Customer Reviews for

Drowning Ruth

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing Mystery

I thouroughly enjoyed this book and found the characters to be interesting and I wanted to know more. The story is written in both first and third person and from different character perspectives. Their are many mysteries woven through this book and it has a rewarding...
I thouroughly enjoyed this book and found the characters to be interesting and I wanted to know more. The story is written in both first and third person and from different character perspectives. Their are many mysteries woven through this book and it has a rewarding ending although I would have liked to find a little more about the title character's future. When all the secrets are finally revealed you will be surprised by the outcome. I recommend this book for anyone wanting more that the regular chick lit that is out there.

posted by 3338342 on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ehh

It was ok......

posted by 8619682 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    OK Read

    I liked this book but it wasn't a favorite, too long, and sometimes confusing but interesting none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Highly reccomended!

    This is a fantastic book. A true page turner! I deffinatly suggest this book if you have time for a continuous read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    History repeats itself

    The sins of the fathers (and mothers) are visited on their children so intensely that sometimes in this novel it's hard to tell the generations apart. Yet each character has courage and redeeming qualities in a uniquely different way, is so finely delineated and his or her story is so well-told, they linger in memory long after the book is done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Good read

    I could not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Moving and Thought Provoking

    A thought provoking look at the human condition; the choices we think we have and the choices we make.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Interesting Read

    A little hard to follow at times (choppy in places) overall was a pretty good book. A little dark in places with ending leaving me feeling like "was that it?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    Decent Read

    Not my favorite book but an easy read. I wish there had not been as much jumping around from different perspectives in the beginning so that I could have formed more of a connection to the characters. I think that method can be very effective when used certain ways (such as House of Sand and Fog) but I think it prevented me from really getting to know the characters in this novel. Overall this is an interesting book with a unique story line and I am glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Recommend!

    Very interesting well written book. I liked it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    A little weird but a good story-

    A girl's life with her Aunt Mandy after she looses her mother and father and is off at war. You follow her strange life. I liked it, it kept you wondering. It was a little weird but a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    There were some parts of this book that was a bit slow, but I would say I definitely enjoyed it overall. Thought they were making a movie of this...I would like to see it if they decide to do so!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Intriguing and Suspenseful Plot; Interesting Characters

    I enjoyed this book very much and found it difficult to put down. I liked how the author jumped from telling the main story in third person but then jumped to first person on occasion so the reader could piece by piece get inside the minds of both Ruth and Amanda on a more personal level. Also, by letting us see how Ruth perceived the events of her life first as a small child, then as a young girl, as a teen and finally as a young woman, the author is able to slowly uncover what happened the night Ruth's mother drowns. My only disappointment was that some events were washed over. For example, I would have liked to see both Ruth and Amanda experience some more deeper and conflicted feelings about the death of Arthur's father. All in all, though, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't finish it

    I have had this book for a few years now and I just recently finished it. It took me awhile to get into the book and the constant character change annoyed me. If constant narration change doesn't bother you then you may enjoy this book. The story line was interesting but you cant tell what's going on with the main character. It keeps you guessing which was good. At the end of the book the author gives group questions and the story behind her writing Drowning Ruth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Great book!

    I really loved this book, especially all of the twists and turns. I finished it in about a day and a half. I highly recommend it for anyone looking to be engrossed in a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was looking for a book that would grab me, like I haven't had for quite a while. I must say, after reading Drowning Ruth, it definitely gave me what I was looking for. It was amazingly well written, had an interesting plot and made me never stop reading. The characters were very vivid and realistic, and often I felt that with the details I myself was there with them. I was slightly disappointed with the ending, being the romantic that I am I hoped Arthur and Ruth would live happily ever after and a dramatic love scene would occur, but I was glad they remained close friends with each other with the potential for more. Overall--- Fantastic! Definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A must read

    Even if you don't like to read, you will like this book. It grabs you immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    One of the best books I've ever read!

    I read this book about 2 or 3 years ago and still remember it as one of the most interesting books I've read. I will admit the book does start a little slow, but you have to give it a chance. I loved the twist and turns that this book produced. Again, I think that this is one of the best books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    A keeper!

    This was one of the most haunting books I have read in a long time. At first, I was hesitant to read it because of Oprah's recommendation. I love Oprah but sometimes her recommended books are sappy and often too emotional. But I saw this in the bargain section and decided to give it a try. I have no regrets because I have returned many books if they do not interest me in the first few pages. I was very touched by Amanda's & Ruth's life and often cheered Ruth on for crossing so many milestones. I felt sorry for Amanda, losing both her daughter and sister on the same night and wished her life turned out differently. This is a keeper. If I were to pass this book to a friend, I will make sure to get it back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Mysterious

    I enjoyed the different view points. The book was full of mystery and twists and turns. I was a little disappointed with the ending. I thought it would be more dramatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Bomb.

    Couldnt interest myself in it....as an avid reader, I love variety....this one was way out there......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Gripping!

    This is the perfect book for readers who enjoy streching the imagination of interpersonal relationships and internal struggles. Unique characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9