Customer Reviews for

Dry Ice

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Way too much angst

    I never before read a book by Stephen White. That should be an irrelevant piece of information, I think, but it matters in the case of this book.

    Throughout and to the very end of "Dry Ice" I felt I was missing critical information. Something happened, something very BIG happened in the lives of the principal characters of this book. It happened before this story began, but it influenced everything in this story. Unfortunately, whatever it was never really was explained. But it certainly caused a great deal of hand-wringing and soul-searching by our hero, Alan Gregory.

    Alan is good at this, you see, because he is a psychologist trained to find layers of meaning, innuendo, and ulterior motives in everything. Everything! Including everything that he himself says or thinks. Furthermore, because of professional ethics, he is tormented by his inability to share with anyone any of the hugely important things he is told by his clients. There can't even be any off-the-record pillow talk with his lovely wife, Lauren. Actually, there is a double ethical conflict here because most of his clients seem to be mixed up in some horrible criminal activity or other and Lauren happens to be an attorney in the district attorney's office. Very inconvenient, indeed.

    This is a story that goes on and on, with ever-deepening issues threatening the fabric of the Gregorys' domestic life, with no-one seemingly able to address them in any kind of adult fashion. These people simply can't talk to each other. I wanted to grab them both and knock their heads together.

    Finally, ultimately, it really all comes to nothing. The relationship issues are left hanging. The mystery is riddled with unanswered questions. But perhaps that is as it must be if one plans to write a sequel. Which Mr. White certainly must be planning. Oh, for heaven's sake. I'm really out of touch. I just checked on-line and, sure enough, Mr. White has already written a sequel. It's called "Dead Time." And further research has revealed that "Dry Ice" built on a story in a previous book: "Privileged Information." I obviously should have read that book first. How foolish of me to pick up a series book and thinking it might be able to stand on its own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    SKYCLAN'S MAP

    Result 1 is main camp <br> Result 2 is this map <br> Result 3 are bios <br> Result 4 is the leaders den <br> Result 5 is the warriors den <br> Result 6 is the apprentices den <br> Result 7 is the elders den <br> Result 8 is the nursery <br> Result 9 is the medicine cat den <br> Result 10 is the training hollow <br> Result 11 is the hunting grounds <br> Result 12 is the lake <br> Result 13 is the boarder

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Great thriller reading!

    Very cleverly crafted plot. The reader soon finds himself caught up in this nail-biting psychological thriller!

    Lotsabks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    recommended for mystery readers

    Love Stephen Whites mysteries and his wit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Dry Ice was an excellent read

    I have not read anything by Stephen White previously but found his writing style easy to read and held my interest right from the start. Will definitely look forward to reading more by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Great book, appealing and interesting characters. Great story.

    Many a twist and mystery in this well written page turner. It held my interest up to the last word on the last page. Different and unpredictable. Don't miss this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Convoluted Plots, madcap mayhem

    Everything about this book was just slightly "off kilter" with Stephen Whites" style. Everything in the plot seemed too contrived, too perfect
    and really unreal. The fact that the Dr. was a suspect was too weird for any mystery fan. Added to the fact his long time neighbor gets killed off in Israel and the coincidences and happenings become too far
    fetched. However, the problems with his wife and his old patient presented a diversion from the rest of the problems embedded in the plot
    line. Really, how often does an assistant District attorney's spouse get accused of being implicit in murder. confutatus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Outstanding

    I thought this story was amazing. I couldn't put the book down.Once you hit the last 150 pages there's no way to stop. I read them all in one day. I would recommend this particular book to anyone who has read Stephen White's books or to anyone who likes writers such as James Patterson. Very interesting and a little twisted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Another Great Read

    Having read and enjoyed all the previous Alan Gregory series, I am once again totally entertained by this character and the situations he ends up in in Dry Ice. White's style of writing is like a fine wine or a well-prepared meal - you don't want to gulp- you want to savor each word. I enjoy White's characterization of Alan as being sooo human, humbling and full of faults - like the rest of us, but on the other hand very professional. His portrayal and development of supporting characters also adds to the richness of these books. I am looking forward to reading the next of White's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Lost ?

    Stephen White has been my favorite author for years now. Unfortunately this book has dropped him into the basement. I have been trying to work my way through these pages for over a week. I ended up putting it aside to read 'The Two Minute Ride' by Robert Crais. It is a 9. Dry Ice is an appropriate title. If you leave dry ice out it evaporates. Just as the sizzle, that has been in his previous books, disappeared before it made it to the printing press. Disappointing and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    Wait for Paperback!

    The book starts fast and engrossing about a character from the past book Michael McClelland (who tried to kill Dr Gregorys & his wife in the previous novel), is out of a mental hospital and out for revenge. The book is a bit over narrative and really drags in the middle where i almost had to put it down as it seemed to be senseless rambling. The person who they find is Michaels accomplice, the character is hard to believe as the accomplice seems to show up all over the US and is an unbelievable plot. The ending wraps up all the loose ends and seems to make sense-its just having the patience to get to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Author Stephen White Shakes up the Alan Gregory Series

    Stephen White fans, brace yourselves for a major shake-up in the Alan Gregory series. In his new novel of suspense, DRY ICE, White turns the lives of four of his tried-but-true characters upside down. Most fans will love the drama, but, alas, some fans may not be ready for the secrets that unfold and upset the series. If you love the darker side of the human personality, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    Fabulous read!

    Stephen White's courage to take us into the complex reaches of his characters makes for an exciting, entertaining series of books that reaches a new zenith in Dry Ice! We see our favorite characters in new light and dimensions -- both heroic and flawed. It was a wonderful book and I can't wait for Stephen's next book! If you haven't read him yet, and love mysteries with complex characters that you grow to know and care about, get his book now!!! Have fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    He's been named a Golden Voice and a Voice of the Century by AudioFile magazine. In addition, Dick Hill is the recipient of three Audie Awards. Need we say more? He's simply one of the topnotch voice artists working today, and he delivers a superb reading of Dry Ice as he assumes the persona of narrator Alan Gregory, clinical psychologist. Diane Estevez, Gregory's partner of long standing feels it is imperative that they renovate their waiting room. He doesn't agree but hasn't the strength to protest because we hear, 'Less than half a year before I'd watched a patient of mine killed on the six o'clock news. That event had shaken me to my core. I knew that my reaction to his death ¿ emotional withdrawal mostly, my downhill slide lubricated with too much ETOH ¿ was upsetting the equilibrium in my marriage. Controlling my decline felt beyond me. The timing wasn't ideal. My wife's MS, always a worry, was in a precarious phase. She and I each needed caretaking. Neither of us was in great shape to give it.' Actually, he needs a great deal more than caretaking - he needs protection because murderer Michael McClelland, whom we first met in Privileged Information, is out of the Colorado State Mental Hospital and on his way to Boulder to get Gregory's family. McClelland once almost cost Gregory and his wife, Lauren, their lives and it seems that he's about to rectify that oversight. Many will remember that McClelland is not only a killer but he's a highly intelligent one. It'll take every resource Gregory has to outsmart him, and right now Gregory is resource poor. To compound matters Lauren, a deputy DA, is currently involved in a case of great import to her. A witness disappears and that witness's purse is found in Gregory's office. This is White's 15th novel, and it's a corker as he blends suspense and psychological drama in a compelling tale that resurrects the past to challenge the present. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong medical thriller

    One day Colorado psychologist Dr. Alan Gregory walks into the waiting room to see his patient Kol Cruz having a severe nosebleed that is all over the area. He doesn¿t have a handle on this patient and is not even sure that he intends to be his therapist. Alan has other people to worry about including his wife¿s worsening M.S. He also learns that the purse found in his office yard belongs to a missing person whom Michael¿s wife needs to testify at a grand jury. The police find blood on his shoe and he has become a person of interest even when he tries to explain it is Kol¿s blood. --- He tries to find him but he gave him a fake address, a false phone number and even perhaps a phony name. More trouble comes his way when Michael McClelland has escaped from a hospital for the criminally insane. Michael bears a grudge against Alan, which means the psychologist and his family aren¿t safe nor is his friend, Sam a police officer as somebody has blackmail material on him that could cost him his job. When a patient of Michael¿s is found dead in his neighbors home, the beleaguered therapist looks inside to find his patient Kol hanging from the rafters. It turns out Kol is Nicole and she was incarcerated on the same hospital as is someone Sam is friendly with. It is clear that the infamous trio is planning something horrific for Alan, his family and friend unless they can find a way to neutralize them. --- The first Alan Gregory medical thriller PRIVILEGED INFORMATION introduced Michael McClelland, which explains his vendetta. Now, Alan¿s dealings with Michael are a different set of dynamics as the hunter goes after his family. He is a villain readers will love to hate just like the protagonist is a good psychological who doesn¿t have all the answers, personally and professionally. Stephen White can always be counted on to write a strong medical thriller and DRY ICE is certainly that. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2