Customer Reviews for

Driven to Distraction (Revised): Recognizing and Coping with Attention Deficit Disorder

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer, a grandparent who had been searching for that window from which their ADD child/grandchild views the world

All the books written and coauthored about ADD by Dr. Hallowell and Dr. Ratey, I have found to have been very enlightening about two of my female family members who have behaviors I could never understand. I needed to understand and be able to look out of the same 'wind...
All the books written and coauthored about ADD by Dr. Hallowell and Dr. Ratey, I have found to have been very enlightening about two of my female family members who have behaviors I could never understand. I needed to understand and be able to look out of the same 'window on the world' as my ADD family members do 'out on the world' so that I could find a way that I could assist them as well as be able to communicate with them when something didn't go their way, and that they didn't understand why something didn't happen like they thought/imagined it would. These books have assist me by opening up a whole new way to see how those with ADD deal or don't deal with life realistically and although I know I don't understand everything about ADD now, I don't feel so much in the dark as I did. For me personally, my role now has been redefined as such as 'the organizer' which it has been always, but not without the anger on my part that went with it. Now I realize why much of the 'load' so-to-speak has always been there, with me, with me wondering why am I the one whose always left with the task of organizing and left with getting all those details completed which is always apparent and the norm for those with ADD needing someone to 'pick up the slack'. Thank you Doctor Hallowell and Dr. Ratey for your wealth of information because of your enlightenment, I finally understand these people with whom I love and live with and I don't have to be angry anymore...you have 'set me free' to assist these individuals 'I have two ADD family members'to work toward their potential in regards to school and what they ultimately want to do with their lives. Understanding how my role can be/must be utilized as family member, now that I have the knowledge about the behaviors of those with ADD, I can be better at doing what I do as well as do a better job when I come incontact with these behaviors and more freely encourage those members of my family to help themselves as as to faciliate their energies in a positive direction. Just to understand what is going on within the mind of an ADD person has assisted me to identify my important role in my family as the 'organizer' which has made it easier for me to make more positive contributions to these female ADD family members, which will hopefully facilitate a more positive manner that will help them obtain what they want out of life inspite of their ADD. Knowledge from these books about ADD behaviors has given me my mental 'saving grace' back and I too can be a better help to those I love with ADHD.

posted by Anonymous on May 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I prefer Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories.

Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACA...
Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories.

Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACANDY Processing Tools, that empower students for academic success. She transformed my kids into Grade A students, soI speak from experience, not hypothetical theory.

posted by rachel44 on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer, a grandparent who had been searching for that window from which their ADD child/grandchild views the world

    All the books written and coauthored about ADD by Dr. Hallowell and Dr. Ratey, I have found to have been very enlightening about two of my female family members who have behaviors I could never understand. I needed to understand and be able to look out of the same 'window on the world' as my ADD family members do 'out on the world' so that I could find a way that I could assist them as well as be able to communicate with them when something didn't go their way, and that they didn't understand why something didn't happen like they thought/imagined it would. These books have assist me by opening up a whole new way to see how those with ADD deal or don't deal with life realistically and although I know I don't understand everything about ADD now, I don't feel so much in the dark as I did. For me personally, my role now has been redefined as such as 'the organizer' which it has been always, but not without the anger on my part that went with it. Now I realize why much of the 'load' so-to-speak has always been there, with me, with me wondering why am I the one whose always left with the task of organizing and left with getting all those details completed which is always apparent and the norm for those with ADD needing someone to 'pick up the slack'. Thank you Doctor Hallowell and Dr. Ratey for your wealth of information because of your enlightenment, I finally understand these people with whom I love and live with and I don't have to be angry anymore...you have 'set me free' to assist these individuals 'I have two ADD family members'to work toward their potential in regards to school and what they ultimately want to do with their lives. Understanding how my role can be/must be utilized as family member, now that I have the knowledge about the behaviors of those with ADD, I can be better at doing what I do as well as do a better job when I come incontact with these behaviors and more freely encourage those members of my family to help themselves as as to faciliate their energies in a positive direction. Just to understand what is going on within the mind of an ADD person has assisted me to identify my important role in my family as the 'organizer' which has made it easier for me to make more positive contributions to these female ADD family members, which will hopefully facilitate a more positive manner that will help them obtain what they want out of life inspite of their ADD. Knowledge from these books about ADD behaviors has given me my mental 'saving grace' back and I too can be a better help to those I love with ADHD.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Excellent Book

    Down to earth and easy to read. This book is very informative and was eye opening to me. Read the book cover to cover in a couple of days. Took book to my doctors office and asked his opinion. ADD was confirmed after medication turned my life arround. I had been misdiagnosed for years with anxiety disorder and mild bipolar disorder. Now I am off those previous medications. I am treated with one medication and I no longer suffer symptoms that I suffered from this disorder. My life has not only changed dramatically in a positive way, but it brought such order to my life and gave me hope. I thought only children suffered with this disorder.

    I strongly recommend this book, it can answer a lot of problems people have in life including relationships, work issues, disorganization and memory.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    College student with ADD

    I first read this book in my dorm room and couldn't put it down. My whole life I had been told I had ADD, but i never knew what that really meant for me. I cried when I was finishing this book, because it told me that I am not crazy or weird. I just have ADD characteristics that I can work with and change if I don't like them. It was the first piece of literature about ADHD that I actually understood and agreed with!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Enlightening

    So many times, my husband and I have been so frustrated with our child. He has so much potenital. He wants to do well. He is GT identified and has an AMAZING mind. Why is it so hard for him to understand how his behaviors affect those around him? Why are his reactions to other people almost never the right one? Why can't he get a handle on that? Why does he get so inexplicably angry at a moments notice? Why can't he sit down and do his assignments? Why can't he go to his room and change his shirt without stopping in another room and completely forgetting what he was going to do? This book gave me an "ah-hah" moment. We now have a path to go down with our son.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    even I can pay attention to this book!

    I was diagnosed with ADD in early childhood, and have coped sometimes badly ever since. This book and others written by the authors make sense. I was able to read it from cover to cover, just not in that order, I was able to skip and bounce around, like all us ADD'ers like to do! It was also funny and informative without being dry. Great Book, Great authors, great help, I am currently in school and hope to be half as good as these men are helping the people out there with our 'gifts'. This book is all about me they just don't know my name, I'm sure you will feel the same way when you read it. It really helped me find my strenghts and use this 'disability' in positive ways.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    After all these years

    After all these years my son, now 18 has been diagnosed with ADHD. I have felt anger at the school for not cathing it, but also at the many therapists that he has seen over the years, this book describes him to a T. Now I know that all of my efforts at discipline and why it never worked had a name, ADHD. THis book is awesome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2003

    Not Alone Anymore

    My therapist recomended this book to me, which I was so surprised to read other people talk about how they were either bad with time, and how they would get so angery when they tryed to do normal tasks that most people do with out thinking twice. People with learning disability, ADD, and dislexic tend to take more time, just taking notes for ex: than others. So, hearing that for me, told me that there are people going thru the same problems as myself, like feeling ashamed. Thank you Mr. Hallowell and Mr. Ratey for writing the book and for making it so easy to read, I hope that people will get a chance to learn more from it and not be so judgemental. Tami

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    Wonderful help

    This book was suggested to me after i was told I had ADD by a doctor. I suspected it but was very reluctant to admit it. This book helped both me personally but also my fiance. With its help, not only was I able to feel normal but he was able to understand better and be more supportive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    A great 'Bible' for ADDers

    This book is a must for those who want to find out what this is all about. It's clear and complete. When I was first diagnosed, I wanted to read everything I could get my hands on...but found some books were too clinical for me. This one was perfect and ADD-friendly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Right on

    You can tell the difference when a person who knows a condition from the inside has written a book. This book is excellent. The author really uderstands the condition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I prefer Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories.

    Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACANDY Processing Tools, that empower students for academic success. She transformed my kids into Grade A students, soI speak from experience, not hypothetical theory.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Relevant, Compelling for Defining and Explaining ADD/ADHD

    The most encouraging factor about this book is that it was written by two self-diagnosed ADD patients who are also treatment professionals. The subject is handled deftly and expertly. Drug treatment is NOT touted as the only coping mechanism. The book contains many humorous and personal examples experienced by the authors. It is NOT overly clinical in its' descriptions or examination of ADD. Finally, it offers a positive view of ADD/ADHD rather than simply relating to it as a "personal flaw".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    A must-read for every teacher, parent, and ADD person!

    This book took me through the lives of people with ADD and helped me to understand myself and my students as we struggle through our day and all of the roadblocks we face! I have recommended this book to parents, teachers, and counselors, and all have walked away with a new understanding of the ADD child! OUTSTANDING!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Very helpful and full of useful information

    I just found out last week I have ADD. I don't know where I would be without this book. My therapist suggested it and I am just really glad I have it to read and understand more about ADD. I recommend this book to anyone who cares about and loves someone who has ADD. When reading this book I feel like I am not alone even though I just discovered an explaination for how I have been all these years. I feel like with reading this book everything will be okay after all and that it's not the end of the world. It gave me great confidence to change old unhealthy habits into new healthy ones that really work. Thank you Mr. Hallowell and Mr.Ratey for sharing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2000

    Eye-opening and relieving

    I read this book because my son has ADHD. In in, I discovered my own ADD (which my son's doctor suggested I might have). This book made me feel better about myself and helped me understand myself. It has also helped me understand my son. It made me laugh to see my own feelings on paper and it was re-assuring to see how professionals still have the drive and capability to succeed with this condition. Not sure if I consider it a 'condition' or just a difference in a person's make-up. But it was a great book. It's hard to put down a book when it sounds like someone wrote it about you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    This title is frightening if you have a loved one that you think may have ADD. But, I picked it up after 2 professionals recommended it to me.

    The book is very helpful in understanding what ADD is all about. The authors even seem to have this condition!

    I also recommend a follow up book by the same authors, "Delivered from Distraction" which offers more ideas to help deal with ADD.

    Excellent resources!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    An excellent book to help the entire family understand ADD

    I highly recommend this book. I was looking for something that would help my husband to understand what our son was dealing with and that he wasn't just out to make life difficult. This book is fantastic! I has helped me, my husband and our other son to recognize the causes and symptoms of ADD and the best ways to work with it. My son with ADD and I have even taken to reading the book together and it has made a world of difference for him in understanding.
    It has truly helped the entire family!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this book is so helpfull

    If you have add/hd or think you may or even trying to understand those who do this is a very funny and somwhat sad book that really tells it all! this book shows you the raw emotion involved in Add/hd. I highly recomend this book for anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Powerful Resource for ADHD Adults

    This book is well written and allows the average person to recognize and address potential ADD/ADHD concerns. Still pertinent for the current environment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Driven to Distractions

    This book I saw about ADD, finds useful for myself to learn from, however, I've made greater of improvement on my concentration skills in all settings for many years, however, I still have tough time on integrating myself from distractions at home because too many overprotections from parents, everything I'm doing. Few years, My teacher had noted that I alway uptight, anxious, and out focused, unble to focus on instructions in hand, they made me to take pills, for unnecessary reasons why.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3