Customer Reviews for

Dry: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Loved it

    This is the second book i've read from this author. I loved the book. Love the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    caution do not put this book down

    AA members can relate and laugh along as well as cringe

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Excellent writing style. I love his books and story-telling abil

    Excellent writing style. I love his books and story-telling ability. This is the 3rd book I've read from this author and I plan to read more. He is able to draw you into each situation and you can actually feel what he is describing. Exceptional writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Great but...

    Not as graphic as his last book which i personally preferred. It starts great but it seemed very short on the rehab part of his addiction. Then it was all emotional boring items and felt very repetative when he tried to stop drinking. But overall a great book highly recommened!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    rung "Dry"

    This was the kind of book for me, that I wanted to keep reading but I was drawn in so much by him that I'd have to put it down and actually take a rest from it. I just love the way he writes. He doesn't mince words, gets right to the point. This, of course, makes it really harsh at times and you just want to drag him right out of the book and make him stop whatever self destructive behavior he's involved in at the time.
    You definitely feel like you've been rung "Dry" by the time your done reading this.
    I'd read Running with Scissors and thought I'd read something else by A. Burroughs and I will continue reading more of his work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Remarkable enough to make me cry

    I've read all of Augusten's books and this one no doubt is my favorite. I had a difficult time putting the book down. It's written in such a way that you feel as though you are going through the motions (and emotions) with him. Powerful ending, I was sobbing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    He is worth reading

    I think he writes with honesty, cynicism, and with heart..what more could you want? I highly recommend reading all his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    compelling, funny, and first rate

    What a solid follow up to Running With Scissors. It's so nice that it isn't a let down after his brilliant, bestselling, and critically acclaimed account of his bizarre childhood. Dry is a must read on so many different and significant levels. It is at once profound and riotously funny--makes you stop and consider the consequences of your own behavior and laugh until your guts hurt. What more can you ask from a book? Like his previous literary efforts, this one is well worth the price . . . and then some.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Silverbells

    A silver she tabby with ice blue eyes walks in."i.......I need to get help!"


    Nice,loyal,single,wants a mate. I am ALWAYS on.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    WARNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    SPIRITHEART IS HAVING HER KITS!!!!!!!!! (Nursery at result 8)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Heathertail

    I would like to be considered for deputy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Sunslash

    Her ears perk up "no not me..........i wish"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Cave

    Uhh.. im a tom

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Emeraldmist

    I would like to be considered for deputy please.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Silverstream

    Pads in carrying a two rabbits a squirrel and a bird she sits them on the fresh kill pile and begins to groom

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Stormshimmer

    Hello she meows.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I recently requested a sample of this book and felt it would be

    I recently requested a sample of this book and felt it would be a good read. Boy...was I wrong!!! Where the sample left off on my nook, I began to read & the book took a turn from 4 the worse!!! It wasn't about a man who found the strenght to over come his addictions. It became a flat out GAY book about his lovers & love life etc. etc. etc. I was soo disappoint NOT to mention mislead by the sample of the first few charpters!!! This book should have been under Gay & Lesbian NOT Addiction & Recovery!!! I didnt even finish this piece of trash book NOr will I recommend it to anyone! Save your money & time...I beg of you! The author wrote this book for a quick dollar AND in my opinion for a hook up down the road with other men!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Could not put it down

    From the first lines of the book, I was brought right into the world of the author. Sincere, hilarious, sad and thought-provoking.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    He is too wonderful

    A.B. you help bring a perspective of abuse, use, survival, humor and anger to my life as a mental health provider that I can get no where else. Thank you sir for making me better at my job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14