Customer Reviews for

Drowning Mermaids

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Captivating

Just waiting for the second in the trilogy to come out for nook. I only found a digital copy for kindle and kindle fire.

posted by 1176328 on August 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I had just sort of lukewarm feelings with this one. I never fel

I had just sort of lukewarm feelings with this one. I never felt totally sucked in, yet I didn’t dislike it either. The writing style is very good, and the plot of an over-the hill fisherman romancing a 600year old (!) mermaid warrior certainly unique and origina...
I had just sort of lukewarm feelings with this one. I never felt totally sucked in, yet I didn’t dislike it either. The writing style is very good, and the plot of an over-the hill fisherman romancing a 600year old (!) mermaid warrior certainly unique and original. But for some reason I was just unable to totally connect to the characters, and felt that I was held at a distance for much of the action, like it was being told to me instead of me being involved. For me, the first half or so of the book read better than the second, because I felt the interpersonal connections and character development were done with more fluidity and solidarity than the latter parts, which at times I felt were glossed over or hurried. And as much as I wanted, I could never really get behind the “romance” between Trevain and Aazuria, but maybe it was just me. While this particular novel didn’t send me over the moon, I enjoyed it enough to want to read the sequel, especially because judging from the blurb for “Fathoms of Forgiveness” (Sacred Breath #2), it revolves more around Visola, who I found to be a supremely interesting character and I would definitely love to read more about her!

posted by KMatthews on June 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Captivating

    Just waiting for the second in the trilogy to come out for nook. I only found a digital copy for kindle and kindle fire.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    What a beautiful and engaging story! I had no idea really what t

    What a beautiful and engaging story! I had no idea really what to expect when reading this, only that I had heard it mentioned a few times on Twitter and thought it sounded intriguing. I’m glad I got a copy! I read it in 2 days and was really happy to find out there is a sequel so I can continue on this fantastical journey! Ms. Screvia writes in a way that just reaches out and grabs you and doesn’t let go from start to finish. I imagined all the characters and scenes perfectly and loved every page. Highly recommend to anyone who likes a good, original story!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    WONDERFUL BOOK

    I certainly did not expect all the twists and turns this book took. i could hardly put it down (was late back to work from lunch on more than one occasion) and was saddened when i turned the last page. Great read with plenty of meat for the action/adventure fan. Not your usual romance.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Seriously, where do I start?? I loved this book. LOVED IT!!! My

    Seriously, where do I start??
    I loved this book. LOVED IT!!! My only complaint is that it ended!! I can’t think of another book I’ve read recently that so totally consumed me from the first click of my kindle to the last. SO immersed I was in this magical, fantastical world Ms. Scrieva created, I was devastated (shocked, blown away) when it ended. I think the thing I really liked the best about this book was the way the characters evolved, especially Trevain. His journey really touched me, and it was written with an elegance and grace that is rarely found in many writers these days. Strangely, I didn’t feel as much for Aazuria (I don’t know why…didn’t dislike her, just felt more detached), but she was definitely a good character and played her part well with strength and dignity. There were some moments that I thought she was too stiff or unnatural but it did nothing to take away from the overall appeal of this book. This is an AMAZING start to a series I already love and I can’t wait to read more!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Wow, how do I even put into words how AWESOME this book was? I a

    Wow, how do I even put into words how AWESOME this book was? I am SO happy I found it and am getting the next one RIGHT NOW!! From start to finish I was utterly mesmerized by the beautiful, dangerous and lush world the author created. The love story that unfolds while the underworld kingdom at war beneath the sea is just the tip of the iceberg! What I loved most about this book was that there were a lot of characters And scenes and events, but not once did i feel lost or confused. Nadia Scrieva painted such a vivid and descriptive portrait of each individual character, I really felt like I knew each of them intimately. This is really important to me because nothing irritates me more than reading a book filled with interchangeable and two-dimensional “stock characters”. I totally recommend this book for all fans of the fantasy or action and romance genres. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    I confess this is my first book about mermaids and I only decide

    I confess this is my first book about mermaids and I only decided to read it because my friend told me how amazing it was and that I just HAD to read it. Well, she was RIGHT!!! I was completely blown away by this book on several levels!! 1) Ms. Scrieva is clearly a very talented writer with a natural gift for weaving beautiful, sometimes lyrical prose that kept me entranced for hours. 2) The author is HIGHLY creative and imaginative, and intelligently so. The mythos behind the mermaids was unique (at least to me) and perfectly described with and imaginative attention to detail that made me feel like I was really there. I genuinely cared for all the characters (even Trevain, who at first, I admit I was a little worried I wouldn’t connect to). But it is a sign of a great writer who can get you to care about all the characters and feel his/her plight, as they are written to feel so real and not as two dimensional cardboard cutouts. I feel like I could go on and on but you really just have to see for yourself. If you want something that is new, with a fresh voice, stunning characters, vivid and imaginative prose and a compelling plot that keeps you yearning for more then READ THIS BOOK!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Mermaids!!

    I have never read a book about mermaids. Loved, loved this book! A believable read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    I am on book three of the series, and it is AMAZING! I really lo

    I am on book three of the series, and it is AMAZING! I really love the emotion in it all. I want to write a whole five page long essay on this wonderful book, but I'll keep it short and sweet. READ THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Unexpected

    I didnot expect to like this book. Truthfully it starts out slow and the whole stripper thing was a total turn off for me. I actually stopped towards the beginning because of it and didnt come back to the book for quite a few months. I got bord though and caved. Once you get into the story it really draws you in. The action is good. Visola is definitely my favorite. Keep reading. You will not be sorry you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    I really enjoyed this story. Can't wait to read the next one!

    I really enjoyed this story. Can't wait to read the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    highly recommend

    Kept me involved in the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    This is the first of many in an epic underwater adventure. The

    This is the first of many in an epic underwater adventure.

    The emotions run high in this book, as violent as the sea herself. It takes no prisoners and it will challenge you. The author has a true gift for story crafting and world building. It's not what makes this story truly great however, it's the characters themselves. There wide ranging personalities and wonderful dialog. The action and romance in this book makes it feel like a blockbuster (and I'd love to see some of the visuals on the big screen.) 

    If you're looking for a wild ride, and an epic read. Drowning Mermaids and the Sacred Breathe series are the books for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    To i need help

    Yes i believe it is. I am 13 n hv read it. It is nt innappropriate or explicit. Hope tht i helped.

    Sincerly, T.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I need hrlp

    Is it good for an eleven year old?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Good book

    Mine keeps it on the same page like its page 1 for like 7 times it doesnt make eny sints!!!!!!Ennyway happy reading ;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    To may 17th below me

    It's the same for me but mine skips every two pages. It'll go from 179 to 181 and in that kind of pattern but the story doesn't stop luckily. And it is really good overall it's also 600+ pages :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    I tottaly reccomend this book. Sometimes i got so into i forgot i was in class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great!

    I read this on my nook. Wonerful story. Read all 4 and you will be like me waiting for #5. I hope #5 is not just a dream. Please keep it going.
    Sanna7125

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lee Ashford for Readers Favorite “Drowning Me

    Reviewed by Lee Ashford for Readers Favorite

    “Drowning Mermaids” by Nadia Scrieva is an excellent, well-thought-out novel – book one in a series of three, already published. As the title suggests, the story features mermaids. These mermaids look exactly like humans, with two legs rather than the tail we have come to expect. In fact, they suggest they should be taxonomically classified as Homo sapiens marinus. Their two primary advantages over the rest of us humans are: they can breathe under water as well as above water; and they have extraordinarily long lives, spanning hundreds of years. But all is not well under the sea, and our main characters have come ashore to earn money and purchase weapons on the black market, preparatory to an anticipated attack from another band of aggressive mermaids. Why do they suspect they are about to be attacked? Can they earn enough money in time to purchase the weapons they need? What "marketable skill" can they possibly have?

    I was frankly astonished after finishing this novel to learn from her bio that Nadia was born in 1988, and just graduated from college with honors in 2011. I have to give her a great deal of credit: Nadia created such realistic personalities that I felt somewhat attracted to the main female character. Considering she was 608 years old, that’s saying something! Her characters are not simply well developed, but they came alive on the pages of this book. The author astutely weaved several sub-plots into the fabric of this story, each of which furthered my interest in the overall story. I have only read the first of these three novels, but I will read the next two for my own enjoyment. I invite you to join me, if you are intrigued by the concept of entire ethnic groups of aquatic humans living in our midst for eons. I highly recommend this book, and expect to recommend the next two books in this series as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2