Customer Reviews for

Dry: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    caution do not put this book down

    AA members can relate and laugh along as well as cringe

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Sobering story (no pun intended) Having read "Running With

    Sobering story (no pun intended)
    Having read "Running With Scissors," the prequel to this memoir, I cannot help but draw comparisons to
    the memoir "'Tis," Frank McCourts followup to his moving childhood story, "Angela's Ashes." Both Running with Scissors and Angela's Ashes are gritty stories of growing up in extremely difficult circumstances in extremely dysfunctional family settings, and yet despite the environments these children grew up in, their stories are told with humor and the sort of tone you might expect from an innocent child who knows no other way of life. Of course, in both stories, the reader knows that the child will grow into adulthood without many of the basic tools needed to lead "normal" productive lives. Both "'Tis" and "Dry" demonstrate that what happened to these children, was plain and simply not funny. Augusten Burroughs is adept, however, in framing his adult struggle with sobriety with all the emotions that come with the human condition--sadness, anger--and yes, humor. I found myself rooting for him. If you are expecting another Running With Scissors, you will be disappointed, but if you are looking for a truthful narrative about one man's struggle with alcoholism, it is well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    A haunting memoir

    Augusten is easy to love. The detail in his memoir makes me feel like I have sat next to him during the darkest nights of his life. His writing leaves the reader as a witness to his inner voice, his personal narrative on himself and those around him. I feel like I understand him and I can relate. This book is intense and at times overwhelming. I like to read in bed just before I turn out the lights but I found myself staying up all night because I couldn't fall asleep without knowing the outcome of a situation Augusten was sharing. This is a fabulous follow up to his first memoir Running With Scissors but can stand alone as well. I read this because after his first memoir I felt like I had to know what happened next in his life. I wanted to know if he was ok. I found myself really caring about him. This memoir left me with the same feeling. I want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Overall great and compelling

    Dry is a pretty great book. I found myself (a straight person) relating not only to a gay love story, but also to the life of someone battling the chemicals Burroughs is. It does drag at parts, but over all is cuttingly funny, dampened soberingly by the downside of alcoholism, and come together in a great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Writer

    This is the 1st Augeusten Burroughs book that I have read. I have a read a lot of memoirs about addiction. I liked his humor with his descriptive writing. He has a great way of you visualizing what he is writing. I could say it was a book I couldn't put down. I didn't quite care for the parts about his sexual encounters. It kind of grossed me out. Would I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys memoirs? yes. Would I read another book by this author? probably not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Brilliant Memoir

    Augusten Burroughs is one of my favorite writers, he's unbelievably honest and darkly funny, but also his stories come from the heart. Burroughs has a way of making humor out of things that would horrify most people. In Augusten's first memoir, Running with Scissors, the reader was amazed that he survived such a strange childhood. In Dry, the reader is amazed that Augusten could survive through such extreme substance abuse. Dry is deeper and more powerful than Running with Scissors. It's easy for the reader to forget that it's even the same Augusten. Of course, the reader is reminded from time to time when Augusten makes a reference to his insane mother or his 30-year old childhood lover. Now, as an adult, Augusten works as an advertising sales agent with the unbelievable talent to make things seem better than they actually are. He doesn't even believe he has a alcohol problem until his boss insists he goes to rehab. Augusten's story, though, is a heroic one. The reader takes the journey to sobriety with Augusten. And he is amazed almost as much as the reader is that he has been able to overcome the things he's been through. Furthermore, Dry is a wonderful insight into an addict's life. It's far worse than I could've ever imagined. The book is filled with pages that will make your jaw drop and others that will make you laugh out loud. And in the end, the reader will be thankful that Burroughs overcame his problems and wrote this brilliant memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    EXCELLENT READ

    I bought the book last Sat nite, couldn't put it down and stayed up until 1:00am. Read as much as I could all week and was done this morning. Really didnt' want it to end since I loved it so much. Was sad but I laughed in many parts. I could really understand his sarcasm and the way he uses humor to get thru life. Can't wait to read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    I recommend this book to everyone who is in recovery or everyone who knows someone in recovery, that being just about everyone in general. It is funny and it is heartbreaking but mostly is it real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dry goes through Augusten Burroughs story of his addiction of cocaine, alochol and crack to stop reminding him of his past and present. after his friends noticed what trouble he was going through, they send him to rehab. Once he got out of rehab he had a trouble trying to deal with staying sober and not turn back to substances. After having work and life stress him out he still remains out of his old day habits. I liked reading this book because it showed a different part of how life could be. He showed even in the toughest of times he fould parts that could be funny. I liked that it was uplifting to the reader and you showed motivation. There wasnt much to this book that I didnt enjoy, overall I found it very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    Funny!

    Sorry, but you can't beat 'Running with Scissors'. This was still a good, funny entertaining story. But I was spoiled by 'Running with Scissors'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Good Read

    After reading Running With Scissors, I was a little more convinced of Burrough's struggles with his demons in Dry. I would have liked a little more realism of his days in the rehab. The physical aspects of coming off of alcohol are too quickly forgotten here. But his walking through the second bout of fallout is heartfelt and understandable. Great sense of humor. Please read review of Running With Scissors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Must Read of Addiction

    This book was moving, touching, funny, sad and tramatic at the same time. In one paragraph you go from Laughing to crying. For anyone who knows someone (or themselves) with an addiction, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    A great ad man, but...

    ...does Burrough's have the stuff in him to step up to the plate? Much like his adopted namesake, he tackles some pretty raw territory. And, whether it's affected or not, some insights into his very shallow outward life. That being said, there aren't many good stories that give most normal people a view from the eyes of an addict, and 'Dry' delivers on that note. It is also a beautiful, honest portrait of grief and denial. I read this in my first year of sobriety and while I DO NOT recommend skipping important things like going to meetings, getting a sponsor, etc., 'Dry' definately offers hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2003

    Total addiction made personal...

    I bought Running with Scissors so I could read it first and understand where this man's life had led him...it was not necessary...this book stands on it's own and will hit many cords with the addicted and those who love and live with them...he makes you feel and internalize the 'relapse' as a forse of it's own that is virtually impossible to control and he lets you see what 'rock bottom' really means...how pathetically we try and how far we will really go to placate the monster inside...a wonderful work...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    Eye-Opening

    Dry is certainly eye-opening. It is a collection of events that make you feel lucky to be alive and healthy and able to face another day. You have never realized how difficult addiction can be until you have read this novel. The subjects may be hard to deal with for some readers though. The one thing that I did not really care for was the fact that it lacks innocence. For a story about self-issues that is somewhat tamer and more innocent, I would recommend the fantastic new release, Lucky Monkeys In The Sky. It deals with similar pyschological matters, but it feels more honest to me. Otherwise, Dry is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2