Customer Reviews for

Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us

Average Rating 3.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

DRiVE: A must read for parents/teachers/supervisors

Excellent research backs up a great premise, that the work we do should be valuable to us on a level other than the dollar we earn. The internal values which feed our enjoyment and dedication to work are explored. In addition to showing methods for making the way we de...
Excellent research backs up a great premise, that the work we do should be valuable to us on a level other than the dollar we earn. The internal values which feed our enjoyment and dedication to work are explored. In addition to showing methods for making the way we design and develop the workplace or classroom, Mr. Pink gives people at the start or ready to change their worklife the tools to evaluate where they want to go, what they personally value and how to seek more than a paycheck.

I've recommended this book to several managers and execs I work for, and to friends who teach and coach young people.

I appreciate the Add-Ins at the end of the book, and the bibliography which allows for further reading.

posted by Strong_Right_Hand on January 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Enter "Drive." This could have been so much better.

As a consultant, I am particularly sensitive to unhelpful jargon and the creation of distinctions without a difference. Enter "Drive." This could have been so much better. As Pink presents correctly, much of the research re human motivation IS counter-intuitive to what ...
As a consultant, I am particularly sensitive to unhelpful jargon and the creation of distinctions without a difference. Enter "Drive." This could have been so much better. As Pink presents correctly, much of the research re human motivation IS counter-intuitive to what most of us tend to think is the best way to reward, incentivize or bribe people to act in beneficial ways. Unfortunately, Pink insists on creating such a tower of babble -- "motivation 3.0," "type-I," "ROE," "if/then contingent rewards," vs. "now/that rewards" -- that we see the cracks and not the solid surface.

Further, why do consultants need to frame everything as either/or (implicit / explicit) when it is in acknowledging the shadings and spectrum that broader engagement comes? This is a book for the choir and not the congregation. So far this year, I've reviewed two other books which have done a much more effective job of covering very similar terrain: Seth Godin's "Lynchpin" and Jeff Jarvis' "What would Google do?"

posted by jcrubicon on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    People don't lead people, people lead themselves!

    Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us

    My name is David Marquet, from Practicum, Inc and we help our customers structure their organizations to maximize the potential of their people. We call this leadership. When we talk with our clients one of the things we ask them is "do you need your boss to motivate you?" Very few people raise their hands. Thus, it wasn't a surprise to read in Daniel Pink's recent book, Drive, that people do not respond best to external motivation.


    Pink's book is very helpful because it clearly illuminates and explains what we've observed - that external motivation ends up feeling like manipulation and that people will do better in a structure that allows them to find their own intrinsic sources of motivation.


    What are the characteristics of those structures? Pink tells us they are structures that enable individual autonomy, mastery, and purpose. In our practice, we had been emphasizing control, competence, and connection as being important. While control parallels autonomy and mastery parallels autonomy, purpose is an element we had not singled out.


    We think Pink is right, though. Connecting your activity to a higher purpose does give people a reason beyond the immediate that seems necessary to sustain enduring loyalty to the mission. This was particularly true aboard submarines, where crews that understood how their tasks, however difficult, supported a greater goal (defending the Constitution, for example), performed better.


    Drive is a quick read and we recommend it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What DRIVE might teach us about motivating bankers to more responsible (and profitable) behavior

    There's a lot of hand wringing about what will happen to the entire economy if the financial sector is reined in:
    * Will "under paid" (therefore presumably under qualified) bankers screw up the economy?
    * Will all the good financiers move to hedge funds, leaving our big banks in the hands of a bunch of brain-dead drones willing to work for a mere 25x their average company worker's wage?
    * Is limiting banker compensation the last nail in capitalism's coffin?

    In DRIVE, Mr Pink says Motivation 1.0 centered around survival. Sometimes survival meant stealing a meal or a spouse but eventually the human species figured out that cooperation was a less painful, more humane way to conduct ourselves, and Motivation 2.0 came into being.

    Motivation 2.0 centered around punishment and reward and "it is so deeply embedded in our lives that most of us scarcely recognize that it exists."

    "Despite its greater sophistication and higher aspirations, Motivation 2.0 still wasn't exactly ennobling. It suggested that, in the end, human beings aren't much different from horses -- that the way to get us moving in the right direction is by dangling a crunchier carrot or wielding a sharper stick. But what this operating system lacked in enlightenment, it made up for in effectiveness. It worked well, extremely well. Until it didn't."

    The Seven Deadly Flaws of Carrots and Sticks:
    1. They can extinguish intrinsic motivation
    2. They can diminish performance
    3. They can crush creativity
    4. They can crowd out good behavior
    5. They can encourage cheating, shortcuts, and unethical behavior
    6. They can become addictive
    7. They can foster short-term thinking

    This is not to say that carrots and sticks are always bad. DRIVE has a chapter on circumstances where punishment and rewards work very well, thank you very much. But we're headed full gallop into Motivation 3.0, which recognizes that while people are at times profit maximizers (and therefore extrinsically driven), we are also "purpose maximizers," which means we're motivated intrinsically as well.

    Mr Pink quotes Bruno Frey, an economist at the University of Zurich says "Intrinsic motivation is of great importance for all economic activities. It is inconceivable that people are motivated solely or even mainly by external incentives."

    DRIVE lists several highly successful business people who are driven by intrinsics to achieve and even asks us to ponder whether the intrinsically-motivated Warren Buffett and Oprah Winfrey are any less economically successful than Jeff Skilling and Donald Trump (whom most would agree are Motivation 2.0 poster boys).

    For more on this topic visit: http://tamelarich.com/2010/perspective/banker-motivation/

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read, insightful

    I thought the information was very good and helpful. However I thought it was about an hour's worth of information in a five hour effort

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    I dident even read one word

    I wanna do a game find the odd man out
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$3$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$s$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$@$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$%$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$&$$$$$$$%$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$#$$$$$$$$$$$$*$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$"$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$-"$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$&$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$5###$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$%$$$$$$$$YXDFFDFDFJFFJDFHFFGHYEHDCEUHNVJVNDBFJFJXJXBCBFIQIDIFKQJEJEIFIWIDIWIWIDIWIDOWOQUWOEIWIDIQIQIQIWUEIWOWOWIIQIFHSCWYCCQIQIQPFDUBBBBBPOOIHOFWUEOOPPPXD DDDDFFVFDQDDXFFCCFWCDSSDQOJOOEOGWQJWWQKWLKGWGDWJGIGIQAOKPKOFOOPPSBOKKDJJJOIIIOIDRYHAOAVSJJJSPDLPOJFBFCBCBSVXVKXBKLBCVCVDHJXHCGFLDLLSKLKKDKDBQOWOQPWOQOQPEOWPWOEPDOSPFPQQSPAPCPQQAPAFQP VFQPQPFQWPQPQQPPVQPQPVPFPCQDPPQPQPQOQOFQJQ HHBDHIUEYWUOQPQP PEPFPDPBODPPVGKSKAJSVZSKCHFKFJCUJFHSUKJUFIFTGHJKZHKOGXKZBSJZIUIIIUULYIUYYXPOXPOUDPXPSOLUZPXPFPFIPIZIJCHGGHFHFFHGGFHFHFHFYFYFJJGMMKKLLLHKKKSMKHMFSRTDTDTEEETDTEETSTTSTDTETTDTVZHDHEJDJDHgshdjhdbHFBBHHHHHHGGGGGHHFRHGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHJJIUGHOFXGDKDDGFLFHFHGZZRXXXGJDDGJXJXJDGXGJDDTDTSJGDDGJDGGDXGJDDDDGDGGZDGDDHJDDDYDTFGDGDGDGJGDJGDUFKDGDGDDDDFYRHSJFYFGVJCHFGGGCFFVYDFHFHFHDHDFHFUDBFBCFCJHFJFBDHFHDDHCHFHCBBFHECRHCHRHRFHH

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Driven

    Interesting and quick read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Drive is motivational

    Drive was an easy read, so much so it would be easy to overlook the depth of the subject. Pink makes an excellent argument to challenge our common business approach to "motivating" people by suggesting that "management" is not natural, it is a technology, something that was invented. We aren't really motivated by the "carrot and stick" approach, at least not always in a positive sense. So what if you could make "work" into something more akin to "play"? Pink suggests there is a way, albeit not necessarily an easy way.

    I also appreciated the fact that he acknowledges that his theory probably doesn't work every where in every situation, and that when it does, it requires forethought and planning. And a lot of it.

    Drive is worth the read, if nothing else than to challenge the status quo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Pink Success

    Pink's latest work is informative and just as relevant as his other work "A Whole New Mind." Drive clearly lays out the truth of what motivates us--and what does not--and has clear implications for parents and business alike. While we can all benefit, those in managerial positions can't afford not to read this important work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating point

    I read this book and gave a presentation at work about it. We had a more lively discussion about it than we have about the other books we've talked about and everyone left, trying to figure out ways we could incorporate the knowledge into what we do. It was well-written and thought provoking, but we were having trouble figuring out how to fit some of these suggestions into our current organization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4