Customer Reviews for

Drums of Autumn (Outlander Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1034 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(743)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Chomping at the bit

Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get throug...
Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get through. I consciously decided to take my time on Drums of Autumn to ensure that I didn't confuse characters and muddle up story lines. In fact, it took me 6 months to read this book, and I really, really enjoyed it. The smaller stories within the book were so riveting this time. For the first time since starting this series, I am chomping at the bit to start the next book.

The only reason I gave this one four stars instead of five was the length of this book. I would have felt satisfied finishing about 3/4 of the way through. But otherwise, it was a great read.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Stop at Voyager

Do yourself a favor - quit while you're ahead. If you've read the first three books in the Outlander series, you'll regret reading this one. I know I did.

First things first - Brianna Randall/Fraser's character comes across as unlikeable to the extreme. Snotty. Rude....
Do yourself a favor - quit while you're ahead. If you've read the first three books in the Outlander series, you'll regret reading this one. I know I did.

First things first - Brianna Randall/Fraser's character comes across as unlikeable to the extreme. Snotty. Rude. Know-it-all. And as much as I thought I liked Roger MacKenzie/Wakefield in the third book, he doesn't fare much better in DoA. (Calling the infant child of the person you supposedly love a "parasite?" Nice...)

If you've made it this far in the series, you know what Jamie Fraser looks like. Tall, well built. Red hair, blue eyes. Long legs, scars on his back and right hand. We get it - really. We don't need to be reminded of how his hair looks in the firelight/candlelight/sunlight. Enough already. Same thing goes for Brianna. Looks like her dad. Tall. Red hair. Blue eyes.

Secondly - what is it about this series and the major characters being (or nearly being) sexually assaulted? Claire was nearly attacked twice in the first installment, and we all know what happened to Jamie at Wentworth. Then we learn that Fergus suffered at the hands of Jack Randall in Paris. Lord John Grey hits on Jamie while he's in Ardsmuir Prison, and then Brianna the Unlikeable is attacked in North Carolina.

I also noticed that Jamie seemed much more Scottish in Voyager and DoA. Much more Gaelic thrown around than in the previous books. I wish I had a nickel for every time someone said "aye." It was almost silly. I'm glad you had the chance to do more research (or pay someone to do it for you) but I felt that it was unnecessary. There wasn't that much Gaelic in the other stories that actually took place in Scotland, so why interject it when they're in NC?

The whole book felt as if it were something that was patched together in a rush and did not flow. Going back and forth from Claire's perspective to the third person was confusing at times and added to the "disjointed" feel of the story.

Roger lacks Jamie's charm and charisma and is not at all appealing; and Brianna doesn't hold a candle to either Jamie or Claire. I will not be reading any further in the series,as I'm satisfied that Claire and Jamie are together again. I can't imagine how contrived the remaining installments might be.

posted by Mrs_Bean on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1045 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    not my fave in the series

    but still worth the read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Weak Link

    The fourth in the Outlander series. Claire, a 20th century Englishwoman steps through a circle of stones and is transported 200 years back in time, where she falls in love with 18th century Scotsman, Jamie Fraser. Some reviewers comment that this is the weak link in the series. I agree. While Jamie and Claire fascinate me, and I cannot get enough of them, there were other characters who did not interest me at all. Overall, this is an excellent author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    The Journey of Seth Part 10

    Hey everyone! I finally have it down to where I can post one part a week. It's the best I can do. Anyway, next part at book 5. This part is in Brianna's p.o.v. On with the story! ~~~ We had been traveling for a few hours, and nothing had happened yet. Things were a little too quiet. I didn't like it. "Guys, do you think it's too quiet?" "Well I've been trying to keep a conversation going, but you both won't say anything." David said. "No I mean nothing has happened yet." Seth pulled his pocket watch out, "She's right. Everyone keep your guard up." We walked into the late hours of the night. "Alright, let's stop and rest." Seth volunteered to take first watch. I was going to protest, but I hadn't realized exactly how tired I was. I fell asleep almost immediately. It was strange though, while I was asleep I didn't dream. That was highly unusual. I woke up and noticed Seth was gone. I looked around and decided he must've walked into the woods. That thought was quickly pushed aside when I noticed his pocket watch was on the ground. He wouldn't leave without it. I should've woken David, but I was scared. I ran into the woods and quickly ran into a clearing. I saw Seth was hung upside down on a branch. He was unconcious. I ran over to the tree and quicky scaled it. What could have done this? That question was answered as soon as the monster walked into the clearing. He was a large grey cyclops. Everything about him was grey. Hair, eye, armor, and even his club. He looked up at me and roared in his rage. He raised his club and was about to strike me. I managed to get out of the way at the last second. "Foolish demigod! You shouldn't have intruded! This one must pay for his elder crimes!" "I think you have the wrong demigod." "Nonsense I can smell his blood! Now die!" He charged again. I drew my spear. I barely managed to dodge once again. I got behind the cyclops and thrusted my spear upwards. It collided against his armor though. I needed to think of something. I climbed the tree again and leaped off of a long branch. I stabbed the cyclops directly in the eye, and before he disintergrated he managed to land a hit on me with his club. I flew back and hit a tree. I blacked out..... ~1911

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    This book was good, but I am getting tired of the length and rep

    This book was good, but I am getting tired of the length and repetition of the books. I think they could be more consise. I'm all for a good long book, but sometimes the length takes away from the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm~38

    I'm back! I think only a couple more parts left :( I'll be sad when the story is over. Lets not dwell on the future, though! Next part at the next outlander book. This part will be in Merida's pov! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ The stupid train tipped over! An ugly werewolf was trying to eat us! And my boyfriend electrocuted a train full of people! Could this day get any worse? Let me answer that question for you. It can get worse! The werewolf was crushed by the side of the train. We crawled out of the wreck. Lauren and Kolby were sitting next to each other. When did that happen? Jackel's bow had snapped and Kara let him use one of her daggers. Austin was trying to get Pepper to noitice him by picking up stray metal pieces. Jack was cracking up when he dropped the metal piece on his toe. Jay was sitting all alone. I walked over to him and sat down." Do you know where we are?", I asked him. He shrugged," Somewhere near Charlotte.", he said, in a bummed tone." What's wrong?", I asked." I hate being... not smart! Everyone else is so smart and they know what to do. But even when I try to act smart, it doesn't work and I get into trouble.", he said, frustrated. I leaned on his shoulder." Well, I think your smart." " Really?", he asked. I shrugged," Sure! Sometimes you just have to act like your smart. Or try really hard." Jay nodded. Then he sighed." Do you see that cave over there?", he pointed over a hill. I looked over and there was a cave." Yeah. What about it?" " If you look closely you'll see the entrance is covered in ice." I looked closer. A thin sheet of ice covered the entrance of the cave. I shouted to the others," We found a cave, guys!" We all made our way to the cave and broke the ice. It completely dark inside. It was also cold and icey." Well, who wants to go in with me?", I asked the group. Kara's, Simon's and Jay's hands shot up." Hmmmm.", I said, tapping my chin.~~~~~~~~~ CLIFFHANGER! Hope you guys liked it! SEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    To 1911

    Really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    To SEA

    Post soon plus Happy Birthday ~ Jackel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    To Sea

    Please right soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    For those of us that are caught up in the Outlander fever, and I am very much one of those, this book brings a lot of the plot lines together and helps answer questions that lay in the background. I know there are more books to come but each book I have enjoyed completely. The history, the culture, the cultural differences between Clara and James as well as a look at what real relationships are to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    A real page turner. VERY difficult to put down.

    Gabaldon has a true gift for plot development. Just when you think you've figured everything out, she throws a curve ball. Can't wait to start #5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Diana Gabaldon writes wonderful books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Drizzlefire

    Autumnshade??" He whispered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Highly recommened

    The book was so interesting and fast moving. It was hard to put it down. I love all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    AutumnLeaf

    Cries softly. The clans dying. RP IS DYING TO MANY PEOPLE ARE LEAVING DX DX DX

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    3rd time to read still great

    In prep of 8th book reading all from the begining. They are all still great reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    The saga continues

    Jaime and Claire continue in the Colonies and are joined by their daughter Bree. Much heartache and many adventures as usual, but all s well that ends well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Good

    The adventures just keep on coming. Jamie and Clare are larger than life. Their arguments have toned down w/their age which I am glad for. But Bree has picked up w/all the drama. Too much......gosh were we all so dramatic in our 20's? It does though keep the adventures coming. Looking forward to book 5 - will there be a fire, will we meet up w/young Ian again, a new stone circle, what happens after the gathering, will we see John and William again, what impact will Rodger's religion play on Frasier's Ridge?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Diana Gabaldon is a great author!

    I have not read this book yet. I am sure that it is an excellent book as the other ones have been.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Highly recommend

    If you are an Outlander fan, you know how great these books are, what a great storyteller Diana Gabaldon is. I first read these books years ago and I want to read them again on my Nook, where I can enlarge the print for my old eyes. If you have not read any of these books, you should begin with the first one and go from there. OUTLANDER - Book I is going to be a mini-series on Stars soon. Would be good to read the book then watch the series, if you can afford Stars, which I cannot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Hooked on this series

    Hooked on this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1045 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53