BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Drop Shot (Myron Bolitar Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another fantastic book in Coben's Myron Bolitar series!

The novel Drop Shot, by Harlan Coben was an action-packed page-turner. Coben's sense of humor was present throughout the story as he portrayed protaganist Myron Bolitar, who, with best friend and partner in crime Windsor Horne Lockwood III, attempts to solve another mys...
The novel Drop Shot, by Harlan Coben was an action-packed page-turner. Coben's sense of humor was present throughout the story as he portrayed protaganist Myron Bolitar, who, with best friend and partner in crime Windsor Horne Lockwood III, attempts to solve another mystery. In this story, Bolitar leads the reader through an adventurous search for the murderer of former female tennis star Valerie Simpson. Through many twists and turns, the reader is lead back to a six-year old murder case involving a senator's son, which connects to the recent catastrophe. Will Bolitar find the answer to the mystery, or will he fall victim to the intimidation of the mob, who play an important role in the murder case? Drop Shot keeps the readers eyes glued to the page, as mine were this summer. Highly recommended.

posted by AdamLehner4 on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid shot!

This second installment in the Myron Bolitar series is another solid entry, though not as riveting as the first book. Myron's dry wit makes the story more interesting and continues to be the draw for me.

I didn't think Win could get scarier but he pulls out the stop...
This second installment in the Myron Bolitar series is another solid entry, though not as riveting as the first book. Myron's dry wit makes the story more interesting and continues to be the draw for me.

I didn't think Win could get scarier but he pulls out the stops in this story. There are some tense moments but for the most part, this was more of a puzzler than suspense. There were several subplots that converged at the end, which kept my interest level high. I was able to figure out most of the main plot but admit I was caught off guard with one of the other diversions.

I'm hooked on Myron and this series and will be continuing. My rating for this story is 3.5 stars.

posted by Ejaygirl on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Another fantastic book in Coben's Myron Bolitar series!

    The novel Drop Shot, by Harlan Coben was an action-packed page-turner. Coben's sense of humor was present throughout the story as he portrayed protaganist Myron Bolitar, who, with best friend and partner in crime Windsor Horne Lockwood III, attempts to solve another mystery. In this story, Bolitar leads the reader through an adventurous search for the murderer of former female tennis star Valerie Simpson. Through many twists and turns, the reader is lead back to a six-year old murder case involving a senator's son, which connects to the recent catastrophe. Will Bolitar find the answer to the mystery, or will he fall victim to the intimidation of the mob, who play an important role in the murder case? Drop Shot keeps the readers eyes glued to the page, as mine were this summer. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Very good

    Highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Nightmare Rarity chapter 2

    Rarity close her eyes and thought hard." Its true. They have been ignoring me lately." She admitted. The voices laughed."See, Rarity? We are right, as always. Take our advice, or you will regret it." A voice from the Fog. Rarity had a feeling she should listen closely." Whats your advice?" She said, looking into one of the eerie glowing eyes." Show them your best. Show them you have POWER!" The voice crowed. A strange feeling crept through Rarity." Yes, i'll show them. I'll show them all!" She called, her voice echoing through the Everfree Forest. The voices muttered their approvement." Yes yes, very good, my dear Rarity. Show them!" Suddenly the feeling inside Rarity became stronger. It was the same feeling she had gotten when Discord hypnotized her.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Scent marker

    Barclan territory

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Scent marker

    Barkclan territory~orangestar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    :D

    Currently reading this book and I love the series. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Harlan Coben Rules!

    Having caught up with all my favorite authors' latest, I decided to take on a new author, Harlan Coben. WOW! Following the Myron Bolitar series takes action and suspense to a new level. Just when you think you have figured out "who dunnit", Mr. Coben throws in a new twist. Easy and fast read. I recommend starting with the first in the Bolitar series. The writing is a bit rough early on, but improves with each in the series. A mystery reader must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Good relaxing read

    Good story and characters with great interaction between the characters and great dialogue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Timely!

    Myron Bolitar wins again! This time in the world of tennis...but there's a surprise character ending in this novel.

    As always...Harlan Coben has another winner, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Greatest Book I've Read in Years!

    I first became addicted to the Myron Bolitar series when I picked up the first book at random. The first was great, but this one is amazingly beyond believably great! The plot was engaging and the thing that most likely keeps you hooked is Myron's friend, Win's sociopathic behavior that's hilarious and entertaining to the max!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome book

    page turner couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Great change of pace from traditional English mysteries

    I discovered Harlan Coben after seeing the French film "Tell No One". I learned he is an American writer. I wanted something a little different. His novels are page turners--thrilling, can't figure the ending. Just what I wanted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't go wrong with Harlan Coben

    As with all of his books, this was a great, easy read. You never know until the end with Harlan Coben's books what the story is, which keeps you going and going until you just can't stay awake any longer. Great Book! Not one you will want to let out of your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Coben serves big.

    This thriller by Harlan Coban brings chills down your spine. It starts of with the spotlight of Phenom tennis player Duane Richwood. As Duane's in the heat of battle at the U.S Open gun shots go off. Myron Bolitar, popular agent of Richwood runs out to see what is going on. Myron gets closer and realizes that Valerie Simpson, another player for Bolitar has been killed. After this incident, the mystery begins. Myron switches from the role of agent to detective in the rest of the book. Bolitar trys to find the pieces to this long puzzle and he has an idea of who killed this prodigy. He has some suspects one being the Senators son who was also recently shot. Valerie recently went out with. The second suspect being a guy who has stalked Valerie for a while leaving her phone calls. As the cops searched Valeries personal belongings they find Duane's name in her phone book and caller id. Myron gets Duane out of the picture quickly after this happens. The mystery continues and the cops want Myron to back off, but he insists that he continues. I enjoyed this book a lot because it made me not want to put the book down as the mystery was so intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine investigative sports tale

    Twenty-four year old former tennis star Valerie Simpson is mounting a comeback and hires Myron Bolitar as her sports agent. Myron knows he has his work cut out for him because Valerie¿s negative image is etched in every American¿s mind, not just sports fans as six years earlier her fiancé was murdered. The agent looks forward to the assignment especially since another client is the best young American male prospect, Duane Richwood. Both are entered in the US Open with strong chances of winning. --- However, while Duane was playing a match, someone shoots and kills Valerie in the nearby food court. NYPD suspects Duane even with his alibi. Although he knows her death is a DEAL BREAKER Myron is upset to learn Valerie was frantically trying to contact him before she was murdered. Wanting to prove his other tennis client he is innocent and feeling he owes Valerie, Myron along with his pal Win Lockwood investigate. When the police announce the case closed by arresting a stalker, Myron believes the cops just want to shut up the brass, media and the public as a killing at Forest Hills during the US Open is not good for the city¿s image. He continues his inquiries although others demand he FADE AWAY from the case if he wants to avoid the BACK SPIN reactions of those who are satisfied that what started six years ago has gone THE FINAL DETAIL. --- Myron is at his best with his amusing asides especially about his flaws. It makes for a fine investigative tale that takes him as far south as Philadelphia freedom. The story line is like a Grand Slam final between superstars as he and Win hope to ace the opposition. Although his girlfriend is a stereotypical throwaway used to make the hero seem even more caring, fans will appreciate this five set championship sports thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Superbly suspenseful

    Can you believe someone was shot down at the Tennis US Open and nobody saw anything? This is what happened to Valerie Simpson in the book Drop Shot by Harlan Coben. Valerie ran into some trouble and called her agent Myron Bolitar several times to get help. Myron was to busy and never got a chance to call her back. He felt guilty of what happened to Valerie and took it upon himself to solve the crime. During this process, he interviewed people and followed them to find out if they were telling the truth. While he was doing this he ran into some bad people and almost got shot down too. At the same time Myron was solving the crime, he was also watching another client of his, Duane Richwood. Duane is a young tennis player who is so good he is playing in the US Open. When Duane was younger he went to a tennis camp with Valerie and they played a couple of matches together. This book was very suspenseful. It kept me wanting to keep on reading to find out who the killer was. In the end Harlan Coben reveals this to us. I would recommend this book to anyone you likes to read mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    COMPELLING MIXTURE OF MIRTH AND MAYHEM

    Do believe that Jonathan Marosz has narrated all of Harlan Coben's novels featuring Myron Bolitar - lucky for us! Just as Coben's hero is quick with repartee Marosz is quick to capture the personality Coben has created. This voice performer manages to mix mirth with mayhem and render a highly listenable story. His reading is smooth, precise, very easy on the ears. As many will recall Bolitar is a man of much experience - a former attorney, basketball star, and now a sports agent. The setting for Drop Shot is the U.S. Open, and the score is most definitely not love. Valerie Simpson, once a promising tennis player is ready to return to the courts, and she wants Bolitar to represent her. He already has one client, Duane Richwood, a young man who looks like he may come away with a grand slam. That is until Valerie is found murdered and Duane is high on the suspect list. Of course, Bolitar begins to investigate Valerie's death in order to clear his client - not too tough as Duane was on the court when she was killed. Soon, a man who was seen with her shortly before her death is arrested. But, you know Bolitar, he can't stop probing, and the surprises are in what he finds. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Harlan Coben aced this book

    This is the second Myron Bolitar book. The characters Myron, Win, and Emperanza really developed in this book as opposed to the first book Deal Breaker. Personally I liked this book much more then the first. The characters are funny and smart. Win is an enjoyable psychotic. Myron is a lovable giant. One of the main reasons this book is great is because it has so many aspects to it. Read it and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4