Customer Reviews for

Drowning Instinct

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    What a book.. Get It Now!!

    I have never written a review before. Nor have i ever been so emotionally attached to a book. This book is a definite must have. I fihished it in one day because i just could not put it down. Right from the start I liked Mr. Anderson. Or should i say Mitch? He isn't persistent or annoying. I found myself anticipating his arrival in each chapter. And i love Jenna. I understood her so well throughout the book. I had no clue as to what to expect at the end, it was very unpredictable. Please dont delay in getting this book. This is coming from a teenage girl who isn't into "romantic" books nor do I agree with a relationship between a student and there teacher. Yet Now, this is my favorite book hands down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    Left me reeling..

    Holy. Hell. What an emotional ride.. I think I experienced every possible feeling a human being can have reading this little heartbreaker.

    "They call it the drowning instinct. It's when drowning doesn't look like drowning. ... you don't look like you're in trouble. You don't scream, but that's because you can't... You're just there, so people don't notice your dying. ..."

    I read it practically in one sitting ~ unable to put it down ~ and I remember looking up from it from time to time, catching the breathe I didn't realize I was holding, and shaking my head in disbelief as if the movement would knock the shock out of me.

    There are some very controversial elements in this story ~ factors that have seemed to influence some readers to give this book a more negative review. An older man. A teenage girl. High school teacher. Troubled student. Sounds like a recipe for disaster ~ or at least some jail time. But, although situations like this would ordinarily cause me to cringe, I actually felt... hope?... for these two tragically broken people...

    The story is told in Jenna's voice as she "confesses" the truth of an incident into a policeman's tape recorder.. And from the very start, it's made completely clear that she is... damaged... Jenna has been ~ nearly literally ~ through Hell, back, Hell, and back again... Her family is a well-masked mess, and she has the horrific urge to release her pain through seeing her own blood seep from her skin ~ she's a cutter, but she's trying not to be...

    She moves to a new school ~ one she thought would be like any other, until she meets Mitch...er...Mr. Anderson. It begins innocent enough. A well intentioned teacher trying to help one of his students thrive... so when does it come to the point where it crosses the line? The thing is, Mitch is just as torn apart, and he sees a mirror image of his broken heart in Jenna.... They seem to feel that they pull strength from each other's tragedies... but, at the same time, they destroy each other and themselves...

    This book is almost overwhelming at times.. Jenna is struck hard with one obstacle after another ~ it's amazing she's able to hold on at all.. A drunken mother and Psycho Dad ~ parents who are too busy with their own dysfunctional relationship to see what is happening with their daughter. A pedophile for a grandfather, a brother away at war... and in the middle of all that, her beacon of hope, Mitch Anderson... the only one who sees her and brings her the truth.. or does he?

    The writing is poetic and Jenna's voice distinct in its resigned tone. Not a light read with its elements of self-destruction, denial, and betrayal.. But oh-so-worth your time..

    Five out of five stars from this reader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Absolutely amazing read. A novel that will make your chest ache.

    Absolutely amazing read. A novel that will make your chest ache.

    This is one of those books that you read, and it stays in your brain for days after. And then after those days pass, you'll still think about it every now and then.
    It certainly was and is that way for me.

    Jenna is a girl who doesn't have much. The "not much" applies to the aspects of life people generally want the most: friends, family, happiness, love.
    And she doesn't ask for more either. She just zombies through her days.
    That is until she meets Mr. Anderson. And he seems to be the perfect teacher, a brilliant man, and a loving father and husband.  
    And he shows her the first act of kindness, more than anyone else in the novel seems to have done for her.

    But then you'll think ,
    Is he saving her? Or, is he drowning her?  You can try to decide that after you read the book, but this might be one of the novels where you won't be able to find an answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I saw this book in the store and it was the only one left. I re

    I saw this book in the store and it was the only one left. I read the back and didn't think it sounded spectacular. But I read the prologue and was hooked. I didn't buy the book then, but went back about a month later and it was still there. I bought it. I was completely addicted and probably would have finished the book in one day if I didn't have school. I like Mr. Anderson from the beginning and couldn't wait until his arrival in each chapter. However the ending and a little before that I hated the book. I guess I just don't like romances nor teacher and student romances. The ending did schock me. I actually was depressed after the book. I made myself get out of it but, everytime I think of the book I literally start hating the world. It is not a book I would recommend (unless you just want to read the beginning and middle), because of the way it made me feel. I just don't agree with what they did. I also didn't like what she did in the very ending. Like the last sentece, I mean how could you do that to Bob?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    So.. um...

    I dont get it so is this supposed to be one of those books with the teacher student relations... or what is this?
    Please describe/summarize above.
    For the ones who do summarize for me Thank you : ) and for the ones who dont F you : ) either way ive gotta big smile on my face. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    This book is phenomenal and i will never forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading Katie┬┐s review of Drowning Instinct over at Blook

    After reading Katie’s review of Drowning Instinct over at Blook Girl, I picked up the audio version, and I’m so glad I did.

    Jenna is rescued from a near-drowning and while in the hospital, an officer gives her a tape recorder and asks her to record what happened, how she ended up in the frozen lake. So she starts at the beginning: her troubled home life, her arrival at a new school and everything that happens after. She pulls no punches and spares no details.

    Jenna is a hot mess. She’s had an unfortunate upbringing which includes a fire that nearly killed her, being molested, living with a drunk mother and a super controlling father, being abandoned by her military-bound brother and self cutting. Unsurprisingly, she has some issues. She was a likable character, though. She had her moments of whining or brattiness, but she deserves some slack.

    The infamous teacher, Mitch, well… I had some issues. He’s relatable and nice enough, and I understand he has his own issues, but he’s an adult. I’ve seen many reviews that say this story shows it’s not all black and white, that there are some gray areas, but I disagree. An adult is an adult is an adult. He should know better, no matter what’s going on in his life. But, let’s put that aside for now and just go with it, for the sake of this review. As a general character, I did like Mitch. He was kind and friendly and I think he truly wanted to be there for Jenna, who clearly needed someone to be on her side.

    The other characters were there to be mean or bad to our 2 main characters, so we’d feel sorry for them. And they succeeded. They weren’t full characters, more like caricatures of people. But that’s okay, they served their purpose and I really just wanted to spend more time with Mitch and Jenna. Because even though I would oppose such a relationship in real life, I loved reading about it! They had some great scenes together, very sweet and romantic (if maybe a bit clinical).

    Ilsa J. Bick has a way with words (not a surprise to me, having read her book Ashes), but I was still impressed with the way she weaved the story together. There was a bit of action, a lot of mystery, some romance and even witty dialogue. Several times I found myself anxious to know what happened next, and this was the only frustrating part about listening to the audio version – where I would normally skip a bit to get to the next scene, because I just couldn’t wait, I was forced to wait for the narrator to get there.

    Speaking of the narrator, Kathleen McInerney did a fabulous job of bringing the story to life. At first I thought she sounded too young, but it worked and she soon became Jenna. Also, since the entire story is Jenna speaking into a microphone, there was a certain “rightness” of listening to the story, as opposed to reading it.

    This is sometimes a hard story, for the subject matter, but it’s an interesting one. The writing is taut and kept me on the edge of my seat many times. And you know that bit from the book’s summary:

    "There are stories where the girl gets her prince, and they live happily ever after. (This is not one of those stories.)"

    Keep that bit in mind.

    The Sum Up: I love everything about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Okay

    Hard to follow at first but okay overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Wow XD

    I've read plenty of books before this but i have to say this one is now listed as one of my top favorites. The book was amazing. Definitely something to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    WOW I could not put this book down, I hope this is not the end o

    WOW I could not put this book down, I hope this is not the end of the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Definitely one of the most interesting novels I've read so far t

    Definitely one of the most interesting novels I've read so far this year. If you want a book that's not your average love story, this is for you (unless you really dislike anything involving a young student/teacher relationship). Despite the taboo romance, I suggest reading this book because there's simply no other story that's told as beautifully as this. I've read a few novels that involve taboo student/teacher romance and none have come up to par with this book. This story has a bittersweet romance and a plot that leads you on an emotional roller coaster. You'll feel sorry for characters, be angry at others, and be left in a panic frenzy wondering what will happen next. How the story closes off is not something I would have expected...but then again, there's a lot of things you'd have never expected to occur in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Favorite book

    Possibly one of the most emotionally intense books I have ever read. Anyone who loves staying on their toes while they are reading will absolutely love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    couldn't put it down!

    read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Wow!

    So good! I loved it so much I wrote to the author and she was so nice! A must-read in my book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1