Customer Reviews for

Dry as Rain

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book!

Wow, Gina Holmes has now been placed on my favorite author list, I absolutely loved this book. First off, it written from the man's point of view, I think it's very well written. A thought provoking, touching, story of grace and forgiveness. A story of one man's determi...
Wow, Gina Holmes has now been placed on my favorite author list, I absolutely loved this book. First off, it written from the man's point of view, I think it's very well written. A thought provoking, touching, story of grace and forgiveness. A story of one man's determination to save his marriage.

I won't go into detail about the story line, you will enjoy finding things out for yourself.

I enjoyed getting to know the characters and felt like I knew them well by the end of the book. Christians make mistakes and fall into sin, thankfully we have a Heavenly Father who will forgive and restore us. Healing comes with forgiveness.

I'm excitedly awaiting Holmes next novel and highly recommend this one.

I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

posted by JoyAnneTN on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Pretty Good Read

Kyra's divorcing husband Eric when a car accident results in amnesia. Eric tries to use this opportunity to win his wife back. Cute story, but kind of light on the Christianity as far as Christian Fiction goes.

posted by BabyD03 on August 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Excellent book!

    Wow, Gina Holmes has now been placed on my favorite author list, I absolutely loved this book. First off, it written from the man's point of view, I think it's very well written. A thought provoking, touching, story of grace and forgiveness. A story of one man's determination to save his marriage.

    I won't go into detail about the story line, you will enjoy finding things out for yourself.

    I enjoyed getting to know the characters and felt like I knew them well by the end of the book. Christians make mistakes and fall into sin, thankfully we have a Heavenly Father who will forgive and restore us. Healing comes with forgiveness.

    I'm excitedly awaiting Holmes next novel and highly recommend this one.

    I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining family drama filled with a fascinating lead couple

    Twenty years ago, Eric informed his date that he just met the woman he was going to marry. He and Kyra began seeing each other and married. They have a son Benji who joined the Navy but recently received a medical discharge.

    Now the couple is separated with Kyra filing for divorce. Eric sleeps with young co-worker Danielle, but feels guilty when he calls it making love. Kyra is severely injured in a car accident and has lost her recent memory including their marital problems. Though he knows what he is about to do is wrong, a desperate Eric realizes he loves his wife and will do anything to save their marriage. He pretends they never separated praying she forgives him for his sin if she remembers.

    This is an entertaining family drama filled with a fascinating lead couple as Eric learns Walter Scott's warning: "what a tangled web we weave. When first we practice to deceive!" while Kyra recovers her health and begins recalling the truth. The support cast is eccentric as Benji, Eric's BFF Larry and troubled youngster Angelo add tsuris to the mix. The lack of what caused the estrangement and a sudden ending detract from an otherwise interesting relationship story line.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    A Moving Story that will Touch Your Heart

    Gina Holmes' book surprised me. I never expect fairly new authors to be very good and don't generally run to their books, or even finish them if I do decide to try them out. But Dry as Rain was a very moving story.

    I decided to read Dry as Rain because I was in the mood for fiction and there was no historical fiction available for review. I'm glad there wasn't, because truly this book touched my heart.

    It's a love story about a marriage that's falling apart. Eric has cheated on his wife and she's leaving him... and then she has an accident that leaves her memory a mess. The last she remembers, she was madly in love with Eric.

    God uses what could have been a disaster and turns it around for good... but not in the easy-going, lovey-dovey way you might expect. The story screams genuine and the ending iss very bittersweet... but mostly just sweet. You definitely need kleenexes for the last few pages of this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling Read

    A compelling novel about love, betrayal, and forgiveness. In the beginning Eric and Kyra thought they would grow old together. Twenty years later they¿re separated. Because of a memory loss from a car accident, Kyra does not remember that she and Eric are separated. Eric grabs onto the hope that before her memory returns he can get a second chance with Kyra. This strong story is real, with real people and their situations¿just like you and me. Holmes ties all the plot lines into a flowing tapestry of life¿s ups and downs, good days and bad ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    A good read

    Dry As Rain is written by Gina Holmes, and it tells the story of a couple in trouble. Gina's storytelling is refreshing and real, her style of writing leads the reader to visualize the scenes, and even be a part of them.

    The story is one we've all heard before. Every day, couples make bad decisions, wrong choices, and lose the ones they love. Eric, the husband, realizes what he did was wrong, and tries to repair the damage. Before he gets a chance to, however, Kyra is in a horrible car accident and loses her memory. She thinks they are still happily married, and does not remember that their relationship is in jeopardy.

    Eric is torn, does he let her regain her memory naturally and pretend they are happy, or does he tell her the truth and lose her again? I'll let you read the rest of the story so you can find out how it unfolds. The ending is not what I had expected, but it's perfect for the book. Ms. Holmes makes the story interesting by throwing a couple of unexpected people and events into the mix, but they blend nicely.

    At the end of the book, Ms. Holmes includes some discussion questions--good for a book club, or an individual reader. They sure do bring insight and understanding to much of the book, and the reader's personal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Dry as Rain is Lush with Promise

    Though not a romance by genre, it's a love story for sure. It's about love blossoming at first sight, only to dry up and wilt over time. It's about love's pain. Love betrayed. Love's power to heal.

    Stirring the emotions without stooping to sentimentality, Dry as Rain is the story of Eric Yoshida and his wife, Kyra, at the end of a once-happy marriage. Their love fades and erodes as one thoughtless comment and gesture leads to another, creating a rubble of misunderstanding and confusion. Finally, an ultimate betrayal pushes them past the point of no return. After what Eric did, reconciliation is out of the question.

    But when an auto accident erases part of Kyra's memory, he wonders if they can start over. Is this a chance to mend their relationship? Can true restoration be based on a lie?

    This beautifully crafted story raises some good questions, which the reader is led to answer for him or herself. Though the questions are sticky, the journey is enjoyable.

    Gina's done a fine job portraying a delicate situation and bringing the story to a satisfying conclusion. I give it five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Without a desert, an oasis is just another watering hole!

    Behind every broken vow, lies a broken heart.

    When Eric and Kyra Yoshida first met, they thought their love would last forever. But like many marriages, theirs has crumbled, one thoughtless comment and misunderstanding at a time, until the ultimate betrayal pushes them beyond reconciliation. Though Eric longs to reunite with Kyra, the only woman he has truly loved, he has no idea how to repair the damage that has been done.

    Then a car accident erases part of Kyra's memory - including her separation from Eric - and a glimmer of hope rises from the wreckage. Is this a precious opportunity for the fresh start Eric has longed for? Does he even deserve the chance to find forgiveness and win back Kyra's heart? Or will the truth blow up in his face, shattering their last hope for happiness?

    My Review:

    I received Dry As Rain by Gina Holmes compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and found this to be a perfect example of what it truly means to seek and find forgiveness. While the premise behind the story involves infidelity, the second chance that Eric sees as a sign from God leads him to delay telling Kyra the truth, even though the doctors have warned him that Kyra's memory could come back at any time.

    He spends the first few nights dealing with the feelings of guilt, remorse and regret because even though Kyra remembers nothing, he still knows that nothing has changed from his own perspective. He now holds in his hand a simple choice, to tell the truth or live a lie, and ultimately he chooses wrong. The book is filled with what happens when we don't live alongside God's truth and the darkness that will follow for those wrong decisions.

    For once I was happy that this didn't end up the way we would all like, because much like reality, we don't get second chances. Not all our life decisions end up for the best and sometimes life throws us a curve ball. Yet its what we chose to do in THAT moment at the crossroads, that determines the course of the life that follows. This is a shining example of that and how the road to forgiveness isn't an easy path as we'd like it to be sometimes. That is real and for that reason, I award, Dry As Rain, a perfect 5 out of 5 stars because life isn't perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended Reading!

    Eric and Kyra Yoshida are a recently separated couple when Kyra gets in a car accident and loses her memory. At first, Eric is hesitant to take care of Kyra, who does not seem to remember their marriage troubles. But then he realizes he has been given a rare second chance to make things right with his wife. With the constant possibility of Kyra's memory returning, however, Eric will need to reach deep within himself to reconcile their differences and make the wrongs he did right.

    I loved Gina Holmes' first book Crossing Oceans, which made my heart swell and my eyes tear up. With Dry As Rain, I was excited to dive into another story of redemption and soul searching. Plus, it was interesting to read a male's perspective written by a woman author. It makes me wonder how close to this story the author really was. I thought Holmes wrote Eric in a rather rough manner, with the only soft edges being when it came to his wife. In fact, Eric does not seem to have many redeemable qualities at all and I felt myself pitying poor Kyra for staying with a total jerk. But perhaps that it what I like about reading Gina Holmes - she tells stories how they are, without apologizing for being ugly and unhappy. One thing is for sure: I will waiting with baited breath for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Marriage Betrayal

    How is your marriage life? Is your wife unfaithful to you? How about your husband, is he cheating on you? Do you spent more time to each other? Are you making effort to maintain the love and respect? Well, this book is about marriage betrayal. If your marriage is in this stage I recommend that you get a copy of this book. You will find out how betrayal usually started, how to cope and deal with acceptance and forgiveness or be a martyr partner for the rest of your life. A very interesting story that will help your marriage survive. Anyway, the Tyndale House Publishers provided me a free copy of this book. Again, thank you and more power!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Unique and thought provoking

    Told first person from a man's viewpoint, I thought this was a difficult subject matter for a woman to take on but it worked well. There was lots of food for thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1