BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Driving with Dead People

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Anyone, any age can relate to this book!

I thought this book was one of the best reads i have had in years. having gone to school for funeral directing and having a crazy family myself, i understood moninca's character and related on a personal level, and we are in two totally different generations. this book ...
I thought this book was one of the best reads i have had in years. having gone to school for funeral directing and having a crazy family myself, i understood moninca's character and related on a personal level, and we are in two totally different generations. this book made me laugh so much and almost brought me to tears at other times. i will be looking for other books by hollaway, after reading this one i can only imagine what her other books must be like.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sitting in the backseat with someone else's messed up family!

Eye-opening experience into the lives of a broken family. After reading the inside flap and purchasing the book based on the limited information provided, was surprised by the depth of the author's torment. She does an excellent job at drawing the reader into the nigh...
Eye-opening experience into the lives of a broken family. After reading the inside flap and purchasing the book based on the limited information provided, was surprised by the depth of the author's torment. She does an excellent job at drawing the reader into the nightmare that was her past. It's a must read for anybody who thinks they came from a dysfunctional family.

posted by SlowreaderSA on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great, but sad story. Hard to put down.

    I thought this book was easy to read. I felt as though I was in the room with Ms. Holloway and she was just telling me her story. When you have a rough childhood and an equally difficult adult life, it takes great courage to tell your story. Perhaps even greater courage to admit it was hard to handle. My favorite parts of the book were when Ms Holloway and Julie were at the Funeral Home.<BR/>I agree with the last reviewer who compared this book to The Glass Castle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Good Book

    This was a very fast read, and quite a good book, I enjoyed reading the struggles and the revelations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Humorous Title Belies a Dark Theme

    Seeing the title of this book and reading the jacket, I was prepared for some light reading and humorous accounts of a young girl who got to ride in hearses with her father.
    As one gets into the story, one discovers that this true story is really a heartrending tale of a too familiar account of childhood abuse. The author conveys with grit and humor how she was able to escape her family and come out triumphantly on the other side.
    Shame on me, I bought the book for other reasons. This becomes more and more a dark tale and left me feeling emotionally heavy.
    Not for those who just want a little book for summer relaxation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    This book left some thoughts and images with me that have refused to leave....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    A good read

    The author with her sense of humor, made a tough childhood quite interesting and amusing! She really had me laughing at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is for anyone who's ever had it rough...

    This book reminded me so much of my childhood, it was scary. I was glad to get someone else's perspective on an all-too-common family dynamic - someone who is clearly more enlightened that myself. This is a very good read, and a very quick read. I wish that all the members of a dysfunctional family would read this book at the same time; maybe it would spark a discussion which could repair some of the damage done in these environments. Although, I suppose one of the symptoms of this dysfunction (and what keeps the cycle of dysfunction going for generations) is silence.

    Sorry, tangent. Great read, definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Not what I expected... in a good way!

    This book I just bought on a whim... it was interesting and I loved it! it had a twist I didn't expect. I've already recommended it to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Engrossing Read

    I really enjoyed this book. It was an easy read, unable to put it down. It did have a certain level of depressing events, but the events draw you in and make you want to know what happens to the author. A great memoire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Made you feel for the character

    I enjoyed reading this book. You couldn't help but feel sorry for her and her family. All the children were emotional, physically and sexual abused. This causing a harder life for them as adults. They all needed to be loved. Even the parents needed to be loved. I would recommend reading this book. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Wonderful and Touching

    A touching story that will let you into the emotional life of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    love it

    i love this book and could not put it down. i read it in 3 days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Recommended

    Good reading, but such a sad story. I wonder if it's only loosely based on her life. (Is anyone out there just as disgusted as I am that memoirs are losing their appeal? This is due to authors writing untruthful memoirs! I'm referring to A Million Little Pieces and Running with Scissors, both of which the authors admitted to fictionalizing their life stories. It's so disappointing, and yet I have a feeling there are plenty more 'memoirs' out there that are not honest.) Perhaps Driving with Dead People is yet another fictionalized account of a person's life. In some respects, I hope so, as the author lived a sad life. :( Good read. Would recommend it, and hope that it's really a true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2