Customer Reviews for

Drinking Closer to Home: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!!!

Drinking Closer to Home by Jessica Anya Blau is a wonderful, sweet, poignant, and hilarious novel about family relationships. It's a brutally honest look at a truly dysfunctional family that takes place (in many flashbacks) from the 1970's to the early 1990's. Every c...
Drinking Closer to Home by Jessica Anya Blau is a wonderful, sweet, poignant, and hilarious novel about family relationships. It's a brutally honest look at a truly dysfunctional family that takes place (in many flashbacks) from the 1970's to the early 1990's. Every character is flawed, but they're some of the most likable, intriguing, and interesting characters that I've ever come across. I absolutely loved this book! I looked forward to each moment I could spend with this wonderful, crazy, loving family and was sad when the story came to an end. I will definitely be reading more from this author. The quality of her writing is excellent, and she sure can tell a delightful tale! I would highly recommend this book to anyone. It had me laughing, crying, and frequently saying, "What the... I can't believe they did that!" It had me rapidly turning the pages to see what would happen next.

posted by Lynda69 on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Drinking Closer to Home

Drinking Closer to Home is about one dysfunctional family, but not much different than the thousands of dysfunctional families in this nation. When their mother, Louise suffers a heart attack, her three children come back for ten days and suffer the anxiety that homecom...
Drinking Closer to Home is about one dysfunctional family, but not much different than the thousands of dysfunctional families in this nation. When their mother, Louise suffers a heart attack, her three children come back for ten days and suffer the anxiety that homecomings entice, bringing up childhood fears and secrets, and having to deal with one's siblings. Jessica Anya Blau's novel is amusing look at family and individual relationships. One must read this novel slowly, like sipping a fine wine, although it is not for everyone.

posted by grumpydan on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Spikeanon

    Truly enjoyed the complexity of the characters in this novel. Different and compelling! Am interested in reading other works by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Thats it!

    This is so irritating! Nook app needs to start reviewing the book reviews because these stupid "chat room" conversations are utterly annoying. Or at least give us a spam button. Kids go to facebook or twitter or read one of the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Fun read

    The beginning was not great, but i am glad i stuck through because overall this was a very entertaining read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Kids again.

    Why dont you kids get a life? This is annoying. Go read a real book.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great story about a very dysfunctional family that, de

    This is a great story about a very dysfunctional family that, despite its differences, are truly what I family ought to be at its bare bones. The characters and their individual stories are great and give you insight into what truly make them who they are. Jessica Anya Blau is a great writer. My only issue was that there were some terrible typos and editing issues that sometimes distracted me from the reading. Otherwise, the book is a page turner, and I can't wait to see what other stories the author comes up with. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Matt

    Yeaz

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Disgusted

    I wish I could give zero stars on this. I got to page 8, where it announces Emery's boyfriend and their plans to have a baby. I do not care to read books with gay characters or watch tv with gay characters. It is my right to chose to do so, and to also write a review stating so! I would never have paid money for this filth had I known what it contained.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Painful

    Took everything i had to finish it-save the time SKIP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book; this family. Funny & Sad all at once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Funny.... dysfunctional family... that works!

    If you think you have the only dysfunctional family..... look around! This one took is pro's and con's of it family..and made them work for them! Loved the story! make sure you read the last few pages where the author "interviews" her own family members about how they were portrayed in the story... its just as funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Boring

    Many reviews called this book "funny" or "hysterical". I have to believe that the people writing these reviews are either FB friends of the author, or they had completely normal (boring) lives. I struggled through 131 pages before deciding that it just wasn't going to get better. I loved "Running With Scissors" and laughed out loud many times while reading it. I expected something similar from this book, but I was very disappointed. I come from a highly disfunctional family and often humor is a coping mechanism. We can relate to other people who deal with situations in the same way. This has no lightness to me. It is more like reading "The Diary Of Anne Frank" but without the social significance. If you want a depressing, boring book about a messed up family to help you feel better about yours, then this is for you. If you want to share a laugh with someone who survived a completly disfunctional family because you did too...this isn't the book for you. All of the characters are sad and pathetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Love!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Disappointed

    26p into this book & i cant get into it, too many characters & plots, especially since it got great reviews

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Not horrible

    Liked the memoir feel to a fiction book. Didn't absolutly love any of the characters, but I wouldn't call it a bad read either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Actually to puppy

    Goto scarlet letter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Frustrating

    I found this very frustrating because the parenting was horrible. I kept saying - really? It was an interesting story line and the adult children, while clearly impacted by their messed up childhoods, didn't seem to be resentful. I rarely put a book down without finishing it and this was no exception but I surely started to do so several times. If you can deal with a story around an extremely dysfunctional family, maybe you can find some value. Maybe I'm just not looking at this with much insight but I read to be entertained, and this was not particularly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    This was a terrible book.

    Do not read. Terrible!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I'm intrigued

    What type person enjoys a book like this. A tome of co-dependency of an emotionally absent mother and her really screwed up children. What is entertaining about this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Not great

    Hard to follow and boring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A good reading only if you have nothing else to read.

    This book was so cheap and I had nothing to read so I decided to get and see if it was any good. Well not the case. The book is about this family that is so whacked out that it almost makes you not wanting to finish it. Anything that you can possibly imagine happens in this book. I have about 60 pages left to read and can't wait to finish it. No matter how much a book sucks I always have to finish it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4