Customer Reviews for

The Druid of Shannara (Heritage of Shannara Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    This is Brook's at his best. Even if you're not a fan of fantasy

    This is Brook's at his best. Even if you're not a fan of fantasy this is a worthy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Druid of Shannara, the Heritage of Shannara series, Book 2

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Loved it!

    I do not know where to begin! This book has captured my interest and mind and I cannot forget it! Walker Boh is the most interesting character I have ever read about, though towards the middle he becomes secluded within himself, not really speaking or thinking much like he was in the beginning of the novel. I found myself waiting on the edge of my seat to see what was going to happen next with Morgan and Quickening! I almost cried towards the end! Oh the pain Morgan felt! Pe Ell was though, by farthest, my absolute favorite of them all! I was devestated when he passed away at the end! This was a truely excellent 2nd book to the four book series! Bravo Mr. Brooks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    The best Shannara book written!

    I have read every Shannara book written, and none are as good as the Druid of Shannara. It made me excited, it made me mad, it made me scared, and yes, it made me cry. Terry Brooks has set the bar, and this book will make you a Shannara fan forever. Read it. Even if you aren't interested in fanasy, you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    The Best Book in the Series....literally!!!

    This is the best one written. I have read all the books and am currently reading Tanequil. None of the books in the Shannara series I have read can compare to the Druid of Shannara! It is by far the most well-written book i have read. In fact, the entire heritage series is awesome, and I felt like I was one of the characters because it was so enjoyable and the plot is very deep. A must read for anybody. Drop what your are reading and get this!! It is truly amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    NOT HIS BEST PIECE

    It's been almost a year since I've read this, so cut me some slack. This one is proof that some authors just write books to show their readers that they're still alive. The part about them staying in that abandoned city at the end was way too long for me. It's also disappointing when someone's in trouble, the half-elf goes down, but with just a little bit more strentgh he overcomes. Brooks has a bad habit of doing that. Terry Brooks: A great fiction writer? Yes. The master of fantasy? NO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    best shannara book

    I have read them all and this is the best one in my opinion. The story never gets boring, its a constant adventure filled with new heros and new villians. If you bought Scions and weren't sure of continuing the series, do it. You will be glad you did so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    Great Read

    a book full of emotion, action, and always conflicting relationships, it is as good as #3 in the trilogy. Proof that Terry Brooks is truly a writing genius! I also claimed Morgan Leah my favorite character after this read, so read it, read 'em all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    One of the best

    I felt that after reading The Druid of Shannara that is was probably one of the best books of the series because of the characters and the new lands that they travel to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Amazing!

    Yes! It was fantastic! Amazing! I just couldn't wait to finish it, but as soon as I did In wished I hadn't. The characters were wonderful and Brooks can really capture the imagination of any reader of any age with his descriptions.In all, Walker Boh was my absolut favorite character, I really got to know him in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2000

    A magical book

    As a battle with the Shadowen grows stronger, so does the magic that Terry Brooks writes with. This book was a wonderful read and I suggest it to anyone with a strong imagination. The charaters Terry writes with are facinating, the Assasin Pe Ell, the One armed Walker Boh, the souther Highlander Morgan Leah,Quickening, the daughter of the King of the Silver River, and the evil Shadowen Rimmer Dall. The Group of Morgan, Walker, Pe Ell, and Quickening travel through amazing lands in their quest for the Black elfstone. The journy that the small group undertakes is full of deception, lies, love, courage, death, and mythical creatures you would only find in one of Terry's books. So if your searching for the perfect book for a teen reader, or picky Adult then look no further for the Druid of Shannara is the perfect gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    Enthralling

    I have read the entire Shannara Series twice and this is by the most suspensful of them all. Keep writing Terry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4