Customer Reviews for

Duchess by Night (Desperate Duchesses Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Duchess by Night

Eloisa James is one of my favorite historical romance writers.

posted by 2689319 on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good One

I really liked this story. Harriet and Jem were a great couple of characters. I also like how the author doesn't drag out her sickbed/deathbed scenes too long.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Lots of Action!

    Harriet--an adventure seeking woman who disguises herself as a man--well there's definitely some amusing drama here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Duchess by Night

    Eloisa James is one of my favorite historical romance writers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lady In Disguise

    Harriet, the Duchess of Berrow, is bored with her privileged life. She needs a challenge. Thus begins her elaborate plan to disguise herself as a notorious rake at one of Justinian Strange¿s unique parties. Lord Strange entertains actors and actresses, rakes, scoundrels and ladies of questionable character. His parties are lively, scandalous and the talk of the town. Harriet is both shocked and intrigued.

    Jem Strange watches his new arrival with curious interest. Although the gentleman seems but a pretty youth, he is unaccountably attracted to him. Steeling himself against the young man¿s charms, he tries to distance himself, but is thrown together with Harriet repeatedly. How long can Harriet maintain her disguise before Jem¿s probing eyes?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Story

    I found this story to be very entertaining and endearing. Essentially, you have a bored female socialite who decides along with her friend to cause a bit of a scandal by going to a notorious rake's home for a few weeks. Between the overly touchy actresses taking up residence in the home, one stubborn male, and the sweetest little girl on earth, you have strength, passion, and the protection of love. It was a quick read for a Sunday afternoon and one that I will probably repeat again in the future. If you're looking for other interesting historicals, check out some of my recommendations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good One

    I really liked this story. Harriet and Jem were a great couple of characters. I also like how the author doesn't drag out her sickbed/deathbed scenes too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This one was touching.

    To really have never known your husband but you thought you did. Oh this was sad at the beginning when she found out stuff that she did not know. An for Harriet to dress up as a guy. WOW that was wild. Strange and Harriet are a well matched pair in this book. I enjoyed reading about his daughter and how he tried everything in his power to keep her safe. They go through an awful lot in this book. But in the end it pays off and this is my third fav book out of this series. I enjoyed reading their story and will likely just pick this book up again without reading the 2 in front of it..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    I love romances and for years I made fun of my mother for reading historical romances. When she gave me this book I laughed at her and told her there was no way I was actually going to enjoy this. I was WRONG! This is one of my favorite books of all time. I love the secrets and the lies. It's a great read. More Eloisa James!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Duchess Series

    I loved this book. All of the Duchess series has been wonderful. My first Duchess book was in the middle and I had to go back and then forward to make sure I got all the books. Absolutely wonderful! It would be great to have more of the Duchess series. I recommend all of Eloisa James' books, especially this series. She is a wonderful writer and had me engrossed in her books just by the cover and her name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Very good read

    A little slow moving in the very beginning, but once the characters have been established and story line set: EXCELLENT. I giggled through most of the chapters where Jem attempts to make a man out of Harry. I'm anticipating the next release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is my favorite book so far in the Duchess Series. I loved Jem and Harriet two fun characters that you can't help but love. This book is a great summer reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2015

    Well. I should have been listening to Eloisa James┬┐ Desperate Du

    Well. I should have been listening to Eloisa James’ Desperate Duchesses series on audio all along because Susan Duerden is a fabulous narrator and makes this, the third book in the series, come alive with energy, seduction, and wit. She reads both the languid Duke of Villiers as well as the intelligent and sexy Jem with a husky, breathy, and intoxicating voice that just curls your toes.
    As I’ve written before about this series, it isn’t a true historical romance, but this one does have a central romance that dominates the story. And it’s a breathlessly romantic love story.
    Harriet, the Duchess of Berrow, is the plain and lonely widow of a man who committed suicide. She lacks self confidence and has an air of sadness about her, but she has a good and kind heart, as evidenced by her presiding as a sort of pseudo-judge in lieu of her local and often drunk magistrate. She has a reputation for fairness and openness and brings justice to all her decisions.
    When an opportunity for something different comes along, however, Harriet jumps at the chance. She will impersonate a young man to accompany her restless Italian friend Isidore, the Duchess of Cosway, who wants to make her long-absent husband jealous and bring him back home. Along with the dissolute Duke of Villiers (who is recovering from a duel suffered in book one), they will attend one of the notorious Lord Strange’s infamous country house parties at Fonthill. Orgies and all manner of debauched behavior are rumored and Isidore thinks it will the perfect venue for her scheme to lure her husband back to her.
    To preserve her reputation as a duchess, however, Harriet becomes Harry Cope, a very pretty young man. And to Jem’s horror, he finds himself wildly attracted to Cope. Villiers reassures Jem that Cope is merely a green young buck who wants to gain experience in the world. And so the game begins.
    I love the scenes where Jem teaches Harry to fence and ride a horse properly; her aches and pains contribute much to the humor here. But so do their lively and provocative conversations as they slowly get to know one another.
    I also enjoy Jem’s expressed love for his bright young daughter, Eugenia, a sweet child. The love between father and daughter is lovely to read and evident on the page. Harry can’t help but fall in love with both of them.
    Harriet is a wonderful heroine. Being at Strange’s house opens up a whole new world for this sheltered young woman. Her transformation is a joy to read as she enjoys herself for the first time in her life, meeting exciting new people and pretending to be a man as she engages in forbidden male discussions of science and politics.
    Jem is a complex hero. A widow who is caring for a young daughter, he surrounds himself with people of questionable character to fill his days and nights. And it was a fine life, until Harriet turns his world upside down.
    The romance between Harriet and Jem is exciting to read. Their love scenes are very erotic and playful, joyful and poignant. It is so beautiful and romantic, it often made me weepy.
    The Duke of Villiers becomes even more likable here and I look forward to eventually reading his story in A Duke of Her Own.
    As in all her stories, Eloisa James’ writing snaps and sparkles as she describes the Georgian period in its rich, crude, and ostentatious details of fashion and manners (panniers for example, and public urination).
    With each book, this series keeps getting better and even more so now that I’ve discovered Susan Duerden. Her slight Italian accent for Isidore perfectly masks Isidore’s self-consciousness while her reading of Eugenia is both charming and just child-like enough without being cloying.
    Bloody brilliant when listened to on audio. I laughed, I cried. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Hard to get into...

    It took awhile to get into and then slowed down in the middle. It was hard to care about the main characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Liked it!

    I like this series, and this book is a good entry. Liked the main characters, liked the peripheral characters, good storyline. I'm looking forward to the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good

    Again i enjoy this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Really disappointed

    After I read the reviews,I thought this would be a really good book, but it disappointed me, it was boring, slowly and the plot the same in the beginning until the end. I barely could get the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Better than the first two

    I personally like this novel better than the other two in the Desperate Duchesses series. I felt like James gave us more of the personalities and fears of the characters. I liked and understood the heroine but I never really appreciated the hero. I'm sure others would find him charming and redeemable but I thought him a bit of a jerk and a terrible father. I can forgive a fictional hero a lot of things but not neglecting their children. Oddly, I found his attraction to her before finding out she was really a woman a little off-putting. I'm sure there's more free-spirited people out there who accept this without a raised eyebrow. Since there are people who work hard at cross-dressing and never pull it off, even with drugs, in the 20th century, I have to think that Harriet was a little more masculine than most! The love scenes are steamier than the other two in this series. You don't get any of the Duchess of Beaumont's certain resolved issues with her duke or their continuing story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3