Customer Reviews for

Duchess by Night (Desperate Duchesses Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Action!

Harriet--an adventure seeking woman who disguises herself as a man--well there's definitely some amusing drama here.

posted by Solstice-Ballad1 on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good One

I really liked this story. Harriet and Jem were a great couple of characters. I also like how the author doesn't drag out her sickbed/deathbed scenes too long.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Lots of Action!

    Harriet--an adventure seeking woman who disguises herself as a man--well there's definitely some amusing drama here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Duchess by Night

    Eloisa James is one of my favorite historical romance writers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Story

    I found this story to be very entertaining and endearing. Essentially, you have a bored female socialite who decides along with her friend to cause a bit of a scandal by going to a notorious rake's home for a few weeks. Between the overly touchy actresses taking up residence in the home, one stubborn male, and the sweetest little girl on earth, you have strength, passion, and the protection of love. It was a quick read for a Sunday afternoon and one that I will probably repeat again in the future. If you're looking for other interesting historicals, check out some of my recommendations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This one was touching.

    To really have never known your husband but you thought you did. Oh this was sad at the beginning when she found out stuff that she did not know. An for Harriet to dress up as a guy. WOW that was wild. Strange and Harriet are a well matched pair in this book. I enjoyed reading about his daughter and how he tried everything in his power to keep her safe. They go through an awful lot in this book. But in the end it pays off and this is my third fav book out of this series. I enjoyed reading their story and will likely just pick this book up again without reading the 2 in front of it..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    I love romances and for years I made fun of my mother for reading historical romances. When she gave me this book I laughed at her and told her there was no way I was actually going to enjoy this. I was WRONG! This is one of my favorite books of all time. I love the secrets and the lies. It's a great read. More Eloisa James!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Duchess Series

    I loved this book. All of the Duchess series has been wonderful. My first Duchess book was in the middle and I had to go back and then forward to make sure I got all the books. Absolutely wonderful! It would be great to have more of the Duchess series. I recommend all of Eloisa James' books, especially this series. She is a wonderful writer and had me engrossed in her books just by the cover and her name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Very good read

    A little slow moving in the very beginning, but once the characters have been established and story line set: EXCELLENT. I giggled through most of the chapters where Jem attempts to make a man out of Harry. I'm anticipating the next release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is my favorite book so far in the Duchess Series. I loved Jem and Harriet two fun characters that you can't help but love. This book is a great summer reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good

    Again i enjoy this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2