitating the glamor of addiction.

    Her fitting some tedious details of her personal life within the matrix of alcoholism may at times trivialize the outstanding meta-message of the text. However, many of my students delight in Knapp's personal touch. This book I've read twice, now on my third reading. And in this reading I'm finding more to the narrative than I realized before. Portions of it I've read many, many times. My reason for my repeated reading is that Knapp does well to illustrate the details of social and psychological dependency happening with substance abuse. With that she reports the myths most of us have about people, the 'kind of people' who abuse substances. And because of those myths we harbor, many of us fail to see self-inflicted damage chemical abuse does. Yet there are times the reading requires a mere surveying by the reader. For the memoir approaches being her autobiography. Which is fine, but her life is really quiet, uneventful and unnoteworthy (sorry Knapp). Nowithstanding her self indulgence, her thesis, that is, to illustrate the love affair she had with alcohol (and still does, though now absent in her life), is conveyed through careful writing, always controlled at the level of the sentence, after sentence after sentence. Her sense of language does well at breathing narrative life into the relationship alcoholics have with their drug of choice. Any reader wanting a lilting text, other than the staid prose of other well meaning authors, on the topic of addiction, this book is for you. Her conscious mastery of the dimensions of both social and psychological dependency stand out of the second dimension of the page to become third dimensional in the mind of the careful reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    The best

    It's too bad that I can only give this book five stars. It deserves more. This is one of the most inspiring books on alcohol addiction I have ever read. I have read this book several times and it always helps in preventing relapse for me. I see myself on every page. Ms. Knapp's thoughts during her addiction are exactly the same thoughts that I had. Her struggles in maintaining sobriety are my struggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2