Customer Reviews for

Drummer Boy

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A superb supernatural ride!

    Scott Nicholson is an author I learned about this year when I interviewed him for The Skull Ring. I'm not exactly sure why I chose Drummer Boy as my first Scott Nicholson novel - he has quite a repertoire to choose from - but it was an excellent place to start.

    I haven't read much in the horror/supernatural realm in a long time. I used to read a LOT of Stephen King when I was younger. When King lost his edge, I more or less moved on to other genres - mostly fantasy and scifi. And after that I never really returned.

    That has just changed.

    Drummer Boy is one of those novels that creeps back into your thoughts long after reading it - in particular, the "Jangling Hole" and the darkness that lies within it. There's a realism to this story that's reminiscent of some of King's earlier work that I once loved. Not the graphic scenes of violence which I don't have much of a stomach for, but rather supernatural elements that have just enough reality in them to make you turn the lights on at night when you're alone. It's the kind of horror that reaches into the deep places where nightmares lurk and make them surface. This is my kind of fright.

    With Nicholson, you are in the hands of a master - a brilliant writer that portrays a gritty reality to his characters. They're flawed in one manner or another, but you can't help but empathize with their predicaments, especially Vernon Ray. I had quite a personal connection with this particular character - a reluctant hero who shows great resilience considering the harsh environment he's grown up in.

    I think one of the greatest strengths of this writer is the complexities so well weaved into these characters. They live a life you would want to very quickly remove yourself from, yet at the same time you can't help but be fascinated with them.

    Nicholson also references, what I suspect, are some events from The Red Church. This will likely be the next book of Nicholson's that I pick up. I'm also very tempted by The Skull Ring. Tough call!

    All in all, I have to say I'm so pleased to have rediscovered my love of horror through Nicholson. This is a name you should be adding to your TBR list. He's on mine!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    It ok

    It's ok - ehh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Dummer Boy is the second in a series following The Red Church.

    Dummer Boy is the second in a series following The Red Church. The setting is in Titusville – somewhere on the Appalachian Mountain Ridge. This area is deeply committed to its historic past of battles during the Civil War. Residents of this town are poor and stereo-typical back hills redneck types. The story centers around the civil war and it’s victims of long ago who still can be found near the Jangling Hole.

    Several people have fallen victim to the Jangling Hole and it’s spirit inhabitants. The Hole is stirred up when the mountain is slated to be a huge housing development. The spirits manifest and visit several residents who have ties to the long dead men. Within these residents is a young boy – Vernon Ray Davis who does not belong in the world of his father (although he longs for it) and does not belong in the world of the Jangling Hole residents.

    Vernon Ray Davis and his friends have multiple encounters with these spirits but ultimately, no one can save Vernon. He is faced with joining a world whose inhabitants have accepted him and given him what he has longed for – respect, and a coveted role of drummer boy or continue in the world where his father mocks and openly hates him. the jangling hole and it’s residents resonant with the rat-a-tat of the snare drum from the dead drummer boy who needs to be replaced.

    Officer Littlefield who was predominant in the first book – The Red Church – is not as involved as he is always a day late and a dollar short.

    The book had some harsh language but given the demographic it is written about, it only makes it more realistic. The plot and characters were well developed and believable.

    The narrator, Milton Bagby did an excellent job of reading the book. He spoke clearly and concisely.

    Audiobook provided for review by Scott Nicholson.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    [If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    fast-paced and creepy

    Titusville, NC is home to a number of Civil War reenacters, since it was the center of a conflict during which a number of soldiers ¿ from both sides ¿ deserted and ended up teaming together and creating Kirk¿s Raiders, a group who robbed and raped their away across the area. They were finally stopped when they were discovered holed up in a cave on Mulatto Mountain and walled in. To this day, the so-called Jangling Hole where Kirk¿s Raiders were supposedly killed is considered to be haunted. However, strange things are starting to happen in Titusville ¿ people are seeing strange people, dressed in the rags of Civil War uniforms. And Frank Littlefield is terribly afraid that there is about to be a repeat of the events in Whispering Pines that ended up leaving many people ¿ including his chief deputy Sheila Storey ¿ dead or missing. Are the ghosts of Kirk¿s Raiders rising up? If so, what is their purpose?

    Like the first book in the Frank Littlefield series, ¿Red Church,¿ Nicholson keeps the tension up and the scares plentiful in this paranormal suspense/horror novel that centers around a small town in North Carolina. His descriptions of the area are amazing and make the reader see the Blue Ridge mountains in vivid color. His characters are individually created to a degree where you feel you really know them, and I personally was so sad about who ended up losing in the end (read it to find out to whom I refer!). If you enjoy a book full of thrills, chills, action and fear, you should love Scott Nicholson¿s books, including this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Awesome Ghost Story!!

    I don't usually write reviews but after this book I had to. This book kept me locked in and I couldn't put it down. Through the entire book I felt like I was right there in the story. You have to read the first one in this series before this one. The Red Church. It's excellent as a standalone but several times in the story it makes mention of something from the first one. Can't say enough about this book. Best ghost story ever! Reminds me of Koontz or early Stephen King. Don't pass this one up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ghostly tale

    I read Scott Nicholson's "The Red Church" and saw "Drummer Boy" had a character from that book. I'm glad I tried it because this one is just as great! If you like Appalachian MOuntain legends with a modern twist, do yourself a favor and march with the drummer boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Scary

    I loved this book very scary couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1