Customer Reviews for

Duchess in Love (Duchess Quartet Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

well written historical romance

In 1802 England, his father forced Cam to marry his childhood friend Gina when both were still ¿children¿. Rather than consummate the marriage with the woman he thought up to the ceremony was his first cousin, Cam Serrard fled through the window fifteen minutes after sa...
In 1802 England, his father forced Cam to marry his childhood friend Gina when both were still ¿children¿. Rather than consummate the marriage with the woman he thought up to the ceremony was his first cousin, Cam Serrard fled through the window fifteen minutes after saying ¿I do¿. He went to the continent and remained overseas for the next dozen years. Gina asks her spouse to annul their vows so she can marry someone else. Her husband in name only, the Duke of Girard, comes home to annul his marriage so Gina can move on with her life. His plan is to return immediately to his studio in Greece. However, when Cam meets his wife as an adult for the first time, her beauty, charm, and grace stun him. Shockingly, he finds himself falling in love with Gina just as she too surprises herself by being a DUCHESS IN LOVE with her husband when she thought her heart belonged to Sebastian. Though the basic theme has been used too often in Regency novels, fans of the sub-genre will enjoy Eloisa James¿ latest tale, DUCHESS IN LOVE. The key to the delightful read is the cast from the strong bewildered lead couple to secondary characters who cause havoc on the married couple¿s relationship and enable the audience to understand the motives of the Duke and Duchess. The audience will kick back their shoes, relax, and bask in the fun of this well written historical romance. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

I could not even read the entire book. It was very slow and too many characters to keep track of. I skipped to the end of the book just to see how it ended. Not worth buying.

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    WOW...didnt like it at all

    i usually like the books by eloisa james but this was not good. there were too many characters with poor development of who they were and the story while amusing at first fell apart and became ridiculous and unbelievable. i think i skimmed the last several chapters just to be done with it. on the other hand really liked her newest one 'when beauty tamed the beast'

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Very Disappointing

    I could not even read the entire book. It was very slow and too many characters to keep track of. I skipped to the end of the book just to see how it ended. Not worth buying.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    well written historical romance

    In 1802 England, his father forced Cam to marry his childhood friend Gina when both were still ¿children¿. Rather than consummate the marriage with the woman he thought up to the ceremony was his first cousin, Cam Serrard fled through the window fifteen minutes after saying ¿I do¿. He went to the continent and remained overseas for the next dozen years. Gina asks her spouse to annul their vows so she can marry someone else. Her husband in name only, the Duke of Girard, comes home to annul his marriage so Gina can move on with her life. His plan is to return immediately to his studio in Greece. However, when Cam meets his wife as an adult for the first time, her beauty, charm, and grace stun him. Shockingly, he finds himself falling in love with Gina just as she too surprises herself by being a DUCHESS IN LOVE with her husband when she thought her heart belonged to Sebastian. Though the basic theme has been used too often in Regency novels, fans of the sub-genre will enjoy Eloisa James¿ latest tale, DUCHESS IN LOVE. The key to the delightful read is the cast from the strong bewildered lead couple to secondary characters who cause havoc on the married couple¿s relationship and enable the audience to understand the motives of the Duke and Duchess. The audience will kick back their shoes, relax, and bask in the fun of this well written historical romance. Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Not great

    I read A Duke of Her Own, and it was decent, so I thought I'd found a new author. Then I tried this book....just not good. There were moments that were good, but for the most part, it was all over the place and felt very much like it was wtitten by an amateur. I find this to be a disappointing trend...one good book, and then the next few are horrible, almost as if they were wrtten/slapped together by a different person. I found this to be the same with Julia Quinn...a marvelous book and then another which was almost unreadable. I am looking in vain for another Judith McNaught.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Cute story, but ended up being one bedroom/seduction scene after

    Cute story, but ended up being one bedroom/seduction scene after another. Way too much sexual information.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It was an alright book.

    It was an alright book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    K

    Here she goes again. Harriet klausner and her cliff note book reveal. This woman needs to be banned from posting as her plot spoilers goes against the terms of service by revealing the entire plot of the book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Sexy, Refreshing, and altogether Fun

    The Duke of Girton fled his 11 year old wife Gina on their wedding night and escaped the luxuries of Greece, now 12 years later he has returned to grant an annullment to Gina who believes herself to be in love with the extremely stuffy marquess Sebastian. But the attraction is immediate...and you can guess how it turns out. However, Ms. James takes an age old plotline of lust and love and recycles it into something new and fresh and altogether sexy. You know that all will be well in the end but he details in between are so sweet, you cannot help but gasp in delight at Cams and Gina first kiss. Its like true love for the first time, and you can't get enough of it. -rsb

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    Good read. Recommend buying this book

    I read this book in 3 days. Good story. Well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    Not what I expected

    I thought that this book would be one of Ms. James' better works from what I read on the book's synopsis. What really dissapointed me was the fact that Gina was not a strong character. She didn't really stand out like Esme did, she seemed more like the second character rather than the protagonist. I liked that Ms. James involved more than one romance, but I don't think that the romance between Gina and Cam was a real romantic one. I think that Esme and Sebastian had a more romantic story line. Oh, and I hated the fact that Gina always wanted to be petted by Sebastian. I can't believe Ms. James has the inclination to think that in order for somebody to love someone romantically they have to be physical. Sebastian had respect and trust for Gina, at least in the beginning, and that to me shows a true testament of what love should consist. Sparks don't need to fly everytime they lay eyes on one another in order to believe that two people are meant for each other. Goodness if that was the case then a person would have more than one soulmate. Lastly I hated that Sebastian, the only just character (at least for most of the book) was made out to be the villian at the end. First of all, Esme was no saint, and Gina did not need to lend a hand in that lie. Well, my point is that this book could have been much better, but that does not dissuade me from reading anymore of Ms. James' books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Just OK..................................................... Not

    Just OK.....................................................
    Not one of her better efforts.  This is the third book I've rad by her where the couple have been separated by so many years and are living such different lifestyles I can't believe they would ever get together.  The other two were her pirate series.  Too much water under the bridge.  No chemistry. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    good, not great

    Eloisa James is one of my favorite romance writers, especially of the Regency genre. I enjoyed Duchess in Love and will read the next in the Duchess Quartet Series. Would have liked to have seen a little more passion but overall good character development. The Essex Sisters series is superior and if you enjoyed Duchess in Love, the Essex books are worth the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Ok

    Not bad but definitely not up to the same level as the desperate duchesses series. Hope book 2 is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Fun historical romance

    If you are a fan of historical romance then this is for you. Not too heavy, just a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Frustrating

    I haven't read very far but I'm frustrated by the formatting. New paragraphs begin unnecessarily, causing confusion about the speaker. I don't know if it's poor editing or a side effect of the conversion to digital, but it's making what seems to be an engaging story (at least so far) rather difficult to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Won't strain your brain

    I was in the mood for a light, enjoyable romance and this delivered nicely. Not the best I've read but very good for a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Jenny

    She smiles* Thats good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Go to next res. She's locked out

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    john

    Sure

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Greg

    Can i join

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5