Customer Reviews for

Dualed

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazingly Sad

This book couldn't have been any better. At times i wanted to scream at West and at others i was crying for her. The plot i loved because it was so original. I knew from when i read the synopsis that Dualed would be a GREAT book, and it in no way failed my expectations....
This book couldn't have been any better. At times i wanted to scream at West and at others i was crying for her. The plot i loved because it was so original. I knew from when i read the synopsis that Dualed would be a GREAT book, and it in no way failed my expectations. I loved the romance because it wasn't too much to take away from the plot, just the right amount ;). I highly recommend this book for ages 12 and up. I don't think the violence and death was too much, it was the perfect amount for all that was going on and i wouldn'thave expected less. Please read this book! It is amazing and sad in a way not many authors can pull off. Can't wait for Divided, the second in the series!!!

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book has a great premise: the characters are part of a gen

This book has a great premise: the characters are part of a genetically engineered population where everyone has a genetic double, or Alt. To become a full-fledged member of society, you must kill your Alt before your Alt kills you. This book is fast-paced and full o...
This book has a great premise: the characters are part of a genetically engineered population where everyone has a genetic double, or Alt. To become a full-fledged member of society, you must kill your Alt before your Alt kills you. This book is fast-paced and full of action, but the uneven character development makes it hard to ever truly lose yourself in the story. The main character, West, goes from grieving sister to hired assassin in the space of a few pages and it's hard to believe her immediate transformation. She makes some really questionable moves later on, too, which are obviously to keep the plot moving along and prolong the conflict between her and her Alt. Great idea, interesting characters, poor execution.

posted by 5160056 on July 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    The summary for this story really caught my attention when it ca

    The summary for this story really caught my attention when it came out. Having to fight and kill your alternate in order to survive in this dystopian world is very "Hunger Games" and I knew it would make for an exciting story. And it did. The fighting in this story was very suspenseful, and the fact that West only has so much time to kill her own alternate before they both die amps up the suspense even more.

    West was an interesting character. From the start I felt she was mature, but she had residual elements of a stubborn, impulsive girl to her that she makes a terrible mistake that costs her dearly. The fact that she did it was impulsive and reckless, but it's the kind of mistake anyone would make. This made it even more sad when the inevitable outcome occurred. I understood her motivations for everything she did, and this made her such a real character for me, that I really did love her.

    The romance to this story wasn't really front and center. The majority of the book is spent in West's head, and rather than become boring to hear so much internalization, it was a very exciting book. The fighting alone really revved the story up, just when you thought things were getting a little stagnant. I felt like the romance appeared just when it needed to. Not too much, not too little. And I loved the guy! How he took care of her, even when she didn't know he was doing so, made me fall for him immediately.

    Chapman created a very suspenseful, exciting story here. It was inventive and exciting. The pacing was perfect, and I flew through the pages and the story so quickly. The ending surprised me a little bit because I know this is a series and will have a sequel, but I felt that the author wrapped things up so well, that this book could have been a standalone. I will definitely pick up the next installment.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Fast-Paced Debut with Lots of Action In Dualed , we are brought

    Fast-Paced Debut with Lots of Action

    In Dualed , we are brought into Kersh: a city-state in a post-apocalyptic world where humanity has been left infertile. The Board - the governing body - somehow has managed to find a way to create/grow human clones in labs two at a time. Every set of twins (or Alts) are separated at birth (hatching?) and each baby is raised by a different family. They never meet until the time comes for them to hunt down and kill their clone upon their activation. You see, the Board teaches that the survival of Kersh depends upon the strength of its population, so only those who kill their Alts are worthy of living there. This world-building is interesting, but it left me hungering for more. It seemed like there were holes in the story and zip-aheads (you know, when you fast forward in time - roll with it) that confused me a bit. When it came to other aspects of the story, I could suspend disbelief enough to believe Kersh wanted to be a land of killers, but I wanted to read more about why the Board activated certain individuals when they did. I also wish there would have been more showing of the parents and how they dealt with the loss of one child, but having another walking around, genetically the same.

    The writing itself in Dualed was gripping, but I did have a bit of trouble connecting with the characters. West Grayer is a young girl surrounded by death and loss, and I think she is a fair representation of that. She is withdrawn and pushes away anyone who attempts to get close to or help her. I think this included me. However, West was fascinating to observe (I never felt like I was there with her like I do in many books), and I enjoyed her interactions with Chord. My favorite thing about her was the doubt she felt about being the worthy one, being as she was a hired assassin for other people's Alts. As for West's Alt, I wish I could have known her a little better. We were only given brief glimpses of her life, and mystery does not always translate to villainy.

    After it's all said and done, I have to applaud Elsie Chapman for Dualed . There were times that I was left scratching my head because of the pace, but I never felt the urge to put the book down. I think the strange and broken future world that saw kids killing kids on the streets kept my attention trained so completely upon it. I knew from a few chapters into the book that it may not be for me, but Chapman had me and wasn't going to let me go. And though I know that Dualed 's sequel, Divided , will be coming out next year, I found the ending to be completely satisfying. I'm a huge fan of Old School science fiction's open endings, but that's not the case with Dualed . I can't imagine that any readers will be left standing at the edge of a cliff begging for book 2 because of how it all wraps up. Then again, I just read the ARC, so there may be a huge twist at the end that I completely missed.

    Teen or adult reader alike, I think you should read the book for yourself. It's so fast and action-packed, it's likely you will forget that you are reading.

    3.5/5 Stars

    *To satisfy FTC guidelines, I am disclosing that I received a digital eARC of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. It has in no way affected the outcome. All opinions expressed are rambling, honest, and completely my own.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Great storyline.  Wow

    Great storyline.  Wow

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Amazing

    I loved this book.

    Review in list form:
    It was action packed
    Interesting plot, setting, characters
    Awesome plot
    Hint of romance
    Hint of self discovery
    Loved West
    She was awesome, smart, epic, cool
    Loved the complex story between her Chord
    Loved the beginning
    Loved the middle
    Loved the ending
    Loved the entire book
    Loved the plot
    Loved the idea of your 'Alt' and how only one of you can live


    Summary of book:
    There are two of you. You like the same. Have the same DNA. Live in the same society. Here's the catch, you and them, are you really that different? Well, you have to kill them in a month, or both of you die. You have to hunt them down, in your ENTIRE society, and kill them. In 30 days. Simple, right? Not really. Well, West Grayer is put to the test.

    Recommend:
    Anyone who loves action, suspense, adventure.
    Anyone who is debating to buy the book or not.
    READ IT

    The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I think 5 stars is Divergent, The 5th Wave, and Cinder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It was a fun read

    it was really good! ¿¿ Not the best but was still really good It reminded me a lot of The Hunger Games and like Divergent, but it was unique in its own way. It was fast-paced, unpredictable, suspenseful and it brought an some very unexpected romance into this chilling and unforgivable world Definitely an interesting book, but I still really liked it a LOT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    ¿The premise of this book intrigued me. We are introduced to a d

    ¿The premise of this book intrigued me. We are introduced to a dystopian society where each individual has an alt with which they are paired from birth. Each alt is raised by separate families and prepared for their ineveital confrontation where the strongest would survive and become a complete.





    Our main protagonist is West who has not yet approached her 'activation period.' This story is part of a growing number of Teen Dystopian series. Much like the Hunger Games, there is a cast structure within Dualed. Some districts have more more and thus more access to elite training, where others only have schools. The basic premise of Dualed features children fighting to the death. Activation can take place anywhere in between 10-20 and the strongest will survive. There are of course alternative 'methods' of assistance for the right amount of cash, but most do not have the funds to pay. Who will end up alive? Which is the best version of you? The city of Kersh engineers it all to find out, bringing alive a 'dog eat dog' mentality.




    In the end, the idea of Dualed was one that greatly intrigued me, however the execution left several holes. First of all, if the strikers are illegal and 'hard' to track down, why no simiply look at the wrists of citizens and figure out who has striker marks and who does not? It would seem to be an easy solution to the problem. Other complaints were merely that I felt the story at time lagged and at other times rushed, all in all however it was a fast read and enjoyable. I will be looking intently for the planned sequel. 4/5 for a good read, and I hope that the next book will unlock even more, as well as go about a way to bring down this barbaric societal practice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest revi

    I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review. In the city of Kersh. Life is pretty good. You are safe, have things, and it is a pretty good life, that is if you manage to kill your Alt. Everyone is born with a twin raised by another family. Before your 20th birthday you have to kill you alt to get the good life. If your Alt wins they get the good life. It is the way to make sure the strong survive and the weak are gotten rid of. 15 year old West has been preparing for when her month comes to kill her Alt. She thinks she has a good shot at doing it. A tragedy changes the way she thinks and she does some things against the rules to better her chances. Now she has to face old ghost, her twin, and someone who loves her. Can she let go of the past to face what must be done to have a life?




    West is an intriguing character. She is tough you have to be to survive in this world, she has had loads of tragedy in her life so far, she is smart as she hides from her Alt and still does her job and she is sometimes blind to what is in front of her. I liked getting into her head seeing the many different things she had going on.Chord is a favorite character of mine he tries his best to protect West as he told her brother he would. She constantly fights with him but he still sticks around and watches her back. 




    This book keeps you on the edge of your seat as you read and read trying to see what will happen. Will West or her Alt win the battle they must face. It can at times get really tense as they face each other and learn they are pretty even on everything. You get to see flashes of the Alt's life and that was a nice touch. I would have loved to know more of how this all came to be where everyone has a twin and you have to kill them that would have made the story even better. You do get plenty of action as West works her job and as there is always someone trying to kill there Alt. This is a highly entertaining book to me. West does a lot of things that show you just how far she is willing to go to live. At times it makes you wonder what you would do in this situation. I eagerly look forward to the next book to see where this story goes because even tho it ended nicely you still want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    In the city of Kersh, everyone has an Alt, short for alternative

    In the city of Kersh, everyone has an Alt, short for alternative. An Alt, is exactly what it sounds like. An Alt, is an Alternate you. A twin that you never know. A twin you have to kill to prove your worth. To prove that you deserve to live, that you are the better copy of yourself. In DUALED, West Grayer, struggles with the concept of having an Alt, and having to kill her. She has trained her whole life for the day when she will get her assignment. The test that will prove her worthiness to continue living in Kersh. But she knows, you can train your body and maybe your mind. But it is hard to train your emotions, especially when something tragic just occurred.




    DUALED had me at the very beginning. I was thrust into a world I knew little about, and began to start collecting the facts right away. Elsie Chapman wrote an effect introduction. She had West began narrating what was going on, and give the reader some action at the same time. Needless to say, I was NOT bored. Within the first few chapters, someone had already died. In DUALED, West experiences a few flashbacks and has short flashes of memories of the past. What someone said, or who the car originally belonged to. And little by little, those tiny flashes, start giving you a hint about West’s childhood, her family, and what happened to them.




    The plot was very fast paced. It started out really fast. I wondered how Elsie Chapman would take it from there. How can you continue the build suspense after you kill a character? I was not disappointed. Throughout the story, there were various amounts of action. Sometimes there wasn't much, just West reminiscing on the past and what could have been. Other times, she was out there kicking a whole lot of butt. It kept me wanting to see what would happen next, yet provided me with some time to relax and truly understand what was going on in the story.




    I have mixed feelings about West. At first, I liked her. Okay, maybe she was a bit hot headed, and stubborn, but overall she was likable. You could understand why she was acting the way she was. I felt that West started out strong and then became weaker. There were times when I felt like yelling at her “Why are you doing this? Stop and think!” However, I do understand why she did those certain things. I can’t imagine living in a society like the one West lives in. For her, it is literally, kill or be killed. That’s the difference between life or death. It makes you question your morals. Is it worth taking someone else’s life just to save yours? West was able to keep me guessing what she would do next. She was kind of unpredictable with her emotions all out of whack. I would say she managed to redeem herself at the end.




    The romance. What can I say about the romance? Only that it was interesting to read about and maybe that I wish there was more... Oh well, I hear there are more books to come. (The amount in this book is just fine but...) One can only hope. West’s love interest is Chord. He is not as well developed as West, but he doesn't need to be. Chord is like the perfect boyfriend. More like the best friend turned boyfriend. The one that seems to be protective and still give you some space. The one that understands.*note:I received this book for free as an Ambuzzador for Random Buzzers. This in no way effected my review. Originally posted on Icy Cold Reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first read the synopsis for Dualed, I was immediately int

    When I first read the synopsis for Dualed, I was immediately interested as to how the story will turn out. I actually find the idea very interesting, and unique. Dualed talks about West Grayer, who is a 15 year old girl living in the city of Kersh. West has been training all her life, preparing herself for the day when her assignment arrives, telling her that she has 30 days to kill her alt. Killing your alt makes you the worthy one. Killing your alt means education, jobs, and marriage. Basically, if you were to kill your alt, you have proven to everyone that you deserve to live. I really liked how Dualed immediately got to the point. In other words, it was fast-paced, but not too fast to be confusing or anything. As soon as I started it, it was action packed and full of excitement. I don't even think there was a time when I actually felt bored. 
    West was a very mature character, despite her being only 15 years old. I think it's because of how most of her family members died, leaving only her brother Luc. We also got to meet Luc's friend, Chord. Things happen, and a major turn on happens for West. I don't want to spoil anything, but things get more interesting then. When West actually gets her assignment, it was crazy fun. West had to go into hiding, spying on her alt, and figuring out her daily patterns, etc. I'm such a fan of anything that has to do with spy, so I really enjoyed reading the part where she was hunting for her alt. We also got to know more about Chord, and I really got to like him as well. He was always there for West, providing her money, getting her food, and sometimes even cleaning her wounds. 
    I tried guessing how the book would end, but fortunately, my guess was never right! I'm glad that the book was full of surprises, and I really am looking forward to reading the next book in this series. If you're into sci-fi/dystopian books, I totally recommend you reading Dualed. It's got everything you need in a book; action, romance, and great characters!   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    From the moment I heard about Dualed I knew immediately that I w

    From the moment I heard about Dualed I knew immediately that I wanted to read it. The synopsis alone draws you in. When I started reading I did get a large Hunger Games vibe, and when I finished I realized that it was similar to the Hunger Games in the dystopian society where children kill other children way. But, this one is different. There are no TVs to capture the even, and they are not secluded. They dual an alternate version of themselves to prove who is the strongest and who will help defend the city should anything happen. And they do it all in broad day-light right in the middle of their cities. But I can't deny that there were still a lot of similarities between Dualed and The Hunger Games even down to their characters. There is the boy who will do anything to save the girl, and the girl who walks around completely numb, emotionless, and robotic. Even having admitted that I still loved the book and I especially loved the characters. There was a lot of scenic description and even just some inner thoughts that I thought the book could do with out, but still I was rooting for West and I couldn't stop reading about her `active' journey. West meets others along the way--some she helps, some she puts in harms way, but her journey was one that I found interesting. I have a feeling that the next in the series, like The Hunger Games, will start to show the people and even West revolting against the way things are and I personally can't wait to see what happens next.




    Good:




    West--Even when she is avoiding fighting she is still teaching herself how to fight. She's confused, and strong.




    Chord--Chord was a character that I loved from the start. He is tech savvy and does everything he possibly can to protect West. She's all he has left.




    Bad:




    The familiarity between The Hunger Games is a little offsetting. I felt, on occasion, like I was cheating on The Hunger Games. Like "May the Odds Be Ever In Your Favour" this novel also had a government slogan "Be the one, be worthy." A little too Hunger Games for me.




    Again there was a lot of description and inner monologue that I thought was not necessary.




    And finally, I didn't like how West sort of accepts how things are. She signs up to be a Striker! And later on just accepts that she has to kill. I don't know what the next book in the series will bring, but I hope it brings a West that is more morally aligned.




    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):




    Overall, I enjoyed it. I believe that it does deserve the four stars that I gave, and the series sound promising. The writing was easy to follow, and nothing really needed to be explained. I wasn't confused by lingo (because it was always explained in a timely fashion). There wasn't much wrong with the writing (at least that I could find, and especially for an uncorrected proof). I found Dualed by Elisa Chapman to be charming, emotional, adventurous




    This book was provided courtesy of the author/publisher for review; however, this is no way affected my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    West Grayer is 15 years old and has grown up in a world where on

    West Grayer is 15 years old and has grown up in a world where only the best survive.  Kersh, the city where West lives, is considered a safe haven in this dystopian world that has been ravaged by war, one of the results now being that everyone is infertile and unable to have children on their own.  The way the government handles this problem is that two sets of parents are chosen and the genes from all four parents are manipulated, resulting in a set of identical twins.  The twins are known as Alts.  Each set of parents receives one of the twins to raise, love, train, and prepare for what they must do in order to survive.  They are known as idles.  Then, sometime between the ages of 10 and 20 a signal or assignment is received by each set of Alts, from the government, causing them to go active.  After they go active, they have 30 days to find and kill their Alt.  The one who survives, then becomes a Complete.  The government's rationale for this process is that the weakest are rooted out in order for the strongest and best to survive, their motto being "Be the one, be worthy."

      This novel is set in a dystopian world that has sort of a Hunger Games feel to it, only it's not a game.  I expected the novel to be mostly about the battle between West and her Alt, but the majority of it is about West being a Striker, the things she has to do as an assassin, and her month on the run after she receives her assignment, culminating in the final battle.  I liked West.  She was a pretty badass heroine, though her independent streak got on my nerves, especially when she kept shutting Chord out.  Her love interest, Chord, was a really great guy and it was obvious he was willing to do anything for West, just as she was for him, though neither of them had yet admitted their true feelings for one another.  It isn't until near the end, when things begin to spiral out of control, that they confess their love, but will it be too little and too late to do anything about it?  




    One thing I would have liked to have known more about was West's Alt.  She was portrayed as cold and hard, though we really didn't get to know much about her, and I think if we had been able to get a glimpse inside of her head and thought processes, it would have added a lot more to the story. I would have also liked to have seen more about Chord and what he was going through while West was on the run, shutting him out.  The novel did have some intense action, danger, and a few sweet romantic moments, and did keep me intrigued and interested.  While this was a good novel, it wasn't quite on the level of The Hunger Games, though it is an action packed, dystopian futuristic thriller, with a little romance mixed it, which is always an important element in my book.  I did enjoy it and would recommend it, and I am looking forward to seeing where Elise Chapman takes this story in the next installment.     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1