Customer Reviews for

Drums of Autumn (Outlander Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1043 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(750)

4 Star

(192)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Chomping at the bit

Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get throug...
Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get through. I consciously decided to take my time on Drums of Autumn to ensure that I didn't confuse characters and muddle up story lines. In fact, it took me 6 months to read this book, and I really, really enjoyed it. The smaller stories within the book were so riveting this time. For the first time since starting this series, I am chomping at the bit to start the next book.

The only reason I gave this one four stars instead of five was the length of this book. I would have felt satisfied finishing about 3/4 of the way through. But otherwise, it was a great read.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Stop at Voyager

Do yourself a favor - quit while you're ahead. If you've read the first three books in the Outlander series, you'll regret reading this one. I know I did.

First things first - Brianna Randall/Fraser's character comes across as unlikeable to the extreme. Snotty. Rude....
Do yourself a favor - quit while you're ahead. If you've read the first three books in the Outlander series, you'll regret reading this one. I know I did.

First things first - Brianna Randall/Fraser's character comes across as unlikeable to the extreme. Snotty. Rude. Know-it-all. And as much as I thought I liked Roger MacKenzie/Wakefield in the third book, he doesn't fare much better in DoA. (Calling the infant child of the person you supposedly love a "parasite?" Nice...)

If you've made it this far in the series, you know what Jamie Fraser looks like. Tall, well built. Red hair, blue eyes. Long legs, scars on his back and right hand. We get it - really. We don't need to be reminded of how his hair looks in the firelight/candlelight/sunlight. Enough already. Same thing goes for Brianna. Looks like her dad. Tall. Red hair. Blue eyes.

Secondly - what is it about this series and the major characters being (or nearly being) sexually assaulted? Claire was nearly attacked twice in the first installment, and we all know what happened to Jamie at Wentworth. Then we learn that Fergus suffered at the hands of Jack Randall in Paris. Lord John Grey hits on Jamie while he's in Ardsmuir Prison, and then Brianna the Unlikeable is attacked in North Carolina.

I also noticed that Jamie seemed much more Scottish in Voyager and DoA. Much more Gaelic thrown around than in the previous books. I wish I had a nickel for every time someone said "aye." It was almost silly. I'm glad you had the chance to do more research (or pay someone to do it for you) but I felt that it was unnecessary. There wasn't that much Gaelic in the other stories that actually took place in Scotland, so why interject it when they're in NC?

The whole book felt as if it were something that was patched together in a rush and did not flow. Going back and forth from Claire's perspective to the third person was confusing at times and added to the "disjointed" feel of the story.

Roger lacks Jamie's charm and charisma and is not at all appealing; and Brianna doesn't hold a candle to either Jamie or Claire. I will not be reading any further in the series,as I'm satisfied that Claire and Jamie are together again. I can't imagine how contrived the remaining installments might be.

posted by Mrs_Bean on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chomping at the bit

    Since I started reading this series, I have been compelled to continue even if I wasn't in the mood for Gabaldon's books. This book was definitely different than the first three. I enjoyed "The Outlander" but the next two books were quite a struggle for me to get through. I consciously decided to take my time on Drums of Autumn to ensure that I didn't confuse characters and muddle up story lines. In fact, it took me 6 months to read this book, and I really, really enjoyed it. The smaller stories within the book were so riveting this time. For the first time since starting this series, I am chomping at the bit to start the next book.

    The only reason I gave this one four stars instead of five was the length of this book. I would have felt satisfied finishing about 3/4 of the way through. But otherwise, it was a great read.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    so good

    I love this series. You have to start from the beginning and read them in order. This book wasn't my favorite in the series, but it is definitely worth reading and seeing what new adventures Jamie and Claire get themselves into. I think I would read anything that Jamie Fraser is in. I highly recommend this series to anyone that loves historical romance, scottish romance or science fiction romance. This series has it all and this book doesn't disappoint.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    A Good read

    I have just completed Drums of Autumn. Although it is long the only thing that was annoying for me was the overly long drawn out descriptions of some of the events especially when it came to Roger. It was too drawn out. I have started on the next book and that one repeats quite a few pages from this book before finally starting out. I hope its worth it, I would like to continue enjoying these books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    not my fave in the series

    but still worth the read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Review actually about the BOOK

    First, if you want to pretend to be a supe find an online forum for Truebie teenagers and have at it. Likewise if you wish to write your own fiction - if you think you've the talent to get novels published on Galbadon's scale, have at it. This area ismeant for reviews of her books.

    As to DoA, it can be a bit repetitive.and gratuitous (we are becomng bored with C & J's sex life faster than they are apparently); and overly descriptive. Think of J Auel's books, where eventually you know how to knap flint and tan hides if you ever get transported to prehistoric eras.

    However, like those books,the sheer magnetism of the storylines and characters carry you past all that. If you have found yourself simply having to know what came next for these adventurers in the past, this will be no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    The saga continues

    Jaime and Claire continue in the Colonies and are joined by their daughter Bree. Much heartache and many adventures as usual, but all s well that ends well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Good

    The adventures just keep on coming. Jamie and Clare are larger than life. Their arguments have toned down w/their age which I am glad for. But Bree has picked up w/all the drama. Too much......gosh were we all so dramatic in our 20's? It does though keep the adventures coming. Looking forward to book 5 - will there be a fire, will we meet up w/young Ian again, a new stone circle, what happens after the gathering, will we see John and William again, what impact will Rodger's religion play on Frasier's Ridge?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    I love this Outlander Series, but I hate the bad language. I lo

    I love this Outlander Series, but I hate the bad language. I love the romance between Jamie and Clarie, but I would like less vivid details. I am not a prude, but really!

    All in all, I love the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Jamie and Claire continue their adventures!

    Book deals with the further adventures of Claire and Jamie as they continue move from one continent to another and how they learned to adapt to their new environments. If you enjoyed the previous books you will enjoy this one also. I must admit as times, it got a little too wordy and so I scanned those parts. Didn't make me lose track of the story line. Learned lots of history about the time period and look forward to see what happens to them next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    A must if you have read the first books.

    This book is good, but I have to say I liked the first books better. In the beginning it is slow and took some time to get invested. It does get better towards the middle and is worth the wait. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Anonymous # 4 drums of autumn: Outlander series

    This is the first book I have heard of in the Outlander series. What I have read so far I have enjoyed, can' t wait to finish this one so I can read more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Great continuance with continued twists and turns that keep you glued!

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    great read

    I have been addicted to this series love the writer. Just keeps me coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    highly recomend

    love the book .Keeps your interest and want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I was hoping the author could continue the magic that has surrounded this series since I began it. While this is the first in the series that did not get a 5 rating from me, I still wasn't disappointed. I've got a couple things I think make the story a little different that the first 3. My first thing is that Jaime and Claire have almost settled down it seems. Besides the Indians and living in the complete wild, there doesn't seem to be as much danger or intrigue as before. It's not really a bad thing, it's just a change of pace that you aren't really ready for. And funny, I never thought myself as the harlequin romance type, I kind of missed that all out passion that Jaime and Claire have. It's kind of absent in this book (not so much the feeling but that act). And last, I didn't like Brianna in the past. She's a modern young women who refuses to acknowledge that her ideals do not really have place in the 1700's. Claire seemed to step right into that past and find her place. I think Brianna will be ok, but only because she will be surrounded by those who know or come from the future as well.
    Now, all that being said, I still really liked the book. I love the history that is woven in. I think it's admirable how Jamie and Claire carve a niche out for themselves in the colonies. All this while trying to keep themselves in the background to avoid any political ties because they know they aren't far from the Revolution. I liked the dealings with the Indians. I learned a few things I didn't know and shed some light on things I really wouldn't have understood. It still beautifully written even if it can seem a bit long. I will be looking forward to the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great one in the book series-

    This is a great book series that you will really enjoy. This is one of my favorite books in the series. I enjoyed this book a lot. Claire's daughter, Brianna ends up going back through the stones to meet her real father, who she has never met, Jamie and to see her mother Claire. It is so hard to stop reading these books, I am so interested in historical fiction and this is a great book in the series. Warning: Once you start these books, it will be hard to stop. I highly recommend these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Claire and Jamie Again

    Book three of the series was rather tedious, but Diana Gabaldon was back on track with Drums of Autumn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is amazing!

    I have come to love all of Diana Gabaldon's books, She is a stupendous writer and I admore her 100 percent. I recommend all of her books simply because she weaves a beautiful web of romance, mystery, adventure, and escape. This book has touched me in many ways. Thank you Diana Gabaldon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10