Customer Reviews for

Dry as Rain

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book!

Wow, Gina Holmes has now been placed on my favorite author list, I absolutely loved this book. First off, it written from the man's point of view, I think it's very well written. A thought provoking, touching, story of grace and forgiveness. A story of one man's determi...
Wow, Gina Holmes has now been placed on my favorite author list, I absolutely loved this book. First off, it written from the man's point of view, I think it's very well written. A thought provoking, touching, story of grace and forgiveness. A story of one man's determination to save his marriage.

I won't go into detail about the story line, you will enjoy finding things out for yourself.

I enjoyed getting to know the characters and felt like I knew them well by the end of the book. Christians make mistakes and fall into sin, thankfully we have a Heavenly Father who will forgive and restore us. Healing comes with forgiveness.

I'm excitedly awaiting Holmes next novel and highly recommend this one.

I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

posted by JoyAnneTN on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hearing a lot of praises for Gina Holmes’ debut novel, Cro

Hearing a lot of praises for Gina Holmes’ debut novel, Crossing Oceans, I was really excited to get the opportunity to review her next release, Dry as Rain. While the writing and depth of emotions in this book was amazing, something about the story as a whole rubb...
Hearing a lot of praises for Gina Holmes’ debut novel, Crossing Oceans, I was really excited to get the opportunity to review her next release, Dry as Rain. While the writing and depth of emotions in this book was amazing, something about the story as a whole rubbed me wrong. Even now that I finished it, I cannot name exactly what it is I did not like about it.

Eric and Kyra marriage is down the tubes and their son, Benji, is suddenly faced with a midlife crisis. The book is set in first person, from Eric’s point of view, thus giving me a very unique view of the story. While I understood Eric was far from perfect and enjoyed watching him grow throughout the story, I had a hard time liking him. The way he handled things and what he did had me on the verge of being depressed!

Because part of their broken marriage is because of an affair Eric had with a (much younger) coworker, I wouldn’t recommend Dry as Rain for teens. But it isn’t really directed toward younger readers anyway.

So, while I didn’t find Dry as Rain as captivating a read as I had hoped, I would suggest reading more reviews before coming to a conclusion. This book just didn’t work for me—but it might for you.

Gina Holmes’ writing was wonderful and writing in such a way, it was almost an effortless read! Seriously, I found myself flying easily through the pages; just taking the story in. I can now understand how she became a bestselling author with her debut novel!

I reviewed this book for Tyndale House Publishing. It was not required that I give a positive review, but solely to express my own thoughts and opinions of this book, which I have done.

posted by LadyKaty on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Interesting perspective on marriage and reconciliation

    On some levels this was tough book to read. I don't mean that in a negative way, more in that it made me think a lot. Anyone who has been married would probably relate to some aspects of this story, and for those that aren't, perhaps it would provide some cautionary elements.

    Eric & Kyra Yoshida have been together for about 20 years, married for most of that time. They have one grown son, Benji, and used to be madly in love but are now experiencing some serious problems. During their separation, Eric has an affair, Benji is discharged from the military, and Kyra is in a car accident serious enough to cause some memory loss. Conveniently for Eric, who has now decided he wants to reconcile, Kyra doesn't recall their separation and views him in a way she hasn't for quite a while. Although he wants to tell her, he wants her back more and justifies that on some level, being completely honest isn't in her best interests.

    There are a lot of layers to this book, and although I would overall be glad to recommend it - Gina Holmes is an excellent writer (loved Crossing Oceans), there were times when reading it was a challenge. Since the main character wasn't extremely likeable to me, I had a hard time rooting for him when I just wanted to give him a good shake. And then kick him in the shins. That said - it's a worthwhile read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read!

    What would you do if you had committed a huge betrayal, and then had the chance to start over without the other person knowing about it? That is basically the concept of Dry as Rain. Eric Yoshida has an affair with another woman while separated from his wife. The same day his wife, Kyra, has a car accident, which leaves her unable to remember their separation. Eric then has to pretend that nothing has went wrong between them as he waits for Kyra's memory to return.
    The book had a very interesting concept, and I was looking forward to reading it. After I began reading it though I felt it fell slightly short of it's potential of the impact it could have, but still a good novel. The story was kept at a good pace, and I was interested in how it played out.
    The characters were difficult to become invested in though, especially Eric. I think if he had been portrayed in third person it might have been easier to allow him to develop, but it can be difficult to accurately portray a man in third person, if you're not a man. I'm not saying it can't be done, but it definitely takes being able to step into the mindset of a guy, and a bit of research. The minor characters were highly interesting though, and seemed well portrayed.
    This book is a good read, but it does depend on what type of books you are into. If you are into romance, then this is definitely the book for that genre. I enjoyed, but felt it had more potential than it turned out with.

    This book was provided by Tyndale in exchange for a review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Dry as Rain

    Eric and Kyra's marriage is in trouble when she loses her memory. She remembers most things, but not that her husband had an affair and they were separated. Eric hopes to win back Kyra's heart before she remembers all the details of their marriage.

    I found the book interesting, especially since it was written from the husband's point of view. It was a good story with a decent ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Dry as Rain

    The opening pages of Dry as Rain introduces us to Eric Yoshida, a 40-something man who's been married for 20 years. I gritted my teeth as the story began because Eric wakes up in bed with a woman who is NOT his wife. That's not exactly the best way for a character to work his way into my heart. But despite his flaws, Eric did.

    The first person male voice was unexpected but was the perfect vehicle to tell this story of marriage in ruins and one man's effort to restore his relationship with his wife.

    Dry as Rain by Gina Holmes is an emotional journey of forgiveness and redemption amid the chaos of poor choices. The book is a fast and satisfying read, and one I'm pleased to recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    FAMILY DRAMA AND MARRIAGE! DRY AS RAIN BY GINA HOLMES...

    DRY AS RAIN by Gina Holmes is an interesting inspirational fiction.See "Crossing Oceans" for her debut novel. This is a haunting tale of betrayal,forgiveness,healing,faith,second chances,fresh starts,misunderstandings,guilt,dishonesty,saving grace and determination.Eric and Kyra's live is not always easy,with a failing marriage,betrayal,adultery on Eric's part and a horrible car accident which takes Kyra's memory they try to rebuild their marriage and their love. This is a through provoking story of family,faith and love. A haunting tale of hope,forgiveness and healing.A great story to all inspirational,contemporary,romance readers. It packs a powerful,emotional,and heart wrenching story of the drama in two people's lives and it's emotional toll. Received for review from the publisher. Details can be found at Tyndale and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dry as Rain by Gina Holmes

    Eric Yoshida has worked hard to provide a great living for his family - but at what cost? Over the years he distanced himself from the wife he meant to spend the rest of his life with, finally committing the ultimate betrayal of their love.

    All seems to be over until Kyra loses part of her memory in a car crash. Will Eric have a second chance at love? Or will Kyra remember his wrongdoing and ask him to leave forever?

    Gina Holmes delivers another heartfelt story in Dry as Rain. Although this one didn't bring me to tears like Crossing Oceans did, I enjoyed reading Dry as Rain. It evoked a desire to give Eric a good talking to, yet it produced a yearning for Kyra to find forgiveness, as well.

    Tackling the issue of adultery, Gina didn't water it down, make excuses for it, or glorify it. She told it like it is. Not every story has a happy ending, and I applaud her realistic look at a marriage gone wrong. There is no fluff in this novel, and that elevates her as a true storyteller in my eyes. She didn't candy coat the circumstances surrounding her characters. They are incredibly believable, and reading the novel played like a movie in my mind.

    I highly recommend Gina Holmes' novels. If you are looking for women's fiction dealing with real life issues and an honest, believable approach to them, her books are for you.

    Please note: I received a complimentary copy of Dry as Rain from Tyndale House Publishers for the purpose of writing this review. Although I am not required to provide a good review, I can honestly say that I enjoy Gina Holmes' novels and will continue to read them as she has them published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1