Customer Reviews for

Dude, Where's My Country?

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Where's my country, I couldn't tell you if I knew.

In this book Michael Moore focuses on Bush and how he does not know how to run this country. He talks about his connections to the bin Ladens and the royal families. How they have been in business together for many years now. There so close they even call one of the bin...
In this book Michael Moore focuses on Bush and how he does not know how to run this country. He talks about his connections to the bin Ladens and the royal families. How they have been in business together for many years now. There so close they even call one of the bin Ladens 'Bander Bush'. Moore explains that he believes that the war is mainly over oil and how we backed out of a pipeline deal over in Saudi Arabia. Moore reffers to President Bush as the home of the whopper. The more juicy lies he feeds to us the more we want to eat it up. He says the Bush stacks one lie on top of another to try to hide the nation from the truth that he screw up. Such as when he said that he watched the first plane crash into the first tower on t.v., when the truth is that no one watched that on t.v. because it wasn't filmed. I don't understand why someone would make such an obvious and pointless lie. Moore talks about how the government likes to keep the American people in fear. That's why I think it was so easily for us to go to war in 2000, we were scared of what was going to happen next.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dude Where's My Country book review

I find that this book was very enlightening. Moore brings up very valid points that the american people as a society need to take note of. Moore uses a good sense of humor and sarcasm throughout the entire book, there was many times when i caught myself laughing out lou...
I find that this book was very enlightening. Moore brings up very valid points that the american people as a society need to take note of. Moore uses a good sense of humor and sarcasm throughout the entire book, there was many times when i caught myself laughing out loud. I would not recommend this book to a republican or a conservative because he basically bad-mouths those types of people in the book. I think that most of the topics that he brings up are factual and have enough supporting evidence behind them that for me it was believable even though i did not want it to be. This is a great book if you love politics and are interested in what is happening in both america and the rest of the world today. all together i thought this was a very good book and i would have no problem reading it again sometime.

posted by RALKCP2 on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Dude Where's My Country book review

    I find that this book was very enlightening. Moore brings up very valid points that the american people as a society need to take note of. Moore uses a good sense of humor and sarcasm throughout the entire book, there was many times when i caught myself laughing out loud. I would not recommend this book to a republican or a conservative because he basically bad-mouths those types of people in the book. I think that most of the topics that he brings up are factual and have enough supporting evidence behind them that for me it was believable even though i did not want it to be. This is a great book if you love politics and are interested in what is happening in both america and the rest of the world today. all together i thought this was a very good book and i would have no problem reading it again sometime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Where's my country, I couldn't tell you if I knew.

    In this book Michael Moore focuses on Bush and how he does not know how to run this country. He talks about his connections to the bin Ladens and the royal families. How they have been in business together for many years now. There so close they even call one of the bin Ladens 'Bander Bush'. Moore explains that he believes that the war is mainly over oil and how we backed out of a pipeline deal over in Saudi Arabia. Moore reffers to President Bush as the home of the whopper. The more juicy lies he feeds to us the more we want to eat it up. He says the Bush stacks one lie on top of another to try to hide the nation from the truth that he screw up. Such as when he said that he watched the first plane crash into the first tower on t.v., when the truth is that no one watched that on t.v. because it wasn't filmed. I don't understand why someone would make such an obvious and pointless lie. Moore talks about how the government likes to keep the American people in fear. That's why I think it was so easily for us to go to war in 2000, we were scared of what was going to happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    This guy is a tool an a total waste of human life.  All you have

    This guy is a tool an a total waste of human life.  All you have to do is read the book to see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    A reviewer

    I agree with every thing moore has to say in the book and it is all true and it pretty much describes why bush should not have won the 2000 and 2004 elections

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Another heroic work by the few PATRIOTS willing to stand up to our adminstration

    Again, we have the partisan battle in the reviews. This country was founded on the basis that all men are created equal, that goverment shall stay out of peoples buisness, etc etc. Michael Moore shows clearly that the men and women now running our country want nothing more then to better themselves and aren't afraid to start a few scandals. People in the reviews say bush is cleaning up Clinton's mess. Wait, Clinton didn't lie about any wmd and go start illegal wars. The Clinton presidency ended with a surplus. There were no major terrorist attacks on U.S soil. Michael Moore shows us all of these things and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    If you are a Democrat then read this book with your closed mind and you will totally love it!

    Moore offers nothing new in this book and he is not as clever this time around. The book does have some interesting stories of individuals... but most of the stories could be used in a variety of ways to support almost any political view. Moore's Anger and frustration with the current administration is obvious in this book and if he truly believes what he is saying then I guess he deserves to be angry. Here is an example of just one thing I disagree. I disagree because what he says is misleading. In one page of the book he says, 'We've already conducted two wars since 9/11, and an upcoming third or a fourth is not all that unlikely.' What he says is basically true but I think a more accurate way to describe it would be.. 'We've already conducted two battles since 9/11, and other battles are inevitable in the overall war on Terrorism.' He speaks as if he believes that all the battles or fights we have engaged in are not a part of the same war. Or maybe he thinks that the War on Terror is a war on Al Queda. This is just one example of where I disagree. And there is not a page in this book that I don¿t find disagreeable. If you are a Michael Moore fan then you may ask ¿Where is my country?¿ and I would have to say¿ maybe the Republicans have it for a while, after all it¿s about time the pendulum swung back the other direction. It¿s better than marching off the cliff with the suicidal Democrats. Some of the Angry white men that want the country back are: Fat head Kennedy, Gore Zilla, Harry Reid, Tom Daschle, Howard Dean, Shurman, Pelosi, Robert KKK Bird, Dick Durbin, and many other disgruntled democrats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    If you are a Republican, read with an open mind.

    This book has recieved much criticism from many right-wing readers, most of whom have probably not even read the book. Michael Moore writes while backing up everything. Can we say this for other political writers? Stop attacking the man for expressing his opinion, open up, and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    All just propaganda

    Again, like most of his work, it is all propaganda. Moore takes facts and cuts, edits, and twists them to fit his extremist viewpoint. Nothing from his work can be cited as a valid piece of factual information. Whether your Left or Right, this is junk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    Dude - You're Still a Frustrated White Trash

    Moore's vile books are a cheap attempt to create attention at the expense of others. Does this guy still live in the basement at his parent's house?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Michael Moore Pummels The Collective American Ego

    M. Moore's title 'Dude, Where's My Country?' is an eye catching title that begs for serious answers from this administration. It is our moral and humanitarian obligation to ask these questions before mindlessly agreeing to send people off to war, spending $87 billion or voting for Bush in 2 004. Based on a mass paranoia fostered by misinformation, the real terrorism has come from US policy. As Moore indicates, a history of aggressive policies by the US has caused parts of the world to be more then a little upset with us. The Bin Laden family and the Bush's cozy relationship is no lie, read on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1