Customer Reviews for

Drive

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An excellent hardboiled crime thriller

Drive James Sallis Poisoned Pen, Sep 2005, $19.95 ISBN: 1590581814................................ . Los Angeles based Drive lives up to his name day and night. During the day he works in films as an action drive while at night he drives the getaway car in crimina...
Drive James Sallis Poisoned Pen, Sep 2005, $19.95 ISBN: 1590581814................................ . Los Angeles based Drive lives up to his name day and night. During the day he works in films as an action drive while at night he drives the getaway car in criminal activities. His current evening job has Drive working a heist just north of Phoenix. As he sits in the vehicle waiting for his teammates, The New Guy who cooked up the job and hired Drive, Dave Strong who aptly provides muscle, and Blanche, who offers the sexy distraction, he notices another car sitting in the nearby alley, mirroring what Drive is doing................. Shots are fired Blanche races into Drive¿s car with the money urging him to take off. Drive leaves with the other vehicle on his back he gets rid of the tail by cleverly using the police to stop the other car. However that night at the motel, the thugs from the other car arrive shooting at Drive and Blanche leaving her and the two adversaries dead Drive has a ton of money, but first must clean up the double cross if he is to use it without someone trying to murder him....................... DRIVE is a throwback tale to the Noirs of the late 1940s and 1950s starring a tough individual who steps over the legal line, but only so far until the double-cross and attempts on his life turn him into a retaliatory machine. The story line is action-packed with a strong support cast that provides a look at the support Hollywood role of a driver as well as a first class criminal tale. Fans will want to hitch a ride with James Sallis as he provides an excellent hardboiled crime thriller................ Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Skip it and see the movie

A scant 114 pages on my E-reader, this was a quirky, unsatisfying story of a young man, Driver, who dabbles in crime (he's the getaway car driver, naturally), and by day, is a car stuntman for the movies. I had difficulty keeping up with the endless cast of characters, ...
A scant 114 pages on my E-reader, this was a quirky, unsatisfying story of a young man, Driver, who dabbles in crime (he's the getaway car driver, naturally), and by day, is a car stuntman for the movies. I had difficulty keeping up with the endless cast of characters, who are thrown fast and furious at the reader without apology. Driver (why give him a back-story and no name?) is not particularly interesting, doesn't invoke any sympathy, and fails to come alive at all. This is one of the rare cases where I applaud the filmmakers for taking a sub-par book and transforming it into a story with real depth and character.

I honestly had more enjoyment and satisfaction watching the 2 minute trailer to the movie Drive than reading the entire book. I bet you will too.

posted by Indy25 on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent hardboiled crime thriller

    Drive James Sallis Poisoned Pen, Sep 2005, $19.95 ISBN: 1590581814................................ . Los Angeles based Drive lives up to his name day and night. During the day he works in films as an action drive while at night he drives the getaway car in criminal activities. His current evening job has Drive working a heist just north of Phoenix. As he sits in the vehicle waiting for his teammates, The New Guy who cooked up the job and hired Drive, Dave Strong who aptly provides muscle, and Blanche, who offers the sexy distraction, he notices another car sitting in the nearby alley, mirroring what Drive is doing................. Shots are fired Blanche races into Drive¿s car with the money urging him to take off. Drive leaves with the other vehicle on his back he gets rid of the tail by cleverly using the police to stop the other car. However that night at the motel, the thugs from the other car arrive shooting at Drive and Blanche leaving her and the two adversaries dead Drive has a ton of money, but first must clean up the double cross if he is to use it without someone trying to murder him....................... DRIVE is a throwback tale to the Noirs of the late 1940s and 1950s starring a tough individual who steps over the legal line, but only so far until the double-cross and attempts on his life turn him into a retaliatory machine. The story line is action-packed with a strong support cast that provides a look at the support Hollywood role of a driver as well as a first class criminal tale. Fans will want to hitch a ride with James Sallis as he provides an excellent hardboiled crime thriller................ Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Drive

    It would be safe to say that about 95% of the books that I have read this year were of the crime genre. Drive by James Sallis is a crime novel, a very hard-boiled one, but it is also one of the most different crime novels I have read yet. Drive is told in a very strange order in some really beautiful prose. At times, the book can be hard to follow, but it was an excellent, short read nonetheless. The first author that I thought of when I read the book was of Cormac McCarthy, whose novel, No Country for Old Men is a novel very similar to Drive. I would recommend Drive to those who want a very special twist to the crime fiction genre.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Skip it and see the movie

    A scant 114 pages on my E-reader, this was a quirky, unsatisfying story of a young man, Driver, who dabbles in crime (he's the getaway car driver, naturally), and by day, is a car stuntman for the movies. I had difficulty keeping up with the endless cast of characters, who are thrown fast and furious at the reader without apology. Driver (why give him a back-story and no name?) is not particularly interesting, doesn't invoke any sympathy, and fails to come alive at all. This is one of the rare cases where I applaud the filmmakers for taking a sub-par book and transforming it into a story with real depth and character.

    I honestly had more enjoyment and satisfaction watching the 2 minute trailer to the movie Drive than reading the entire book. I bet you will too.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    If you liked the movie, dont ruin it by reading the book

    I loved the film,one of my faviorite, but hated the book. It read like a community college creative writing class project. Save your money and buy yourself the DVD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    A let down

    This book was difficult to finish, despite how short it is. It was very difficult to follow - too many characters were introduced in short three page paragraphs, never to be heard of again. Some characters would randomly be reintroduced much later in the book after you had already forgottem about their existence. I couldn't connect with any characters. No one had motives or reasons to their actions. I'm truly amazed at how such an incredible movie was created from this stale confusing block of text. I give it one extra star because there were a couple of chapters that grabbed my attention and made me feel some type of emotion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    To those who have seen the movie, beware...

    This is one of those rare occassions where the film is actually better than the book. When i began reading this book, i had already seen the movie which i absolutely loved. So i already had expectations for what i thought the book should be like. Let me tell you now, this book is NOT like the movie.
    When i first started reading this book, i hated it. I didnt like the charatcer Driver. He was not likeable and seemed to have little to no motives for anything he did. There were characters that were introduced constantly and would never appear again. It seemed vaguely written and didnt make much sense at times. I was turned off, but i felt the need to finish it because i loved the film so much.
    I eventually came to accept that this book is nothing like the movie and i decided to stop comparing the two, it was then that i finally began to enjoy this book. When it comes down to it, its just hardboiled neon noir crime story. It isnt the romantic story of the film. I do not picture ryan gosling when i read it.
    If i read this prior seeing the movie, i probably wouldnt have liked the movie as much as i do. But im glad to see where it came from.
    Overall i suggest this book regardless if youve seen the film. Its a quick read, and it has some entertaining scenes of violence.
    But as for story telling and delivery of these characters, the film does it better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Audrey

    Youre my slave now and im ordering you to do so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Not Bad

    Not as good as the movie, but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Kiwv

    U on

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Awesome story!!!!

    Read this after I saw the movie (the movie is now one of my favs) and even thou this is a quick read it did not dissapoint! I can't wait for the sequel coming out later this year!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2