BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Duck for President: with audio recording

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My 3 year old son loves this book.

    I have read this book over and over to my son. He loves this book. I like the fact that it has some educational value as well by providing a little information about elections.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WITH A QUACK QUACK HERE, AND A QUACK QUACK THERE

    If you're having trouble choosing a candidate in this election year, Duck's your man or more properly 'your duck.' 'Duck is Great for 2008!' In this delightful children's story our hero may be a winner but he was once a very dissatisfied duck. He lived on a farm with many other animals and Farmer Brown. Each of the animals had a chore, and Duck thought farm work was terribly hard. So, he decided that they didn't have to do what Farmer Brown told them to do and he had an election to prove it. Sure enough, Duck beat out Farmer Brown! Well, it didn't take Duck long to discover that running a farm was actually harder work than doing chores. So, he decided to move on - he'd run for governor. You guessed it, this bird is on a winning streak! As it turned out, Duck soon discovered that running a state was no fun at all. What will he do about that? Doreen Cronin's clever narrative sings with rhymes, 'A fresh bill on Capitol Hill,' while Caldecott honoree Betsy Lewin's whimsical illustrations will bring smiles. - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    all the "duck" books are great

    clever, likable book. fun for kids and parents.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    A READ it again Book!

    Since we bought the book a few weeks ago it has become my 4 year old daughter's favorite book. We read it almost every night. We also have been having several elections and recounts in our home.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Leave it to Duck!

    I have been looking for an age appropriate book which takes you through the election process for K-4 readers in an easy and amusing way--and I finally found it! This book has the perfect combination of substance and humor. Go Duck!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Don't Forget to Vote!

    This is a timely and hilarious send-up of the election process, and what comes after. Enough sly humor for the adults to get a kick out of it, along with the kids.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    "A fresh bill on capitol hill"

    As a teacher candidate I would recommend this book for children of all ages. This book gives children a great depiction of the election process through an election on the farm. Children will gain a light and cheerful understanding of what it takes to be a president. Duck not only runs for President of the farm, he also runs for Mayor and President of the United States. This book could be used throughout the year for a great social studies lesson, or just for the listening enjoyment of the class.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Hysterical - for kids & adults!

    My 16-month old loves when I read this book to her & I am more than happy to do so. Similar to the humor of Sesame Street, it is written & illustrated in a way to amuse anyone of any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    A must have for home and classroom

    Just as 'Click Clack Moo' introduced young readers to labor relations, 'Duck For President' introduces the electoral process. Using the popular character, Duck, Cronin walks young readers through the beginnings of a nation politician from someone who sees change through someone who has a hard job with little joy. Duck surprises the reader by turning out to be a hard- working leader, but eventually he yearns for the simplicity of the farm. Teachers will want to pair this one with Cronin's first book for a lovely unit on how our government works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No

    No

    Emily Stewart

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Cheese

    I think it smells like cheese

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Emma george

    This is a good book for me and my nook color!!!!!!And i love the books that he made!!!!So i give it a thumbs up!!!!!I recomened!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    A fun waY TO TEACH KIDS ABOUT ELECTIONS

    LOVED IT~~ LOVED IT ~~LOVED It!!!!!This book did exactly what I wanted it to do. I think my little ones know understand our election process thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Super Cute

    A great book to read to your little ones about the election process. Silly duck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    VOTE OBAMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    OBAMA ROX

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    H

    Chezz

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    H b v

    I no! OBAMA!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Victoria Millette

    Gggggggoooooooooooooooiooio¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿?¿?¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿???¿¿¿?¿dddddfddddd@/:&,;()-+'"?!!?"'@/@)(((&)&;(,,

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Oh my gosh...

    Tht is s i c k! This is a childrens book! Some of you people forreal need to get a life no lie!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    super ducky book

    great book for kids that can't vote yet especially toddlers and preschoolers !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2