Customer Reviews for

Drowning Ruth

Average Rating 4
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing Mystery

I thouroughly enjoyed this book and found the characters to be interesting and I wanted to know more. The story is written in both first and third person and from different character perspectives. Their are many mysteries woven through this book and it has a rewarding...
I thouroughly enjoyed this book and found the characters to be interesting and I wanted to know more. The story is written in both first and third person and from different character perspectives. Their are many mysteries woven through this book and it has a rewarding ending although I would have liked to find a little more about the title character's future. When all the secrets are finally revealed you will be surprised by the outcome. I recommend this book for anyone wanting more that the regular chick lit that is out there.

posted by 3338342 on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ehh

It was ok......

posted by 8619682 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Intriguing Mystery

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book and found the characters to be interesting and I wanted to know more. The story is written in both first and third person and from different character perspectives. Their are many mysteries woven through this book and it has a rewarding ending although I would have liked to find a little more about the title character's future. When all the secrets are finally revealed you will be surprised by the outcome. I recommend this book for anyone wanting more that the regular chick lit that is out there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

     I loved this book.....it was very very good! I didn't even mind

     I loved this book.....it was very very good! I didn't even mind the few plot holes left at the end. I was looking for a different book, this was definitely different! My only regret is not picking this for book club. But then again it might be a little to dark for book club.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Must read.

    Read in highschool...LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Love it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Favorite book

    I have read this book several times love it!! Crazy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Earthstep

    Bye!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Flameclaw

    No prob. I gtg im sorry. I will be back tommorrow

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Highly reccomended!

    This is a fantastic book. A true page turner! I deffinatly suggest this book if you have time for a continuous read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    History repeats itself

    The sins of the fathers (and mothers) are visited on their children so intensely that sometimes in this novel it's hard to tell the generations apart. Yet each character has courage and redeeming qualities in a uniquely different way, is so finely delineated and his or her story is so well-told, they linger in memory long after the book is done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    There were some parts of this book that was a bit slow, but I would say I definitely enjoyed it overall. Thought they were making a movie of this...I would like to see it if they decide to do so!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Great book!

    I really loved this book, especially all of the twists and turns. I finished it in about a day and a half. I highly recommend it for anyone looking to be engrossed in a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was looking for a book that would grab me, like I haven't had for quite a while. I must say, after reading Drowning Ruth, it definitely gave me what I was looking for. It was amazingly well written, had an interesting plot and made me never stop reading. The characters were very vivid and realistic, and often I felt that with the details I myself was there with them. I was slightly disappointed with the ending, being the romantic that I am I hoped Arthur and Ruth would live happily ever after and a dramatic love scene would occur, but I was glad they remained close friends with each other with the potential for more. Overall--- Fantastic! Definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A must read

    Even if you don't like to read, you will like this book. It grabs you immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    A keeper!

    This was one of the most haunting books I have read in a long time. At first, I was hesitant to read it because of Oprah's recommendation. I love Oprah but sometimes her recommended books are sappy and often too emotional. But I saw this in the bargain section and decided to give it a try. I have no regrets because I have returned many books if they do not interest me in the first few pages. I was very touched by Amanda's & Ruth's life and often cheered Ruth on for crossing so many milestones. I felt sorry for Amanda, losing both her daughter and sister on the same night and wished her life turned out differently. This is a keeper. If I were to pass this book to a friend, I will make sure to get it back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Gripping!

    This is the perfect book for readers who enjoy streching the imagination of interpersonal relationships and internal struggles. Unique characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    Couldn't Put it Down

    This was a great read, really enjoyed the characters. Although someone mentioned that it was confusing and jumped around a bit too much, for me this was the best part as the book worked backwards with memories and current issues for the characters. I didnt find it that predictable either, I was questioning what would happen with certain people constantly. Hope you enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    A wondeful tale

    This is a wonderful story, very easily read. I always try to read the Oprah recommended books and this one certainly did not disappoint me in the least. I felt compelled to keep reading, a real page turner that I could hardly put down. Please treat your self and read this gripping tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    MUST READ !!!

    Christina Schwarz is going to blossum as a writer. Drowning Ruth was a book I couldnt put down. I have passed it on to my friends and they enjoy it as much as I have. Cant wait for her second novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    A True Page Turner

    Drowning Ruth is a wonderfully suspenseful book. The plot is gripping, and the shifting points of view make it all the more interesting. Reader be warned: once you pick up this book, you won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    GREATEST BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!!!

    This book is the greatest book in the world I bought it maybe a couple of years ago and have read it many times after that.I am constantly recommending this to my friends.I think everyone should read this book.The details and the truth of this book are unbelievable!!!!!!!BUY THIS BOOK!!!Yes you must buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4