Customer Reviews for

Drought

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo

Water is precious. Water has made slaves out of Ruby's people. While the rest of the world lives normally, Ruby and the people in what is referred to as the Congregation spend their days gathering water. Although there is a small lake nearby, the members of the Congrega...
Water is precious. Water has made slaves out of Ruby's people. While the rest of the world lives normally, Ruby and the people in what is referred to as the Congregation spend their days gathering water. Although there is a small lake nearby, the members of the Congregation are forced to seek water in the forest. Each one armed with simple tools, a spoon, and a cup, they struggle in the oppressive heat to collect water drop by tiny drop. They are forced by the Overseers, led by a tyrant named Darwin, to gather their daily quota. Failure to meet their quota earns them a beating. Members of the Congregation are unique. Ruby, for instance, is two hundred years old, but she doesn't look a day older than seventeen. Blessed from birth with some special power in her blood, she is destined to be the group's leader, perhaps sooner than even she expects. The Congregants follow a mysterious leader they call Otto. According to her mother, Otto is Ruby's father. He left before she was even born, and now the group works tirelessly and waits for his return and the hope that he will set them free. But the wait is taking its toll on the members. Some are losing faith, and arguments between them threaten to weaken the group. Also, secrets known to only a few could either save them or cause a rebellion. Most evenings, Ruby visits the huge cisterns that stores the gathered water until the Visitor comes to collect from the containers. The purpose of her nightly visits is to add drops of her own blood to the water, creating a life-sustaining element to the liquid. Like her father, she possesses the power that has allowed her people to carry on for centuries. During one visit to the cisterns, Ruby meets an Overseer named Ford. He treats her kindly, and a friendship begins to form. Soon, Ruby finds herself thinking about Ford all the time and watching for him as she collects her quota every day. He may represent her chance for freedom, or her destruction if he reveals the mysterious power of her blood. Pam Bachorz is the author of CANDOR, another unusual dystopian YA novel. DROUGHT presents the secret world of a group still living in the past but working to provide for the world of the future. Bachorz takes her readers into the life of Ruby and her people to illustrate the unreasonable and frightening control one group of people can hold over another.

posted by TeensReadToo on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This book stunk!

I got this book on overdrive, thank goodness I didn't actually have to pay for it! I almost always finish a book, but this one was so lame, I quit after about half of the book. I love fantasy and things that aren't all that realistic, but the thought of a colony of pe...
I got this book on overdrive, thank goodness I didn't actually have to pay for it! I almost always finish a book, but this one was so lame, I quit after about half of the book. I love fantasy and things that aren't all that realistic, but the thought of a colony of people living like they're in the 17 or 1800s but in present day and being 200 plus years old and acting like a more than naive teenager is just out there. I didn't find a single character I could identify with, I just don't enjoy a book where people don't stick up for themselves. If that sort of thing bothers you too, I wouldn't recommend this book, in fact I wouldn't recommend it to people it doesn't bother either.

posted by lovin_er_books on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo

    Water is precious. Water has made slaves out of Ruby's people. While the rest of the world lives normally, Ruby and the people in what is referred to as the Congregation spend their days gathering water. Although there is a small lake nearby, the members of the Congregation are forced to seek water in the forest. Each one armed with simple tools, a spoon, and a cup, they struggle in the oppressive heat to collect water drop by tiny drop. They are forced by the Overseers, led by a tyrant named Darwin, to gather their daily quota. Failure to meet their quota earns them a beating. Members of the Congregation are unique. Ruby, for instance, is two hundred years old, but she doesn't look a day older than seventeen. Blessed from birth with some special power in her blood, she is destined to be the group's leader, perhaps sooner than even she expects. The Congregants follow a mysterious leader they call Otto. According to her mother, Otto is Ruby's father. He left before she was even born, and now the group works tirelessly and waits for his return and the hope that he will set them free. But the wait is taking its toll on the members. Some are losing faith, and arguments between them threaten to weaken the group. Also, secrets known to only a few could either save them or cause a rebellion. Most evenings, Ruby visits the huge cisterns that stores the gathered water until the Visitor comes to collect from the containers. The purpose of her nightly visits is to add drops of her own blood to the water, creating a life-sustaining element to the liquid. Like her father, she possesses the power that has allowed her people to carry on for centuries. During one visit to the cisterns, Ruby meets an Overseer named Ford. He treats her kindly, and a friendship begins to form. Soon, Ruby finds herself thinking about Ford all the time and watching for him as she collects her quota every day. He may represent her chance for freedom, or her destruction if he reveals the mysterious power of her blood. Pam Bachorz is the author of CANDOR, another unusual dystopian YA novel. DROUGHT presents the secret world of a group still living in the past but working to provide for the world of the future. Bachorz takes her readers into the life of Ruby and her people to illustrate the unreasonable and frightening control one group of people can hold over another.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Awesome

    PLEASE MAKE A MOVIE!!!!!!! LOVED IT!!!!!!!! **) ;D #1 BOOK
    --- from
    lil' Lydea and $ara

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book stunk!

    I got this book on overdrive, thank goodness I didn't actually have to pay for it! I almost always finish a book, but this one was so lame, I quit after about half of the book. I love fantasy and things that aren't all that realistic, but the thought of a colony of people living like they're in the 17 or 1800s but in present day and being 200 plus years old and acting like a more than naive teenager is just out there. I didn't find a single character I could identify with, I just don't enjoy a book where people don't stick up for themselves. If that sort of thing bothers you too, I wouldn't recommend this book, in fact I wouldn't recommend it to people it doesn't bother either.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Slow to start but a great story over all

    God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference.

    - The Serenity Prayer Reinhold Niebuhr

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    amazing

    one of my favorite books could not put it down must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Amazing!!!

    Loved the book so much and so did my bff!!!:)
    I hope she writes a sequel because i need to know if they find him!!!!!!!!!!!
    READ IT SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I loved it from the begining

    It was and still is one of my favorite books. Its so original. Like who ever thought of sacred Water that is made with water and blood. Creepy but genious. Must read in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Omg

    This book was friggin amazing! Ithink that there should totally be a movie! It litterally took me about half a day to read! Could not put it down! My one complaint is there should be a sequel! Like maybe it would be with Ruby and Ford on a mission to find Otto, while part of it is told in Hope's perspective as they are running out of Rubys blood because some of it leaked out because those pesky corks were too small. Just a thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Great book!

    Loved!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Drought Is Saturated With Greatness

    This was a seriously fantastic story to read. It had so many things going on at different times that it was almost never dull or boring. There were so many things going on that even the narrator wasn't aware of in spite of the fact she was the one telling the story. It was fascinating to watch how Ms. Bachorz wove into the story subtle clues to what would happen in the final 50 or so pages. And let me tell you, the last 50 or so pages flew by so quickly that I found myself on the last page and wishing there were so many more.

    The characters in this book began a little underdeveloped for my taste. They were somewhat one-dimensional and flat in the beginning, but perhaps one can forgive that because considering it's told in the first person by someone who has lived the same exhausting, repetitive life for 200 years, everything and everyone around would be sort of monotonous and flat. But as the story develops and new pieces of personalities of those around Ruby come to light, we see the gray life of those who harvest water during a dry and colorless drought bloom into bursts of color. And for someone like me who associates color with personalities, this was a real treat.

    I especially loved some of the nuances of Ms. Bachorz's writing that tied in the entire drought theme to how people were feeling. Particularly how the blossoming relationship between Ruby and the Overseer Ford was described, in Ruby's words, as, "It feels as if the air between us is like a tender waterdrop; one more move and it will burst." Their romance is saturated in life and immersed in the wonder that is discovering real and true love for the first time in your life. Some may say it happens too quickly but consider the fact that Ruby is over 200 years old and she's been extremely repressed by the society she lives in. It's only natural that she feel on some subconscious level that those she lives with don't have the same value for her as Ford appears to and that she would cling to that. And she does try to fight it for the sake of duty. It's not until something very strongly and forcefully breaks the bonds between her and some in her community that the dam bursts and Ruby's real desires gush forth.

    I think the book could have been a little bit more tightly edited. I think with about 50 fewer pages of Ruby remembering and lamenting the past and people she lost (whether physically or figuratively) it would have been an even faster, more brilliant read. That said, however, I don't think being a little wordy is such a bad thing.

    I found the plot twists in the story to be delicious and I liked being able to come to the slow conclusion of Ruby's situation and her true importance to the Elders of her community along with her. Discovering evil in places she hadn't thought existed along with her was fascinating even if truly saddening for her sake. I think Ms. Bachorz brings a bit of literary elegance to this story by bringing the reader along on a slow burn with some of the subplots and major themes of the novel with bright bursts of action in a way reminiscent of Jane Eyre. It's thoroughly well written and perhaps doesn't have all the over-the-top bells and whistles that some seem to need in their dystopias but I was completely satisfied. The ending wrapped up neatly enough that this could be a stand alone (which you know I love in an ending) but left enough possibility open for at least a second dip into Ruby's world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unquestionably thirsty for answers!

    Pam Bachorz weaves a rich and dark tale about a teenaged girl who is stuck between a rock and a hard place. At times, I had more questions than answers while reading - and even at the end, I think drought leaves the readers wanting to find out what happens next and what had happened before to lead up to Ruby's world as she knew it. The great thing about drought is, once I let go of what I know, I really got into the flow of Ruby's wretched world. Hers was a simple though horrible life: Collect enough Water to get fed and avoid the whip. A village enslaved. Not necessarily true, but I imagined that they dressed like Pilgrims - don't ask me why - I just did! It was only when Ruby interacts with Ford when I realized how behind-the-times Ruby was, how deeply Ms. Bachorz wove us into the village and hid us from the big, ugly truth. A truth the Overseers obviously knew, and the question that burns through my mind is WHY. I felt we never got a complete picture of all the characters except Ruby. Granted, we see events unfold through Ruby's eyes - but usually I thought there'd still be a little more insight to the other characters present. Maybe Ruby wasn't too observant - maybe I haven't given drought enough thought yet - but there is not a whole lot about the other characters from my initial impression. Ruby's mom tries to impress upon Ruby and the Congregation that waiting for salvation is their best option and escape in any way is not safe, but how did she reach such a conclusion and what happens when salvation never comes - or escape is possible? What makes Darwin tick - and how does he sleep each night after his monstrous actions? How does Ford get recruited to the Overseers - and is he leading Ruby into a trap by enticing her to escape? The ending of drought definitely left me both triumphant yet horrified at how things panned out for Ruby, Ford, the Overseers, and the Congregation. Definitely did not see any of it coming! I doubt that there would be a sequel, although one would be most welcome for all the questions that I have! drought will satisfy any thirst for a new dystopian YA read. Mysterious, shocking, bittersweet - an excellent combination to keep readers thirsting to learn more about the world that Ms. Bachorz has created.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Gripping tale leaves you thinking ... and wanting more!

    I've been looking forward to reading this book since it was announced earlier this year. I'm a big fan of the YA genre including recent books by Suzanne Collins, Carrie Ryan, James Dashner, and found Bachorz's first book, Candor, not only a good read but I was intrigued by how realistic a portrait she painted of the setting of the story, and the strong character development. A true storyteller, she has done it again with Drought. A lot of what I liked in Candor, is also here in Drought, including characters with interesting pasts and motivations, quick dialogue, and a sense of setting that make you think Bachorz has a clear vision of where her stories take place.

    I have to say that I am in disagreement as to some of the other reviews posted thus far. With media these days, people expect now to be spoon-fed everything, every detail, every explanation. I think Bachorz demands a bit more from her readers. She did it in Candor, and she does it again in this novel. True literature studied still today by students sometimes raises more questions than they answer, and while there are good explanations throughout the plot, Bachorz raises good questions about how we go about believing. There are religious overtones, as well, and I found the Congregation compelling. Ruby's story is an important one to dissect. How many people today could say we believe sometime blindly in what we don't understand. History also has many examples of groups of enslaved people not able to rise up against their oppressors. One needn't look too far back in history to see similarities can be drawn from Bachorz's story to that of the Holocaust, and farther back, slavery in this nation.

    This is a book that is important for older teens and adults. We will be reading for my book club, and I look forward to a lively discussion. This book grips you from the first pages and takes you on a thrilling view into how this enslaved community goes about daily life and dealing with change and betrayer by one of their key members.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Sooooo goooood

    Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Tears, love, death, betrayle

    I was in my room from 7 to 4 in the morning reading, crying and gasping, from cover to cover. You know why girls get hooked to romance books? Because the characters in the book have the love we hope and dream for. They have the cinderella story us girls crave. If your a girl stuggling to find love, he or maybe she will come when god knows your ready. Anywaise, read the book. Its a mind blower!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Ruby is the only child born in the community. She is the only da

    Ruby is the only child born in the community. She is the only daughter of the revered “Otto” who left the community before she was born. Ruby is special. As the daughter of Otto she possesses his blood that contains magical healing properties. In Otto’s absence, the evil Darren West enslaves the community through hiring Overseers who beat and abuse the members of the community while keeping them sheltered from the modern world. The community does not fight; instead they have faith in Otto and believe that he will return to save them. Then Ruby meets the newest overseer named Ford and is intrigued by his kindness. Before long he is begging her to run away with him and Ruby must choose: will she follow love and the freedom it promises or remain with the people who depend on her for survival?
    What makes Drought shine is author Pam Bachorz’s ability to write young adult character that actually sound like young adults. Ruby’s desire to please her mother, her fears of escaping, but her desire to change her life are all very relatable qualities that teen readers will appreciate. This story addresses important issues about loyalty, questioning the status quo, and the ways in which our own communities hold us back. By writing this book in an unfamiliar setting, Bachorz is able to deal with the issues without offending any group or religion, while encouraging her readers to question those around them. Bachorz brilliantly transports her readers into a strange alternate universe and keeps the setting grounded through her very realistic characters. From Ruby’s mother to the evil Darren West, every person is crafted with complex layers of good as well as bad. Ford is especially intriguing and by giving him very serious flaws, Bachorz keeps readers guessing whether he and Ruby will really end up together. 
    In short, this story is much more than a young adult novel. It is a book with important themes, real characters, and an exciting plot that keeps the pages turning! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great book

    Who ever thought of blood that could heal peoples wounds love the book buy it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    This book was great!

    I was surpised by how great this book was:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Certainly Not what i expected.

    In this book there are many preconcieved ideas that the story twists away from. The main characters are in the middle of a drought and they have to gather water every day because they are slaves. when i first picked this book up i thought that i knew exactly what would happen and although the book was strange i was unable to put the book down and was kept on my toes while reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Holy momma

    I cant decide weather to buy it or not!! Is it giod or bad? Peoples make up yo mind

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Really makes you think.

    I read this book a while back and i couldnt pick up another book for a while because the concept overall was absolutely mind boggling... its hard to imagine being stuck somewhere you dont wan tto be and doing things you dont want to do, and on top of that you cant fight because you would be the onlt one since everyone else is waiting on 1 person to come fight their battle for them and its been so long since they left that you just know theyre not coming back. Overall i loved it. I couldnt put it down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2