Customer Reviews for

Drop

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Berryshine

    Nice. Read my stories, the links are at ish result eight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Nightmare Rarity chapter 9

    Rainbow hit the ceiling, sending rocks tumbling down. One hit Fluttershy, the only pony not fast enough to dodge. The rock broke her wing, making her cry out in pain. Suddenly Nightmare Rarity flinched, and she was normal, but with the wings. Everypony gasped as she plucked Rainbow out of the ceiling and fixed Fluttershys wing. Spike ran up and gave her a hug. She gave him a teary smile. But soon she backed away from everypony." Run...." she whispered." But Rarity-" Spike started." Run!" She screamed, falling to the ground. Everypony ran. Twilight had to drag Spike away." No, Rarity!" He cried. Soon they arraived to their home. Everything was still being rebuilt. They hadnt gotten far, so they slept in the remains of their homes. The next few days were harsh. Spike refused to talk to anypony, for his greif was almost too much for him. He mainly stayed in a little dark hole in the rubble. He didnt eat, sleep, or talk. Fluttershy was often found weeping under a tree, her animal friends trying to calm her. Pinkies hair remaind flat. Twilight had a tough time, with all these grief and sadness. Even Rainbow cried. <p> meanwhile... <p> Nightmare Rarity paced around her cave. How could they have gotten away? Well, she'd get them for this! They would pay! Then she flapped her wings and headed high into the sky, a wicked plan forming in her head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    A fluid use of jazzy prose and intellgent language

    If Coltrane or early Miles were writers, their prose would flow similar to Johnson's. His tasteful use of words paints realistic, satirical, fresh views of everyday life. He makes sitting on a couch seem profound and colorful. At times, I felt like Johnson has gone though my e-mails and memoirs to create his characters.At times, his style of prose riffs so far in poetic strokes he loses the true content of his narrative, leaving the reader to wonder what is literally or figurative. The ending is borderline contrived but surprising.This book made me feel less offset by and more trusting of strangers and those in the urban community. I felt hopeful and humbled after reading this piece. This book showed how brotherhood can still exist and a human spirit can grow despite shortcomings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Couldn't Drop It

    From the opening line ("Me: thirty-one years old..."), I felt like Mat Johnson had found my personal journal and passed it off as his first novel. "Drop" is nothing short of art, and anyone who appreciates art or calls themselves an artist is doing themselves a terrible injustice if they don't read this slender yet substantial tome. The main charecter is a man at odds with the hand he's drawn from life, but still maintains shreds of dignity, conscience, and an unwavering ambition to elevate beyond his circumstances. When his dream comes true, he doesn't arise from bed...until he's unceremoniously dumped to the hard floor. An unforgettable story presented by a voice that will surely become one of Generation X's most prominent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Finally

    'Drop' Appears to be the book I've been searching for. Gripping from page one, I've been able to feel the struggle, and vindication, happiness, sadness, and sarcasm of the character through Johnsons use of raw and frank language. I am anxiously awaiting the next book by this very talented author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    An Urban Intellectual

    Drop had me at page one! I have hungered for this kind of language in contemporary novels. There were pages where I laughed out loud and felt compelled to share with others around me. Johnson is quite talented. If this is his debut, I will race to read his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    Not til the middle

    It was hard for me to get into this book. I didn't get into it til the middle. The writing style was pretty good. All in all the book was pretty good. You just gotta be ready to get into becuase it won't happen right away.. so take your time and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    A new author who writes like a vetaran

    Chris Jones was a boy in the hood who became a man when he decided to chase his dream in London. His boss David is an older version of himself. Through meeting David and seeing his very own reflection, Chris started to grow as a person. This book packed with humorous descriptions, and knowledge of self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2000

    Beautiful writing, but the storytelling...

    Beautiful style of writing that touches the emotions many of us feel. However, as brilliant as Mr. Johnson's prose is, the story in Drop left me feeling empty and frustrated. While I understood the poetic nature of the plot, it was delivered unevenly and unrealistically. And, there had to be a better way for the author to illustrate his hero's ultimate realization than the contrived and 'convenient' final scene. Read it if you must, but do so for the remarkable use of language, and not the disappointing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    The right voice

    I find a book compelling if it has a unique voicing. There are two voices that attract me. The voice in the prose or the one in the story telling. In the case of 'Drop' Mat has found both voices. The story keeps you moving forward and the phrasing is like jazz - it surprises you and makes you think about the phrasing. He keeps Chris, the main character, from becoming frustrating or irritating and keeps him believable through to the completion. I really liked this book and will re-read it in a few months. Something I seldom do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Drop

    Funny without being slapstick and touching just when you thought you'd get away scot free. I think Mat Johnson has created the first stone in what will be a terribly fascinating and admirable monument.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    Drop

    Hank runs all over the place. He makes it up and then finds the right way back again. It gets a lot of the mess right out of your pants. This isn't more of the same, but like a lot of good books it is better. Make sure it hasn't found a way to get off the map. Happily yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    Drop

    I'd like qualify the title of my review because people will think I'm being insulting, in fact, it is a high compliment. Like Stephen King (before he started trying too damn hard to be 'literary') Mat Johnson knows how to tell a story. Things begin and they end. This is no small feat in a literary novel. His language avoids being overly proud of itself, it is direct, fluent and musical without being smug. I find his humor top shelf and almost without peer among younger writers. He's not of that hipster school of humor that is not really humor, merely self-conscious poses to avoid sincerity. Johnson is sincere and heartbreaking at times, he wants to feel emotion and wants you to as well. He cares. He writes well. He's done something worthwhile and adventurous. He is a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1