Customer Reviews for

A Dublin Student Doctor: An Irish Country Novel

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Unique author endows an Irish heartwarming story of medicine, love and achievement.

A Dublin Student Doctor audiobook is quite unique and I fell in love with this CD set from the start. I found the Irish accents of Patrick Taylor quite extraordinary, even more so as he did the voice-overs for some of the other characters. It did not take me long to set...
A Dublin Student Doctor audiobook is quite unique and I fell in love with this CD set from the start. I found the Irish accents of Patrick Taylor quite extraordinary, even more so as he did the voice-overs for some of the other characters. It did not take me long to settle into the different voices and completely forget Taylor played more than just Doctor Fingal Flahertie O¿Reilly. Having a medical background myself, I believe this audiobook would be much appreciated by those with any sort of medical background. At times, O'Reilly and his colleagues do their rounds throughout Sir Patrick Dun's Hospital and speak about their patients diagnosis or are in the process of a diagnosis. In this narrative you follow along through the life of Doctor Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly as he struggles through medical school with his group of colleagues at Trinity College and their internship at Sir Patrick Dun¿s Hospital in Ireland. Doctor O'Reilly's home life has some turmoil of it's own as O'Reilly has a fallout with his father, who at first does not support his medical interests unless it is in the research field. However with the support of his only sibling, a brother and his mother, O'Reilly pushes on through school and even finds himself falling in love. This story is so realistic I found myself completely immersed in O'Reilly's life, especially in the romance going on between O'Reilly and Kitty, a nurse working at Sir Patrick Dun¿s Hospital. The author Taylor did an excellent job in keeping the story practical and A Dublin Student Doctor was very funny at times. I laughed throughout many parts of this story, especially when Taylor makes a reference of O'Reilly catching a glimpse of the calf of a girl or the mischief and witty pranks that go on between O'Reilly and the other interns. This audiobook would make a great gift for anyone who loves to listen to the Irish dialect or loves anything medical, a treat to the intellect and senses from an intellectually gifted author one may rarely come across in a lifetime.

posted by autumnbluesreviews on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ok - best for Irish County Doctor fans, not new readers

I had some serious issues with the writing in this book, but people aren't reading this book for the writing. Taylor presents a fun group of characters (new and old) and puts them in an interesting stetting. I learned a lot about medicine and the state of Ireland in the...
I had some serious issues with the writing in this book, but people aren't reading this book for the writing. Taylor presents a fun group of characters (new and old) and puts them in an interesting stetting. I learned a lot about medicine and the state of Ireland in the 1930s.

I'm not sure I would recommend this to a reader who hasn't read anything else in the series, however those who are already familiar with Dr. Fingal O'Reilly will enjoy learning more about his past.

posted by Elle_Wilvee on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unique author endows an Irish heartwarming story of medicine, love and achievement.

    A Dublin Student Doctor audiobook is quite unique and I fell in love with this CD set from the start. I found the Irish accents of Patrick Taylor quite extraordinary, even more so as he did the voice-overs for some of the other characters. It did not take me long to settle into the different voices and completely forget Taylor played more than just Doctor Fingal Flahertie O¿Reilly. Having a medical background myself, I believe this audiobook would be much appreciated by those with any sort of medical background. At times, O'Reilly and his colleagues do their rounds throughout Sir Patrick Dun's Hospital and speak about their patients diagnosis or are in the process of a diagnosis. In this narrative you follow along through the life of Doctor Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly as he struggles through medical school with his group of colleagues at Trinity College and their internship at Sir Patrick Dun¿s Hospital in Ireland. Doctor O'Reilly's home life has some turmoil of it's own as O'Reilly has a fallout with his father, who at first does not support his medical interests unless it is in the research field. However with the support of his only sibling, a brother and his mother, O'Reilly pushes on through school and even finds himself falling in love. This story is so realistic I found myself completely immersed in O'Reilly's life, especially in the romance going on between O'Reilly and Kitty, a nurse working at Sir Patrick Dun¿s Hospital. The author Taylor did an excellent job in keeping the story practical and A Dublin Student Doctor was very funny at times. I laughed throughout many parts of this story, especially when Taylor makes a reference of O'Reilly catching a glimpse of the calf of a girl or the mischief and witty pranks that go on between O'Reilly and the other interns. This audiobook would make a great gift for anyone who loves to listen to the Irish dialect or loves anything medical, a treat to the intellect and senses from an intellectually gifted author one may rarely come across in a lifetime.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Another enjoyable book by Dr. Patrick Taylor

    If you've read any other book by Dr. Taylor, you know what fun, enjoyable books he writes. AN interesting insight to Dublin, and indeed to the Ireland of his youth. This would be good reading for the whole faminly if some of the words were not in it, but they add charm/character to the book (I was not offended by any of his "strong" language, as it is used sparingly, and only at appropriate times.)

    Thanks again for a great read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ok - best for Irish County Doctor fans, not new readers

    I had some serious issues with the writing in this book, but people aren't reading this book for the writing. Taylor presents a fun group of characters (new and old) and puts them in an interesting stetting. I learned a lot about medicine and the state of Ireland in the 1930s.

    I'm not sure I would recommend this to a reader who hasn't read anything else in the series, however those who are already familiar with Dr. Fingal O'Reilly will enjoy learning more about his past.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Another Hit!

    Patrick Taylor has made Fingal O'Reilly a friend and reading his books is like getting a letter from a good friend catching me up on what is going on in his life. Reading the background on Fingal makes him even more likeable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    last in series

    Finished this the last of the six Irish Doctor books - all were fun, light and entertaining reading - even my husband enjoyed them - hope there are more

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Not recommended

    I too have read many of the Irish Doctor series and do not like when they have to make a homosexual reference. Again, I prefer the book be listed as Gay/Lesbian if there are references to that. I others in the series so this is a huge disappointment and makes me afraid to purchase anymore of his books.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great for medical buffs

    I listened to this book on an audio recording from the library snd found it fascinating and filled with detailed medical information. I am going to order another in the series, "An Irish Country Doctor." I wish Nook Color could be reconfigured to listen to audio books. I just got my nook and certainly cannot afford to buy the new version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Testing

    The best one of the series yet. Could just feel how nervous he was before testing. Good family interaction. Thank heaven for good friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    I'm about to order this book, having just finished three other o

    I'm about to order this book, having just finished three other of Taylor's "Fingal" books. I was frustrated/angry to read the negative comments from two reviewers about Taylor alluding to homosexuality. All I can say to them is, It's time to start living in the real world!! Homosexuality exists! It always has! It's not a big deal, just a fact of life. Why should that fact be artificially eliminated from stories that give us a rich vignette of real life in Ireland in the era of my parents. I think the inclusion will be one more interesting insight into what my father would have experienced had he grown up in the land of his ancestors rather than in the US. I can't wait to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Great series, but this one isn¿t the pick of the litter. I have

    Great series, but this one isn’t the pick of the litter. I have really enjoyed other books in this series, but had I read this one first I don't think I would have read any others. The other books have humor and a steady pace that are lacking in this one. Taylor tends to wear you out with details on a good day, but in this book he felt it necessary to relate every word of every conversation he imagined between his characters, whether they add to the story or not. Still a good book, but not to the standard of some of the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    X-ray

    Lakeside hospital

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Very Good

    Very well written but very long
    Wish he could write more of the current characters in the future

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2