Customer Reviews for

The Dry Grass of August

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I savored every page! Excellent!

Wonderful southern lit! This is another powerful piece set against historical background, reminiscent of THE HELP, which I absolutely loved. Through the eyes of 13 year old, Jubie, captured by the language of the time, the believable, beautiful, heart-felt story of fami...
Wonderful southern lit! This is another powerful piece set against historical background, reminiscent of THE HELP, which I absolutely loved. Through the eyes of 13 year old, Jubie, captured by the language of the time, the believable, beautiful, heart-felt story of family dynamics, segregation and intolerance brought me to tears. I savored every page. Excellent!

posted by Amai66 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Star

Yes, sorry i took so long. Sorry. Im locked out of everybook i ever posted in

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I savored every page! Excellent!

    Wonderful southern lit! This is another powerful piece set against historical background, reminiscent of THE HELP, which I absolutely loved. Through the eyes of 13 year old, Jubie, captured by the language of the time, the believable, beautiful, heart-felt story of family dynamics, segregation and intolerance brought me to tears. I savored every page. Excellent!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    recommended

    I loved this book. It has a story that warms your heart and keeps you entertained!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    If you loved The Help, you will love this!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Beautiful

    This is a beautifully written, powerful book that tells history through the eyes of a 13 year old girl. Mayhew has created such a rich set of characters in this book - they will touch your heart. Be advised you may need to have some kleenex handy - the book made me cry in certain spots (won't say where in order to not give anything away). Highly recommend this book and congratulations to this new Author!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What an unexpected treat!

    This book starts out on a subtle note. All of a sudden, I couldn't put it down. I found myself thinking about going home to read it while at work. It's written so well,all kinds
    of feelings were swirling around in my head and my heart. I think this book should be on High School reading lists everywhere .Please keep writing Anna

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    A Priceless Read

    Anna Jean Mayhew's debut novel, "The Dry Grass of August," is a "Priceless Read." Men, women, boys and girls--Everyone should read this book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Awesome debut novel! The Dry Grass of August is honest. It is r

    Awesome debut novel!

    The Dry Grass of August is honest. It is real life depth perfectly portrayed. Powerful! I read it in one sitting. Cats meowed to be fed, phones rang, storms blew over and I just read on. There is full, wonderful character development. I love that the book is told through Jubie, with the loyal and unjaded perspective of a child. I love the fierce loyalty of Mary Luther to the children in her charge. There is a clear reality portrayed of each of the accompanying characters. The characters are skillfully balanced with historical shadings of the times. This book is equal in passion and depth to The Help, but painted from its own palette of vivid colors. It stands alone in brilliance. I just love well written books! A rare few books are so wonderful that, upon finishing, I hug them. This book got a long hug as I cried. It is going on my 'forever favorites' bookshelf, but right now it has to stay on my nightstand so I can hug it a few more times. I want to keep Jubie and Mary Luther close to my heart awhile longer. Bravo! I cannot wait for AJ Mayhew’s next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Thought provoking

    A coming of age, slice of life novel. For those of us who grew up during segregation this book will feel different than for those who came after integration. There is a sadness I felt reading this, even with my love of the south, that people could treat another group of people so badly. I remember a sign in the laundromat window when I was a child that said Whites Only, I asked my mother why there was a place where you could only wash white clothes? She told me that wasn't what it meant, yetshe didn't explain to me the truth of what it was. Looking at life now it's hard to think that things were as bad as they were, this novel brought it back for me. We need these stories to remind us of how far we come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I enjoyed this story and I was impressed by her struggles to survive.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Fun and Interesting Read

    Every bit as good as "The Help". Author tells a great emotional and interesting story. It was a fast read because it was an interesting story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    “A Riveting, Heart-Wrenching Tale You Won’t Forget&r

    “A Riveting, Heart-Wrenching Tale You Won’t Forget”

    From the very first page, we are introduced to Miss June Bentley Watts; affectionately known as “Jubie”, an “older than her years” thirteen year old who is maturing through the early 1950’s with little to no help from her dysfunctional family. The Watts family unit includes her quick-tempered, abusive Father; Bill, her neglectful, demanding Mother; Paula and three siblings; older Sister, “Stell”, younger Sister, Carolina, better known as “Puddin” and baby Brother; Davey. The Watts family could not function without the loving, hardworking hands of their maid; Mary Luther. Mary is much more than a maid to Jubie. She is a trusted friend, sometimes protector, and confidante as she grows into young womanhood. Family life is complicated by the growing unrest over integration/segregation issues, especially how” Brown vs. the Board of Education “would affect the schools the Watts Sisters attend. As Paula, Mary and the Watts Children set out for Pensacola, Florida for a visit with Paula’s divorced Brother, Taylor (with a fruitcake buying stop in Claxton, Georgia) from their home in Charlotte, North Carolina , little did anyone imagine the trials, tribulations and terror they would encounter! Will Paula face the problems in her life? Especially where Husband, Bill is concerned? Can Jubie come to grips with love found and lost? Ms. Mayhew brings the characters to life so well that you will feel you know them personally. The Drama in this story grips you by the shoulders and won’t release you until you have finished the last page. The author has created a multi-faceted account including a family life which is monetarily comfortable but, sadly, poor in feelings and low on love, accented with courage, profound sadness, denial, infidelity, pride, lies, cheating, growth, duty, trust, responsibility, appreciation and realization. She takes you on this “roller coaster ride”, while touching the topics of alcohol and domestic abuse, racism and suicide with a firm, understanding hand. Above all, Ms. Mayhew had this reader spellbound and experiencing the same gut-wrenching feelings as dear, sweet, courageous and determined Jubie. I implore you to place this wonderful volume on your “To Be Read” list. I have given it five stars and wish I could give it more. Thank-you Ms. Mayhew for your persistence in writing this gem. Here’s hoping there will be others.
    Nancy Narma

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    A great read!!! Loved it!!!

    A great read!!! Loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Coming of Age

    I liked it; you might

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    A good read.

    I like reads like this. Like to read about how people had to live back then. Not that it was good for some people alot of sad things went on back then. It is nice to see that we have moved forward but we still need to work on the furture for our children and their friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written period story

    The book was written from the point of view of a 13 year old white girl during the racially divided era of the 1950's in the south. Her innocence and nievity were challenged by racism. It was her choice as to how to respond to her personal tragedy. Well done, Anna Jean Mayhew!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Musr read

    Very surprised by how much I loved this book. If you like books based in the past this is a must

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Cats

    Yea-Blizzardpaw

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Good book

    It kept my interest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Excellent book!

    This is a great book. It is a quick read and ended far too quickly for me. The story is tender, sweet, and sad. It pulls at your heart strings. It reaffirms the value of simple kindnesses and human dignity. Order it and prepare to be uplifted. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    Wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11