BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Drowning People

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Jump Right In!

    Hypnotic, passionate, disturbing, and dark, "The Drowning People" is a must-read. This book is a Master Class in the art of atmosphere, foreshadowing, and character development. The story itself is nothing extraordinary-- but the way it's written will grab you and never let you go. Read it, read it, read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    What a Story

    This book is fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Fascinating . . .

    Some parts stretch the boundaries of realism, but a fascinating tale nevertheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    Really remarkable!

    You will not be disappointed in this rich moving story. It has been a while since I listened to the audiobook and still am reminded of how much I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    Strange but addicting

    Between Ella and Sarah....I don't know what to think...true is that this is not an usual plot, and usual story... a discover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    This is a 10!!!!!

    The story is simply entrancing! I could not put this book down!! Persuasive and forceful literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Outstanding Read

    Highly recommend this novel. A very fast read that will keep you rivited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    A rare gem!

    One of the finest works of literature I have ever read. It is quite amazing that this literary 'genius', Richard Mason, was only 18 when he began to write The Drowning People. The story was compelling, the characters complex and I savored every last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS WAS ONE OF THE MOST FASINATING BOOKS I'VE READ IN A LONG TIME!! WONDER OF WONDERS--NO PROFANITY. THANK YOU MR. MASON!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    Facinating book!

    It is hard to imagine that a nineteen year old wrote this wonderful book. It grabs you from the first sentence and continues to the end. I really enjoyed it and hope that this young author gets the recognition that he deserves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Excellent

    I loved the book. It kept you very interested the whole way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    very different for me

    i enjoyed the drowing people very much. i usually read books on horror and ghostly tales but this book trapped me into buying it and i am very glad i did. i enjoy reading first books out from different authors and this one trapped me into reading it. a-1 performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2000

    Dissapointing and Predictable Story

    I first heard about this book from a friend who, knowing my love for classics such as Rebecca and Jane Eyre, suggested that I would enjoy this novel as well. Unfortunately, I found this book to be highly dull and slow moving, (It kept loosing my attention) with a contrived plot and predictable ending. I feel as though the author should get to know more women before he writes his next novel because he does not seem to understand his women characters or what motivates them. I would still recommend this book to readers, but only as a beach book and not a great work of fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    WONDERFUL WONDERFUL BOOK

    I must say that I am amazed when I read negative reviews of this book! I thought it was so wonderful, so well-written and so compelling. I found the psychological insights to be truly insightful, and am astonished that an 18-year-old could write such thoughts. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I did not find the ending predictable at all. I didn't figure it all out until shortly before it was revealed and I'm no dummy (LOL). Anyway, I just wanted to say that I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone looking for an interesting, mysterious and fun read. I can't wait for Mason's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1