Customer Reviews for

Drums of Autumn (Outlander Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1030 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(741)

4 Star

(190)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Chomping at the bit

Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get throug...
Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get through. I consciously decided to take my time on Drums of Autumn to ensure that I didn't confuse characters and muddle up story lines. In fact, it took me 6 months to read this book, and I really, really enjoyed it. The smaller stories within the book were so riveting this time. For the first time since starting this series, I am chomping at the bit to start the next book.

The only reason I gave this one four stars instead of five was the length of this book. I would have felt satisfied finishing about 3/4 of the way through. But otherwise, it was a great read.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Stop at Voyager

Do yourself a favor - quit while you're ahead. If you've read the first three books in the Outlander series, you'll regret reading this one. I know I did.

First things first - Brianna Randall/Fraser's character comes across as unlikeable to the extreme. Snotty. Rude....
Do yourself a favor - quit while you're ahead. If you've read the first three books in the Outlander series, you'll regret reading this one. I know I did.

First things first - Brianna Randall/Fraser's character comes across as unlikeable to the extreme. Snotty. Rude. Know-it-all. And as much as I thought I liked Roger MacKenzie/Wakefield in the third book, he doesn't fare much better in DoA. (Calling the infant child of the person you supposedly love a "parasite?" Nice...)

If you've made it this far in the series, you know what Jamie Fraser looks like. Tall, well built. Red hair, blue eyes. Long legs, scars on his back and right hand. We get it - really. We don't need to be reminded of how his hair looks in the firelight/candlelight/sunlight. Enough already. Same thing goes for Brianna. Looks like her dad. Tall. Red hair. Blue eyes.

Secondly - what is it about this series and the major characters being (or nearly being) sexually assaulted? Claire was nearly attacked twice in the first installment, and we all know what happened to Jamie at Wentworth. Then we learn that Fergus suffered at the hands of Jack Randall in Paris. Lord John Grey hits on Jamie while he's in Ardsmuir Prison, and then Brianna the Unlikeable is attacked in North Carolina.

I also noticed that Jamie seemed much more Scottish in Voyager and DoA. Much more Gaelic thrown around than in the previous books. I wish I had a nickel for every time someone said "aye." It was almost silly. I'm glad you had the chance to do more research (or pay someone to do it for you) but I felt that it was unnecessary. There wasn't that much Gaelic in the other stories that actually took place in Scotland, so why interject it when they're in NC?

The whole book felt as if it were something that was patched together in a rush and did not flow. Going back and forth from Claire's perspective to the third person was confusing at times and added to the "disjointed" feel of the story.

Roger lacks Jamie's charm and charisma and is not at all appealing; and Brianna doesn't hold a candle to either Jamie or Claire. I will not be reading any further in the series,as I'm satisfied that Claire and Jamie are together again. I can't imagine how contrived the remaining installments might be.

posted by Mrs_Bean on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1041 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 53
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chomping at the bit

    Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get through. I consciously decided to take my time on Drums of Autumn to ensure that I didn't confuse characters and muddle up story lines. In fact, it took me 6 months to read this book, and I really, really enjoyed it. The smaller stories within the book were so riveting this time. For the first time since starting this series, I am chomping at the bit to start the next book.

    The only reason I gave this one four stars instead of five was the length of this book. I would have felt satisfied finishing about 3/4 of the way through. But otherwise, it was a great read.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Stop at Voyager

    Do yourself a favor - quit while you're ahead. If you've read the first three books in the Outlander series, you'll regret reading this one. I know I did.

    First things first - Brianna Randall/Fraser's character comes across as unlikeable to the extreme. Snotty. Rude. Know-it-all. And as much as I thought I liked Roger MacKenzie/Wakefield in the third book, he doesn't fare much better in DoA. (Calling the infant child of the person you supposedly love a "parasite?" Nice...)

    If you've made it this far in the series, you know what Jamie Fraser looks like. Tall, well built. Red hair, blue eyes. Long legs, scars on his back and right hand. We get it - really. We don't need to be reminded of how his hair looks in the firelight/candlelight/sunlight. Enough already. Same thing goes for Brianna. Looks like her dad. Tall. Red hair. Blue eyes.

    Secondly - what is it about this series and the major characters being (or nearly being) sexually assaulted? Claire was nearly attacked twice in the first installment, and we all know what happened to Jamie at Wentworth. Then we learn that Fergus suffered at the hands of Jack Randall in Paris. Lord John Grey hits on Jamie while he's in Ardsmuir Prison, and then Brianna the Unlikeable is attacked in North Carolina.

    I also noticed that Jamie seemed much more Scottish in Voyager and DoA. Much more Gaelic thrown around than in the previous books. I wish I had a nickel for every time someone said "aye." It was almost silly. I'm glad you had the chance to do more research (or pay someone to do it for you) but I felt that it was unnecessary. There wasn't that much Gaelic in the other stories that actually took place in Scotland, so why interject it when they're in NC?

    The whole book felt as if it were something that was patched together in a rush and did not flow. Going back and forth from Claire's perspective to the third person was confusing at times and added to the "disjointed" feel of the story.

    Roger lacks Jamie's charm and charisma and is not at all appealing; and Brianna doesn't hold a candle to either Jamie or Claire. I will not be reading any further in the series,as I'm satisfied that Claire and Jamie are together again. I can't imagine how contrived the remaining installments might be.

    11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    OK

    Loved the first one could not put it down, I have read most of her books and I must say each new book seems to go on and on and on more and more! cut to the chase! it would make for better reading....

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    so good

    I love this series. You have to start from the beginning and read them in order. This book wasn't my favorite in the series, but it is definitely worth reading and seeing what new adventures Jamie and Claire get themselves into. I think I would read anything that Jamie Fraser is in. I highly recommend this series to anyone that loves historical romance, scottish romance or science fiction romance. This series has it all and this book doesn't disappoint.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Breathtaking

    Drums of Autumn is part 4 of one of the most engrossing series that I've ever read and I highly recommend it to everyone. The relationships are deep and the landscape is rich and the amount of history is nearly overwhelming. You'll want to read it over and over again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    A Good read

    I have just completed Drums of Autumn. Although it is long the only thing that was annoying for me was the overly long drawn out descriptions of some of the events especially when it came to Roger. It was too drawn out. I have started on the next book and that one repeats quite a few pages from this book before finally starting out. I hope its worth it, I would like to continue enjoying these books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More Drama

    Just when you think Jamie and Claire have finally found peace...MORE DRAMA is added into the mix and this time it's in the form of Stephen Bonnet. Grrrr! On a good note: I enjoyed the addition of Brianna and Roger; however, I did get bored with their story in the first half of the book. Yet, during the second half, I got aggravated and annoyed but that shows how good of an author DB is. She sure knows how to introduce conflict in a story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Read all these in the series

    There are 7 books so far in this series about Jamie and Claire. They keep you on pins and needles and you're unable to put them down. Drums of Autumn is #4 and I'm on #6 and still can't wait to read the next page !! Wonderful, captures you with each book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read!

    I throughly enjoyed this book! Claire and Jamie are in the Carolina colony and are joined by their daughter Brianna and then her boyfriend Roger from the 1960's. Much strife and turmoil ensue leading up to the Gathering of the new world clans.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    A great book to curl up with

    this is the 4 book in the series,I highly recommend it, and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    WOW!!!

    Diana Galbaldon gets better and better with each book. This book just flowed for me. Every page every word. I never wanted it to end. The search for Roger had me on the edge of my seat. Again DG leaves nothing unanswered in the end. As an avid reader thankyou for that.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    IF YOU LIKE HISTORICAL fICTION, THIS IS THE GREATEST TO READ.

    I HAVE SO ENJOYED THIS SERIES BY DIANA GABALDON, I HOPE THEY NEVER END.
    yOU MUST READ THESE BOOKS.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    A++

    I am giving the Series an A++. All of the books must be read to enjoy the next. I have read them all 3 times, and find more details with every new read. The characters are deep and always evolving. It has been a PLEASURE to find this author!!!! I always look forward to the next book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    weakest link of the series

    Book 1: could not put it down
    2: not quite as riveting, but still an excellent adventure
    books 3 and 4: started to drag for me. This one the story seemed to move the slowest. I didn't care for some of the new characters in this book and Bree's trip back lacked Claire's trips adventure.
    In the big picture it is a wonderfully crative series....but this one wasn't my favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Unable to spare time, so I listened while I worked!

    Getting this far into the series, means many hours spent reading... I don't have the time I wish I had to read (novels up to 1400 pages or more) - I read "The Outlander",then I gave in to my family's plea of "please stop reading!" So, I bought the 2nd book as an "audiobook" - in the form of many cd's... Then immediately read the third book - to the further annoyance of my family - then when I threatened to read the 4th book "Drums of Autumn", I was convinced that I needed to be a part of the here and now, so I stuck my headset on, and my body participated in the events of the day, but my mind was definitely not in the here or now, I downloaded the audio book onto my ipod, where I could listen while I walked the dog, exercised, and cleaned the house, drove my car.. etc. Please Diana, don't stop writing, I prefer living in the 1700's (except with electricity, air conditioning, transportation, hot baths, grocery stores,and day to day conveniences) just kidding, I know what a wimp I am, I can't even survive a night camping - let alone go through one day in Claires shoes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Double the Wonder

    This is the book I'm currently reading in the series. So far I've laughed, I've been angry, and I've been more frustrated than the first 3 books put together! And yet I can't put it down. It's just that great. And it's my favorite so far, hands down. Watching Brianna with her father... it's so touching and so beautiful... I highly recommend this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Bobyo

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Best series ever

    Iv read the whole series twice and have the "book hangover" from this series. Iv even bought hard copies couldnt put it down anxiously waiting next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I've enjoyed every book!

    I've enjoyed every book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    A great storyteller

    Diana Gabaldon crafts her story well with incredible insight into human behavior. From the second book in this series until now, in the fifth book, the characters are true and believable. It is a fantastic read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1041 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 53