Customer Reviews for

The Duchess's Tattoo: Thoughts on THE AMERICAN HEIRESS

Average Rating 3
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good%0A

This+is+a+short+story

posted by TootsWJ on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bought the whole book but didn't get it. Blah got only 1 chapter

I downloaded this book yet only got one chapter. It was great, but then I just got a bunch of "thank you to this person, that person, blah, blah, blah...... Frankly I might raise the star rating if I got the whole book, who knows, but 16 pages was not enough.

posted by 3977732 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Good%0A

    This+is+a+short+story

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Bought the whole book but didn't get it. Blah got only 1 chapter

    I downloaded this book yet only got one chapter. It was great, but then I just got a bunch of "thank you to this person, that person, blah, blah, blah......

    Frankly I might raise the star rating if I got the whole book, who knows, but 16 pages was not enough.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I really enjoyed The American Heiress and was grateful to have t

    I really enjoyed The American Heiress and was grateful to have this lovely little addition after finishing the novel. That's how I would recommend reading it - after the novel, when the amazingly ridiculous excerpt from the periodical will seem all the more absurdly funny.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is a very good book, it was short and easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Not enough to make me buy it

    BN should let you know this is only one chapter of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    I thought it was good and a good lesson! Read THE AMERICAN HEI

    I thought it was good and a good lesson! Read THE AMERICAN HEIRESS, and loved it! Can't wait for Ms. Goodwin to come out with another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    This gave me a look at a part of history I did not know

    Interesting...especially after watching Cora in "Downton Abbey"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Look before you leap!

    A teaching lesson for young and old. Learn all the details before you be impulsive and do something you may regret later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Great little story

    I loved it. It was a good like at a bygone era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    What was the purpose. ?fe Free

    Why wasn't this an add on to The American Heiress instea d of a stand alone freeby? People who have not read the real book will not understand what it is all about. I cannot understand all the complaints when it cost nothing?..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Buyer beware

    Please know that this a sample.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Well then...

    Was this supposed to be like, 10 pages long? Totally pointless. Like one of those short stories you read in a textbook in middle school that makes no sense and is supposed to teach you a life lesson or whatever. Lame.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Loved it....hard yo put it down

    Loved the story, made me want to get more from thus author. Great story line, for those who enjoy historical fiction. Didn't but my Nook down until I had finished the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Must check it out to get to know the writer's work.

    Very short but an excellent bait and hook book. I will definately be reading this writer's other books. The Duchess's Tattoo gets right into the theme of the story and is fast paced which I like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Wonderful story!

    I loved these characters (from the book The American Heiress) so much I was pleased to see a short story. LOVED it. Very well done. It appears Cora is getting used to life in England. Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Not worth reading

    This was a very pointless book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    good, quick read

    Good read and good preview for the full novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Short Story with a twist

    Great for a quick read. A well written story with a clear message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5