BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Driving Mr. Yogi: Yogi Berra, Ron Guidry, and Baseball's Greatest Gift

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You don't have to love baseball to love this book. Driving Mr. Y

You don't have to love baseball to love this book. Driving Mr. Yogi is exceptionally written and a wonderful insight into a heartwarming friendship between two Yankee greats. I was truly touched by the humanity of this story. Mr. Araton, whose columns in the New York Ti...
You don't have to love baseball to love this book. Driving Mr. Yogi is exceptionally written and a wonderful insight into a heartwarming friendship between two Yankee greats. I was truly touched by the humanity of this story. Mr. Araton, whose columns in the New York Times are always must-reads, once again has hit one out of the park.

posted by baseballfanNK on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A disappointment

A huge disappointment. As a native new yorker and lifelong yankees fan i expected more from this book. It was just a fluff piece, witth no real insight. After the first chapter we get the picture; yes yogi and guidry have a special bond. There were no behind the scenes ...
A huge disappointment. As a native new yorker and lifelong yankees fan i expected more from this book. It was just a fluff piece, witth no real insight. After the first chapter we get the picture; yes yogi and guidry have a special bond. There were no behind the scenes or inner inside workings of what was special between them. The book was amorphous in its scope and details. It reads like a column in the new york post and should have stayed a column and not a book for $14.00.

posted by 1796627 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Driving Mr. Yogi is a wonderful book about friendship, love, loy

    Driving Mr. Yogi is a wonderful book about friendship, love, loyalty, aging, and forgiveness. By the time it’s over you know much more about two former baseball heroes than their on the field exploits. You wish you could be riding with them and sharing their camaraderie. This is much more than the average sports story. It is about life. Do not miss it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book! I grew up watching Yogi play . I also was a c

    I loved this book! I grew up watching Yogi play . I also was a catcher who was short and Yogi was my motivetion to keep playing that position. It did me good to know about all of the people, especiall Ron Guidry, who have been and are taking care of Yogi in his twilight years. The book is well written and impossible to put down once begun. Yogi is a treasure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    You don't have to love baseball to love this book. Driving Mr. Y

    You don't have to love baseball to love this book. Driving Mr. Yogi is exceptionally written and a wonderful insight into a heartwarming friendship between two Yankee greats. I was truly touched by the humanity of this story. Mr. Araton, whose columns in the New York Times are always must-reads, once again has hit one out of the park.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    We should all have someone as devoted to us as Ron Guidry is to

    We should all have someone as devoted to us as Ron Guidry is to Yogi Berra when we reach Berra's age. A lovely story and book. Recommended for all, baseball fan or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    A must read for anyone interested in the true meaning of friends

    A must read for anyone interested in the true meaning of friendship - for baseball fans and non-baseball fans alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    A disappointment

    A huge disappointment. As a native new yorker and lifelong yankees fan i expected more from this book. It was just a fluff piece, witth no real insight. After the first chapter we get the picture; yes yogi and guidry have a special bond. There were no behind the scenes or inner inside workings of what was special between them. The book was amorphous in its scope and details. It reads like a column in the new york post and should have stayed a column and not a book for $14.00.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    A Must-Read for Yankee fans and Baseball fans

    The true story about Yogi Berra's exile from the Yankees and the friendship that made his return so special. This touching story highlights why Yogi Berra is a national treasure and creates a whole new appreciation for Ron Guidry. It will also make you hungry for frog legs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    much moe Re Much more than baseball this is about friendship across generations it is about aging wonderful

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Good luck at Yogi

    A good look at the longtime relationship between Yogi and Ron Guidry. The book drags a little, though, and is about 50-75 pages too long. It was probably best as a long magazine piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Favorite book

    Great book abouf friendship

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    very good

    informative, sad in some respects, what a great career

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Just ok

    This book was vanilla. Had highhopes for this book enjoyed other books involving Yogi. Had trouble even finishing it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    G

    H

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1