Customer Reviews for

Drop Shot (Myron Bolitar Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another fantastic book in Coben's Myron Bolitar series!

The novel Drop Shot, by Harlan Coben was an action-packed page-turner. Coben's sense of humor was present throughout the story as he portrayed protaganist Myron Bolitar, who, with best friend and partner in crime Windsor Horne Lockwood III, attempts to solve another mys...
The novel Drop Shot, by Harlan Coben was an action-packed page-turner. Coben's sense of humor was present throughout the story as he portrayed protaganist Myron Bolitar, who, with best friend and partner in crime Windsor Horne Lockwood III, attempts to solve another mystery. In this story, Bolitar leads the reader through an adventurous search for the murderer of former female tennis star Valerie Simpson. Through many twists and turns, the reader is lead back to a six-year old murder case involving a senator's son, which connects to the recent catastrophe. Will Bolitar find the answer to the mystery, or will he fall victim to the intimidation of the mob, who play an important role in the murder case? Drop Shot keeps the readers eyes glued to the page, as mine were this summer. Highly recommended.

posted by AdamLehner4 on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid shot!

This second installment in the Myron Bolitar series is another solid entry, though not as riveting as the first book. Myron's dry wit makes the story more interesting and continues to be the draw for me.

I didn't think Win could get scarier but he pulls out the stop...
This second installment in the Myron Bolitar series is another solid entry, though not as riveting as the first book. Myron's dry wit makes the story more interesting and continues to be the draw for me.

I didn't think Win could get scarier but he pulls out the stops in this story. There are some tense moments but for the most part, this was more of a puzzler than suspense. There were several subplots that converged at the end, which kept my interest level high. I was able to figure out most of the main plot but admit I was caught off guard with one of the other diversions.

I'm hooked on Myron and this series and will be continuing. My rating for this story is 3.5 stars.

posted by Ejaygirl on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Solid shot!

    This second installment in the Myron Bolitar series is another solid entry, though not as riveting as the first book. Myron's dry wit makes the story more interesting and continues to be the draw for me.

    I didn't think Win could get scarier but he pulls out the stops in this story. There are some tense moments but for the most part, this was more of a puzzler than suspense. There were several subplots that converged at the end, which kept my interest level high. I was able to figure out most of the main plot but admit I was caught off guard with one of the other diversions.

    I'm hooked on Myron and this series and will be continuing. My rating for this story is 3.5 stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Another fantastic book in Coben's Myron Bolitar series!

    The novel Drop Shot, by Harlan Coben was an action-packed page-turner. Coben's sense of humor was present throughout the story as he portrayed protaganist Myron Bolitar, who, with best friend and partner in crime Windsor Horne Lockwood III, attempts to solve another mystery. In this story, Bolitar leads the reader through an adventurous search for the murderer of former female tennis star Valerie Simpson. Through many twists and turns, the reader is lead back to a six-year old murder case involving a senator's son, which connects to the recent catastrophe. Will Bolitar find the answer to the mystery, or will he fall victim to the intimidation of the mob, who play an important role in the murder case? Drop Shot keeps the readers eyes glued to the page, as mine were this summer. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Very good

    Highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Development of Fun Character

    The second in the Bolitar series continues with the development of the lead character, as well as his cohorts Win and Esperanza. Good story telling by Coben, well-crafted intrigue and twists and turns, and participants who jump off the pages. I'm not new to Coben, but am new to the Bolitar series - will definitely keep reading them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Nightmare Rarity chapter 2

    Rarity close her eyes and thought hard." Its true. They have been ignoring me lately." She admitted. The voices laughed."See, Rarity? We are right, as always. Take our advice, or you will regret it." A voice from the Fog. Rarity had a feeling she should listen closely." Whats your advice?" She said, looking into one of the eerie glowing eyes." Show them your best. Show them you have POWER!" The voice crowed. A strange feeling crept through Rarity." Yes, i'll show them. I'll show them all!" She called, her voice echoing through the Everfree Forest. The voices muttered their approvement." Yes yes, very good, my dear Rarity. Show them!" Suddenly the feeling inside Rarity became stronger. It was the same feeling she had gotten when Discord hypnotized her.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Good Story; Foul Language

    My first encounter with Coben's writing was his most recent book, Six Years. It was excelleent prompting me to follow up with Drop Shot. The story line in the latter is also well developed and written. But the abundance of foul language is disturbing. So much so that I will not read another book by this author. Other readers may not be disturbed by vulgarity, but as a Christian I am offended by it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    The second book in the Myron Bolitar series, "Drop Shot&quo

    The second book in the Myron Bolitar series, "Drop Shot" tops the first book with excellent built-up and a satisfying twist.  At this point, author Harlan Coben's writing skills were clearly reaching a point of excellence, though, like the first in the series, "Deal Breaker", some of the dialogue is a little too cheesy for me.  However, he also improved in this area, with the beginning of Chapter 42 in a part between Bolitar and girlfriend, Jessica ("I work fast", and her "And yet I never complain" retort) is brief, shows the chemistry between the two, and avoids feeling gratuitous.  A great read, and I'm glad I re-read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Hb

    I dont know about this Harlin Cobin. His stories are childish and boring. You do want to get to the end, to know who the killer is, but if thats the only reason to try and finish a book, it must be a pretty sad book. Btw It was mom.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Great read!

    Really enjoyed the second book of the series. Lots of plot twists and turns that keeps the pages turning. Actually glad that I had "ran out of books" from the usual authors that I had been reading. It gave me an opportunity to try out another author and I am so glad that I have found Harlan Coben!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good read

    The second book in the series is great! Its awesome to continue to see the characters grow. I definitely will continue the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Scent marker

    Barclan territory

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Scent marker

    Barkclan territory~orangestar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Interesting

    Good Murder, Mystery book. Light reading, but keeps you wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    A solid whodunit

    If you're a Myron Bolitar fan, you'll love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    :D

    Currently reading this book and I love the series. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series

    This series is great. It does tend to get darker as they go along but the writing is good. The characters are well developed and the plot is not to predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Harlan Coben Rules!

    Having caught up with all my favorite authors' latest, I decided to take on a new author, Harlan Coben. WOW! Following the Myron Bolitar series takes action and suspense to a new level. Just when you think you have figured out "who dunnit", Mr. Coben throws in a new twist. Easy and fast read. I recommend starting with the first in the Bolitar series. The writing is a bit rough early on, but improves with each in the series. A mystery reader must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Good relaxing read

    Good story and characters with great interaction between the characters and great dialogue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Great airplane book

    This series is my favorite for reading on airplanes and in airports. It's a book that you can carry around and get distracted from then easily pick up where you left off. The main characters, Myron and his weird friends, are funny and entertaining. The only complaint I have is that the author makes things a bit too convoluted late in the book. I sometimes get bored and have to scan the last couple of chapters. A fast fun read always.

    This particular book was not as good as the other Myron books - the whole idea of it strained my ability to suspend disbelief. The premise was a top seed tennis player is really a boy involved in a murder a number of years before. But I still finished it and enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Timely!

    Myron Bolitar wins again! This time in the world of tennis...but there's a surprise character ending in this novel.

    As always...Harlan Coben has another winner, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8