Customer Reviews for

The Drop (Harry Bosch Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Please Do Not Force Harry to Retire!

This is another excellent book about Harry Bosch, my favorite LAPD homicide investigator. The title of the book may throw the reader off though.
The DROP in this book refers to the Deferred Retirement Option Program of the LAPD. Harry is still working in the Unsolved...
This is another excellent book about Harry Bosch, my favorite LAPD homicide investigator. The title of the book may throw the reader off though.
The DROP in this book refers to the Deferred Retirement Option Program of the LAPD. Harry is still working in the Unsolved Cases unit and is at the mandatory retirement age and had put in for a DROP. Through it is not the focal point of the story, it does tie in to Harry's mindset throughout the book.
Harry and his partner Chu get assigned to a cold case of a woman who was murdered several years prior. The DNA evidence on the case points to Clayton, Pell a convicted sex-offender. This would be a slam dunk except that when the crime happened, Pell was only eight years old.
Before Harry can investigate further he is told from the people upstairs (his former partner Kiz Rider) that he must drop everything and devote his entire effort to investigating the apparent suicide of a councilman's son. This brings up an issue for Harry. Firstly, he does not like the councilman at all and is anxious to investigate the other case. He is told that the councilman's son is crucial because the councilman is responsible for department budget cuts and handling this case could help the LAPD get some of their funding back.
Of course Harry will do things his way and will find ways to bypass instructions and work on both cases at once. At times through the book Harry's actions will alienate those around him, especially his partner Chu and his new love interest (a social worker helping Clayton Pell). The book never gets boring and Harry's relentless and methodical pursuit to get to the truth is prevalent throughout. Even his daughter Madeline seems to pitch in for some good advice and could play a bigger role in future books to come.
I give the book four stars and would have rated it higher except that I felt a little uncomfortable with Harry pursuing a relationship with the social worker for Clayton Pell.

posted by Kataman1 on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Ripoff

14.99 for an ebook is outrageous. Don't buy and maybe they will get the message!!!

posted by maxwelldr on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 463 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Please Do Not Force Harry to Retire!

    This is another excellent book about Harry Bosch, my favorite LAPD homicide investigator. The title of the book may throw the reader off though.
    The DROP in this book refers to the Deferred Retirement Option Program of the LAPD. Harry is still working in the Unsolved Cases unit and is at the mandatory retirement age and had put in for a DROP. Through it is not the focal point of the story, it does tie in to Harry's mindset throughout the book.
    Harry and his partner Chu get assigned to a cold case of a woman who was murdered several years prior. The DNA evidence on the case points to Clayton, Pell a convicted sex-offender. This would be a slam dunk except that when the crime happened, Pell was only eight years old.
    Before Harry can investigate further he is told from the people upstairs (his former partner Kiz Rider) that he must drop everything and devote his entire effort to investigating the apparent suicide of a councilman's son. This brings up an issue for Harry. Firstly, he does not like the councilman at all and is anxious to investigate the other case. He is told that the councilman's son is crucial because the councilman is responsible for department budget cuts and handling this case could help the LAPD get some of their funding back.
    Of course Harry will do things his way and will find ways to bypass instructions and work on both cases at once. At times through the book Harry's actions will alienate those around him, especially his partner Chu and his new love interest (a social worker helping Clayton Pell). The book never gets boring and Harry's relentless and methodical pursuit to get to the truth is prevalent throughout. Even his daughter Madeline seems to pitch in for some good advice and could play a bigger role in future books to come.
    I give the book four stars and would have rated it higher except that I felt a little uncomfortable with Harry pursuing a relationship with the social worker for Clayton Pell.

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Loved this book. Bought it yesterday, finished it today. Great Read!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Can't Wait!

    Sounds like Harry will have his hands full in this one. Already pre-ordered, and yes 14.99 is a reasonable price for the book. Connelly will always keep you turning pages and with Bosch involved it will be a wild ride.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is nothing uncomplicated when politics are involved?

    Detective Harry Bosch has the opportunity to continue his work in the Open/Unsolved Unit with his extension to stay on approved. Harry has been working the cold cases long enough to get have a rhythm down so that he gets the work done and still be home for dinner with his daughter. Doing his best to be a good detective and great father is a tightrope but Harry is a man always up for a challenge, even with a teenage daughter.

    On this particular cold case assignment day, he draws a case from twenty-two years ago with trace evidence that is a complete dead end. The blood on the body is from an eight year-old boy, with no conceivable way to have committed this crime. The questions becomes how did his blood get on her body, was he an additional victim, or a witness? Just as Harry is ready to begin his hunt, another person stops him to ask for help. His nemesis and former police office Irving Irvin wants Harry to investigate his son's death quickly and quietly. Harry stands for everyone including the son of his enemy, but he won't be anyone's political pawn.

    What Irving really wants is as clear as mud but Harry has seen all this man's tricks, or he thinks he does and knows better than to follow the road Irving is laying out for him. With each bit of evidence or rock turned over the pieces are not coming back into place correctly as if someone else is putting the puzzle together and Harry is just watching as it happens. There are so many unanswered questions about what is going on and no one is telling the full truth.

    At the same time, Harry is trying to solve the cold case and bring justice to the poor woman who was brutally murdered. The single case blows up with scenarios going in every direction where the prey may have become the predator. When emotions, past transgressions, and even people are hidden in plain sight the final confrontation is going to be explosive.

    Michael Connelly is incapable of writing a less than perfect book and The Drop is a complete grand slam that engages readers from page one. You think you know what is going on; you follow the trail of evidence along with Harry and then take you somewhere you never could have expected and terrified once you get there.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Bosch With A Softer, Gentler Side

    The Drop by Michael Connelly Harry Bosch is back and stiff neck as usual. Once again this lone ranger rides against both crime and politics. Harry Bosch has a slogan everybody counts or nobody counts. His personal code of ethics once again gets him into trouble. You have to admire the integrity that this man exhibits. Harry finds himself playing a political game in spite of his adverse reaction to anything political. Harry shows some surprising soft sides such as his feelings for his daughter and his willingness to be more flexible in relationships with others. Once again Connelly writes a fast moving, entertaining and sometimes horrific story. I recommend it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great read!

    I am an avid Michael Connelly reader, but did not think some of his recent books were good. This one however kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time! He keeps it interesting by intertwining two cases into one book. I would definitely say this book and the Fifth Witness are much better reads than previous books.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    THE DROP

    THE DROP is fast moving and exciting, about a likable detective who is not above breaking a few minor rules to get to the truth of the matter. The dialogue is a bit gritty and to the point, the humor is on the dark side and is often crude but I guarantee you will not lose interest.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    A great read

    This is a well-written book, I would say. It grabbed my attention right from the opening chapter. It is the best novel I have read in months in the mystery genre, with true to life characters, a plot to kill for and a brilliant presentation of the story through the right mix of dialogue and narration. The convergent of the plot from multiple angles reminds me of the thriller Triple agent Double Cross. The amazing thing about this novel is the unique insight Connelly provided on solving cases that makes this book not only a page-turner, but also a guide on crime solving.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Harry Bosch is back!

    This book looks amazing. I read the excerpt and it rocks. Harry battling Irvin Irving again--can't wait.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Harry is the Best!

    I can always count on Michael Connelly to create great stories, and characters, for 100% entertainment! I could not put this book down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Fair

    This was a hard book for me to get through. I found the plot slow & boring.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Hoped for more

    The auhor has taken to writing Bosch as too much of a dick. Good mysteries to unravel but following Bosch's antics were tedious.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    What a disappointment

    For me, this Harry Bosch novel didn't ring true from page 1. It lacked the sharp writing, character depth, and storyline development I've come to expect from this series. Connelly did not give this one his all, not by a longshot.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Drop is a Great Read

    Harry is officially on the DROP; Deferred Retirement Option Program when he gets assigned two seperate murders to solve. The first case involves the rape and death of a teenage girl where DNA found on the girl is that of the rapist but was he really only 8 years old at the time!? The second case involves the death of a city official that either jumped or was thrown from a hotel balcony. The Drop is a very good read. The characters feel real and relateable. Connelly builds suspense throughout the book and neither plotline is predictable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A Bit Disappointed...

    As an avid Michael Connelly fan I felt this book failed to live up to what I've come to anticipate. Still a nice read but not as meaty and page turning as earlier works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Connelly does it Again-Highly Reccomended

    Harry Bosch is flawed but underneath it all,humane and thats what makes this character so addicting and interesting. As Harry is misdirected, so is the reader through the first half of the book ... but then the fireworks start and we have a slam bang conclusion. Michael also is astute in describing realisticly the inner workings and politics of A big city police department, some of which is disturbing. Hated to see the book end as it will be a waiting period till the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great book

    Ranks with his best ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book! I have been a Michael Connelly fan f

    I really enjoyed this book! I have been a Michael Connelly fan for a while, however, the endings of his Harry Bosch stories were beginning to become predictable, to me, and his last Bosch novel 9 Dragons was very disappointing. However, The Drop was a great read from the beginning to the end. It flowed well, the plot was not predictable, and there were some unexpected turn of events and a great ending. I read Connelly's novels in chronological order, so, I really enjoy the character development over the series and how characters and storylines from past novels intertwine and are built upon with each new book. So, this novel gets two thumbs up from me!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Classic Bosch

    Bosch takes on two cases: a cold case with a dna hit linking an 8 year old boy to a murder-rape and the death of councilman Irvin Irving's son.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    A guud read for Harry Bosch fans.

    Over the years I have read every Harry Bosch mystery. He should stick around for a few more years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 463 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24