Customer Reviews for

Drown

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Drown by: Junot Diaz

Drown was recommended to me by my 9th grade english teacher to read over the summer. I loved this book. It's about a dominican boy and his life from the island of Dominican Republic to the live city of Newark, New Jersey. As a Dominican I related to the book and enjoyed...
Drown was recommended to me by my 9th grade english teacher to read over the summer. I loved this book. It's about a dominican boy and his life from the island of Dominican Republic to the live city of Newark, New Jersey. As a Dominican I related to the book and enjoyed it. I dont like reading and I read this in a week.

posted by manny_ya_digg21 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

book review

Drown is a collection of ten short stories loosely connected by the theme of adolescent boys to young adults in rough neighborhoods of both the Dominican Republic and Dominican barrios in New Jersey. These characters have the common struggle of facing the poverty in the...
Drown is a collection of ten short stories loosely connected by the theme of adolescent boys to young adults in rough neighborhoods of both the Dominican Republic and Dominican barrios in New Jersey. These characters have the common struggle of facing the poverty in their life that leads to drugs, violence and pitiless crimes. The characters Diaz portrays make no excuses for themselves and don¿t wallow in self pity. The world they live in is all they have ever known, and they all live in the moment. I think the title of the book suggests that the characters¿ childhood purity is being drowned out as they are forced into the cold reality of adulthood. Diaz writes his stories off of life experiences which create a realistic yet raw view into the lives of his characters. He speaks the plain truth and uses Hispanic slang to display the culture of the book. These stories are somewhat crude and intended towards a mature audience. this isn't the genre of book I would normally read, although I enjoyed how Diaz told it like it is and used hispanic culture to give the stories personality. I would recommend this collection to those who like short stories, and who would like some insight on the rough lives of Dominican immagrants.

posted by Anonymous on December 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Drown by: Junot Diaz

    Drown was recommended to me by my 9th grade english teacher to read over the summer. I loved this book. It's about a dominican boy and his life from the island of Dominican Republic to the live city of Newark, New Jersey. As a Dominican I related to the book and enjoyed it. I dont like reading and I read this in a week.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    From a Dominican point of view

    I loved this book. Although it started out slow, it brought back many memories from my home . Dominicam Republic contributed a lot. The stories, slang, names everything was wrapped up into a gift of Dominican culture. This book is by far my top favorite. I was emotionally attactched to the Character Yunior, that was a very unusual thing. Coming from a place where we both came from and having a similar backgrounf / childhood it was astonishing. I loved this book, i suggest you buy it. Short story and all you will grow fond of it, you'll be sad when it will end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    book review

    Drown is a collection of ten short stories loosely connected by the theme of adolescent boys to young adults in rough neighborhoods of both the Dominican Republic and Dominican barrios in New Jersey. These characters have the common struggle of facing the poverty in their life that leads to drugs, violence and pitiless crimes. The characters Diaz portrays make no excuses for themselves and don¿t wallow in self pity. The world they live in is all they have ever known, and they all live in the moment. I think the title of the book suggests that the characters¿ childhood purity is being drowned out as they are forced into the cold reality of adulthood. Diaz writes his stories off of life experiences which create a realistic yet raw view into the lives of his characters. He speaks the plain truth and uses Hispanic slang to display the culture of the book. These stories are somewhat crude and intended towards a mature audience. this isn't the genre of book I would normally read, although I enjoyed how Diaz told it like it is and used hispanic culture to give the stories personality. I would recommend this collection to those who like short stories, and who would like some insight on the rough lives of Dominican immagrants.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Very Good Collection of Short Stories.

    A very good first book by Junot Dias. Most of the short stories in this collection involve Yunior. Yunior is a Dominican living in New Jersey who gets involved in nefarious activities. Street slang and Dominican Spanish is used a lot in the diction of the stories. These words are not always understood but they add a glow to the vocabulary of the stories. Yunior does not sugar coat it. You get a strong sense of realism reading Drown. I used to live in Boston and I could imagine Yunior getting mixed up with people that I knew. Drown is a very good testament of inner city life and of Dominican immigrants. They may have left the island but the island has not left them. I applaud Drown. Do not wait for a rainy day to read Drown.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    And your prize is...

    You get any 3 pokemon you want!!!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    I remember that goat on the leash.

    When reading this book I felt like it was my brother writing about our youth in Los Sures,Brooklyn.I do remember the pictures of us half naked with a goat on a leash.As a matter of fact they are still in my mother's picture album.Junot Diaz captured essence of whatit is to live in the Big City for young Dominican immigrants and their families.The best is yet to come from this young writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Smart and Funny

    Family life short stories, funny and cruel at the same time. I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Great book

    I read this book many years ago. A Dominican writer who knew exactly what it was like while I was growing up, he kept me laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    comically serious, cunningly inspective, and simply awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Captivating

    Such relateable scenes, intriguing and captivating writing skills a must read. !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Beautiful and funny

    This is simply beautiful writing. Stories about real characters, writing that takes you deep into their crazy lives until you feel as though you knew them. Also quite funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I was truly disappointed in this effort, especially after reading Oscar Wao.

    Drown by Junot Díaz

    Ten short stories, some about the bleak peripheral existence of Dominicans in the States: drug dealing, stealing, miserable living conditions, and screwing anything with a skirt...

    Other stories about the author's life in Ocoa, Dominican Republic; and the author's struggles of growing up poor in his homeland.

    Perhaps, the best story is "Negocios," about his father's immigration to the US, marrying to get a green card and finally coming back to get his family.

    This is the first book of the Pulitzer Price winner author (The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao), and it really shows. The prose is poor, the Spanish words are used and not translated, making the book only readable to a bilingual person. I was truly disappointed in this effort, especially after reading Oscar Wao.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    If You like getting lost in your books - this book is for you

    I absolutely love this book, all the characters are very interesting and you start to feel like you known them. It's also amazing how the characters from different parts of life connect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Collection of Stories

    After reading "Oscar Wao" I just had to see what else was available by this terrific new author...well new to mee anyway. I am not usually a big reader of short stories, prefering rather to read fiction with a cohesive narative all the way through. This collection of stories bounces from character to character and varies also in time and place, but when put together the stories seem connected to a larger perspective on family, friends, acceptance, and struggle. They tell a bigger story in disparate pieces, but a beautiful and connected story none the less. If you are a fan of Denis Johnson's "Jesus's Son" you will find this collection equally rewarding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    fascinating book

    This book was simply fascinating and the writing drew you in. This one should be on everyone's bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Best book ever

    This book is very interesting and outstandingly good. It is the best book i'll ever get

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    He gets down with this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A thoroughly enjoyable novel by a novelist who writes in a way dealing with the real deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    A Must Read!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a raw and provactive book, at the same time honest, humble and educational. it's a fiction but your almost convinced it's a true story because it's exactly what goes on in some hispanic families leaving their homeland to come to the U.S. Diaz writes from the heart and leaves nothing out. The man makes you read and read, and i'll promise you the story will stay with you and make you think!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    This book changed my life!!

    The book captivates the reader with every word. The stories come straight from the heart and leave you with a raw, emotional but very grounded impression of life as a Latino. I have read many of the short stories over and over again because I loved them so much. My favorite story was boyfriend/girlfriend because it talks about many issues which couples go through today. His writing style flows very well and he uses wonderful metaphors to express the emotions felt by the characters in the short stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    A Way with Words

    A fantastic read! I went and bought Drown a few years ago and it remains to be my favorite book. The words flow together, as if the characters are speaking to you directly. I was especially enchanted with 'Aurora.' It is a rough story but some parts of it still make me cry. You can feel the emotion, the pain, the grief they both have for eachother. Eventhough the subject is hard, I think most people can relate to the madness that goes with love. I strongly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys reading fiction. And also to anyone who enjoys great prose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3